We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Weekend Get Away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garden Gate Get-A-Way Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garden Gate Get-A-Way Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 12 Millersburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgeport, West Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Weekend Get Away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We have never been to a bed and breakfast before so we had no real idea what to expect. I travel extensively for work, so hotel rooms are the norm. My wife and I were totally impressed with the roooms for deocrations as well as lay out and comfort. The breakfast was delicious. Getting to meet the other guests at the nightly campfire was truly unique and much enjoyed. I would highly reccomend to anyone to stay here when visiting Holmes County / Amish Country. We are already planning our trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    11
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
77
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

We loved our stay here. The room was comfortable, the location was peaceful and the breakfast was delicious. We sat around the firepit at night for 3 hours just relaxing, visiting and listening to the clip clop of Amish horse and buggies late into the night. Carol was a gracious host. She gave us a tour of all the rooms before we left. They are all lovely and recently remodeled. The cabins she showed us were beautiful! Would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zeejay8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Discovering Garden Gate Get-A-Way was the highlight of our trip to Holmes County, Ohio. The rooms are nicely decorated with super comfy beds, full breakfasts are fantastic, and we made wonderful new friends while sitting around the nightly campfire. Carol has a knack for providing the small amenities that turn commonplace into first place....Garden Gate Get-A-Way exceeded our expectations in every way.
Our trip was a family trip but I would strongly recommend for a romantic couples getaway.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeverlyK241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Herb and Carol were wonderfully accomodating. They are very knowledgable about the area and made wonderful suggestions for meals, activities, and wineries. Our room had a binder which listed several suggestions for self-guided tours of the area based on one's interests. (ie, wine and cheese tour, furniture and antiques tour, etc.) Each suggested tour had detailed directions and a highlighted map of the area. Very helpful!! The breakfasts were delicious! The room was beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable. The sheets were at least 600 thread count. There was a satellite TV with a DVD player. A plate of homemade cookies were delivered each day and locally made chocolates every evening. The in room robes were extremely comfortable and the complimentary toiletries were high quality. A wonderful B and B with high quality ammenities and a competitive price. We stumbled upon this inn quite by accident. We are extremely grateful we did and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jodylync
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
145 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Having stayed in many uncomfortable and super comfortable places this was at the top of super comfortable places! We don't stay at many bed and breakfasts because there sometime small and not very private. This is not the case here. Room was clean and comfortable with all the amenities of a great hotel. I like the fact you can go to the breakfast room and get coffee, tea, and hot chocolate with hot water at all times for whatever you choose to make. The view from out side your room was what I wanted to be able to enjoy when I am down in Amish country. So many places to sit and enjoy the sounds of hoofs clicking on the pavement and horses out in the field. We had a birds nest right in front of our window and watched a bird hatch. That's what its all about when you need to get away! Sitting by the fire at night was enjoyable, with the owners sit out with you giving you information only someone who lives there could. We took them up on several places they suggested to go the next day and was not disappointed.
You will enjoy everything here, the location, furnishings, friendliness of owners and of course the great cookies and breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pansey43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stay exclusively in B&B's and although this one was OK, I would definitely look elsewhere when returning to the area.

The room was clean; however, I felt like I was staying in someone's basement since the rooms are on the lower level of the home with exterior doors onto the patio. Breakfast is exactly as described on their website and was so-so at best. Same with the "snacks".

Overall, it was not a bad experience--just average--and definitely at the bottom of the ones where we've stayed and the price was typical of what we pay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stripes90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohiobedandbreakfast, Owner at Garden Gate Get-A-Way Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
We're sorry that this guest was not 100% happy with our bed and breakfast. We try to go out of our way to make sure you have quality mattresses, linens, amenities and food made in our kitchen from scratch. Our only regret is that this guest did not make us aware so that we could correct any issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okeana, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

This place is tucked away in Amish Country in Ohio and is exquisite. My wife and I loved staying here. The lady who runs it is extremely nice, friendly, and is extremely knowledgeable about the area. We visited with a Living Social deal, but plan on going back within the next year or so with or without another deal. It is tucked away on a County Road making it extremely peaceful and serene. They made our bed and had freshly baked cookies for us each day, in addition to breakfast. Even though it was early March, we sat out in the outdoor patio areas and just enjoyed the peacefulness. We left feeling relaxed and energized from our stay there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Redhawk_Marine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millersburg
1.4 mi away
Berlin Resort
Berlin Resort
#3 of 4 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
2.9 mi away
Zinck's Inn
Zinck's Inn
#2 of 4 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
2.8 mi away
Berlin Grande Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Wallhouse Hotel
The Wallhouse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Walnut Creek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
2.6 mi away
Amish Country Lodging
Amish Country Lodging
#2 of 10 in Berlin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Inn at Honey Run
The Inn at Honey Run
#4 of 12 in Millersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Gate Get-A-Way Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Gate Get-A-Way Bed & Breakfast

Property: Garden Gate Get-A-Way Bed & Breakfast
Address: 6041 Township Road 310, Millersburg, OH 44654-8703
Location: United States > Ohio > Millersburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Millersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Gate Get-A-Way Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multi-award winning Amish Country Ohio bed and breakfast located between Berlin and Millersburg. Beautiful flower gardens and evening campfires. Garden-theme guests rooms have private entrances and bath with upscale amenities. Complimentary homemade breakfast, afternoon cookies and hot beverages. First B&B in Ohio with their own tour bus for guest tours. Choose from Amish Culture tours, wine tours, and major attraction tours. Hosts can also arrange to have dinner with an Amish neighbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Garden Gate Get-A-Way Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Gate Get-A-Way Bed & Breakfast Ohio/Millersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing