We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very wonderful time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Garden Gate Get-A-Way Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 13 Millersburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A very wonderful time”
Reviewed August 16, 2009

Wife and I had a great time in Holmes County. Everything about this B&B is first class. Host takes the time to do the little extras.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ohiograndpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    11
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
77
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maumee, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2009

Everything is wonderful about this place!! We stayed in the Rose Garden Room which was beautiful, romantic and so comfortable. The owners, Herb and Carol, are so helpful with information about the local attractions, restaurants and Amish lifestyle. They set us up with a tee time at a local golf course and massages right there at the B&B. They have a wonderful campfire at night with S'mores and the breakfast is unbelievable. This is such a wonderful place for a weekend get-a-way and we would definitely come back!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jkzinger7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2009

We received exceptional service at Garden Gate Getaway in July, 2009. The innkeepers, Herb and Carol were always available to answer questions, offer suggestions of places to eat and visit and explain the history and culture of the Amish and Mennonite people which we found fascinating and insightful. The innkeepers have carefully decorated the rooms with garden themes and used wallpaper, carpeting, milled soaps, bottled water, magazines, lovely soft bedding, and chocolates to make us feel pampered for the two nights we were there. The country location was away from the heavily traveled route 39 and was situated among the Amish and Mennonite families. We were truly immersed in the quiet, relaxing summer days and nights. We loved the bonfires, fresh air that was free from city pollution, sounds of cows, horses, birds, and Amish buggies. It was easy to forget about life in the big city.. The best part of our travels was the hospitality of the innkeepers and their tasty breakfasts and the saddest part was the time we had to say goodbye to the getaway in paradise.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wowmomClevelandOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2009

The inn keepers have one of the best ideas - a campfire at night. At 7pm each night I was there Herb started up the camp fire and his wife had homemade cookies ready for us. To be able to hang out with the other guests in that very casual way was lots of fun. I found out where the best places to visit were and what wasn't worth the trip from the other guests. The rooms were beautiful - she has an eye for decorating. The food was all homemade and wonderful. There were lots of special touches - hot chocolat, popcorn, magazines, and even local restaurant menus for the guests to have in the common room. She also left a binder of maps and attractions in each room - what convienence! This is a perfect place for the tourist looking to explore the Amish country of Ohio.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank His2rian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2009

If we had started our holiday here at Garden Gate, every thing would have paled in comparison. The food, accommodation, attention to detail, location (if you want to be a part of the Amish Countryside) and the great hosts - who could ask for more. We arrived in America not knowing what to expect, but all I can say whereever we went we were met by friendly and delightful locals. Would I recommend this B&B - absolutely yes. Would I come back and stary - Definately. To our host, we thank you for a chance to relax in a lovely part of the states and for your knowledge and your sense of humour - it was all appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrettJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2009

My wife and I just spent three nights in Amish country at the Garden Gate get a way. We stayed in the suite. Three things stood out at me from the beginning. 1) For the price the size and amenities in the room itself are great. 2) The innkeepers make themselves available for everything and are really knowledgeable of the area. 3) People who come are repeat customers.
My only complaints were either not the fault of the innkeepers or not that big of a deal. No cell phone reception and not very reliable wi fi. My advice would be, if you want to talk on your phone a lot or surf the web...don't come to Amish country.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brodelicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2009

From the location to the most excellent hosts, Garden Get-A-Way exceeded our expectations. A last minute family funeral radically changed our travel plans, and we asked Carol to provide an extra night of stay. Not only did she accomodate us with almost no notice, she upgraded our stay. Wow! That is service! From breakfasts and snacks, warm from the oven, to the silky sheets, premium accomodations, nightly campfire, and location smack-dab in the middle of Amish country, we couldn't be happier, and fully expect to be listed as regulars from this day forward. I can recommend Garden Gate Get-A-Way without hesitation, and especially for first time B&B users, it is a treat and a blessing.

Until next time,
Guy and Kathy

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GLF_Louisville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millersburg
1.5 mi away
Berlin Resort
Berlin Resort
#3 of 4 in Berlin
690 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Wallhouse Hotel
The Wallhouse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Walnut Creek
300 reviews
2.9 mi away
Zinck's Inn
Zinck's Inn
#2 of 4 in Berlin
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Berlin Grande Hotel
3.2 mi away
Holmes with a View
Holmes with a View
#3 of 4 in Millersburg
73 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Inn at Honey Run
The Inn at Honey Run
#4 of 13 in Millersburg
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Gate Get-A-Way Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Gate Get-A-Way Bed & Breakfast

Property: Garden Gate Get-A-Way Bed & Breakfast
Address: 6041 Township Road 310, Millersburg, OH 44654-8703
Location: United States > Ohio > Millersburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Millersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Gate Get-A-Way Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multi-award winning Amish Country Ohio bed and breakfast located between Berlin and Millersburg. Beautiful flower gardens and evening campfires. Garden-theme guests rooms have private entrances and bath with upscale amenities. Complimentary homemade breakfast, afternoon cookies and hot beverages. First B&B in Ohio with their own tour bus for guest tours. Choose from Amish Culture tours, wine tours, and major attraction tours. Hosts can also arrange to have dinner with an Amish neighbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Garden Gate Get-A-Way Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Gate Get-A-Way Bed & Breakfast Ohio/Millersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing