We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Setting”
Review of Holmes with a View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holmes with a View
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Millersburg
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We (3 adults) stayed just one night unfortunately. We wish we would have booked for more. It was hard to find, but well worth finding. We had the 2 bedroom/2 bath model. Very spacious and very clean. My husband stayed behind to soak in the extra deep jacuzzi tub while my mom and I went out to shop for fabric. Much to do in the surrounding 5 mile radius. We are planning to go back in October for the annual Quilt Shop Hop.

Room Tip: Room 6 has the only outdoor hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JP4808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 76 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2014

My husband and I love Holmes with a View for our stays in Ohio Amish Country! It's off the beaten path (and a bit hard to find the first time you go), but it's well worth the effort. The kitchen supplies you with all you need to make a full meal (if that is what you like), very clean and comfortable. There is a fire pit we often use in the Fall and Spring (bring your own wood). They have gas fp's (inside) however they don't seem to work if the weather is the least bit warm. The TV can be a bit of a chore to figure out, especially if you are switching from dvd player to tv (they do supply a booklet with directions). The view is wonderful and there is a true country atmosphere. You can pet the Amish farm horses that come to graze in the back yard during the warmer months (my husband loves this part of our stay). The owners are wonderful people and do everything they can to make your stay relaxing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I booked two nights here through a popular website. When we arrived, they had all the info, we just filled out a few details on a single sheet of paper, they handed us a key and we drove down the road to the guest houses.

Each house has two floors. We had the upper floor on the last house, Room #5. The place is beautiful. The room had a full kitchen, table for two, couch, easy chair, gas fireplace,queen bed, deep whirlpool bathtub, separate bathroom with shower, and a wrap around deck overlooking the valley.

Our hosts let us know at check in that they don't come in and make up the room daily, unless you want them to. They do this for your privacy and relaxation, which seems like a fine plan to me. We didn't need service, so we didn't ask for it and didn't have to worry about dodging the maid. We did have a challenge with the gas fireplace (normally you just hit "on" with the remote, but someone had switched off the main control in the unit)We stopped by the main house and asked for help and someone came down to the room right away.

The new flatscreen TVs have Direct TV. They are fairly small screens, but we didn't mind. We watched a couple of NCAA tournament games, but in such a relaxing room with beautiful country outside the windows, watching TV was an afterthought.

Although this is a "Bed and Breakfast", the setup is a little different than some. Since you are in your own suite with a kitchen, they have your breakfast already in the room for you. There is break, local jam, juice yogurt cinnamon rolls, and coffee and tea. There is both a regular coffee pot and a Keurig. We loved being able to get up, make a fresh cup of coffee, grab some wonderful toast and jam and sit watching the sun come up from our room. We're already talking about when we can return for another stay.

Room Tip: They say the upper rooms are quieter, since no one is walking above you. The view from the upper de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SludgeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

This is a great place to stay. The rooms are unique, and the facility is well maintained. We often stay here with another couple - their 2 bedroom units are perfect (separate bedrooms and baths with a large living area.

Room Tip: Choose an upper room if possible, you can hear the people walking above you in the lower rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank originals6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

really enjoyed our 2 day stay @ holmes w/a view!...check~in was a breeze, suite was neat, clean and cozy......warm, wonderful, romantic stay in cold and snowy february!.....

ample towels,kitchen accessories and comfy bed... included was yummy sweet rolls, homemade bread, strawberry jam, yogurts and juices...the keurig also had lots of k-cup options... fantastic!...

nearby charm is really as "charming" as it sounds...we really encourage visitors to get a free map of the area and hit the back roads to enjoy a true amish experience!...

have already handed out 2 pamphlets and look forward to returning...

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjpk25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We traveled to Amish Country Holmes County in north central Ohio near Millersburg with three other couples and stayed in a beautiful and unique property called Holmes with a View. The property consists of three octagonal buildings that look out over beautiful hilly country overlooking a number of Amish farms. Each building as two suites. Our group had three suites: a "honeymoon suite" with an in-suite jacuzzi, a large deck with a hot-tub and a kitchenette; a one-bedroom suite with a full kitchen and great view from the deck; and two bedroom suite with fully equipped kitchen (includinging dishwasher and a Keurig), two full bathrooms and another great view. We used the two-bedroom as headquarters for the group for meals and games. All three suites were immaculate! Loved the hardwood floors and the remote starter gas fireplaces. The refrigerators were stocked with juices, homemade strawberry jelly, yogurt and fresh Amish eggs on request. There was a drawer near the coffee station with a variety of K cups. The bedroom and bathroom linens were all high quality.
As you can tell we loved the facilities. The innkeepers, John and Fannie Mae Miller were available and helpful but not intrusive.
Our only suggestion would be that if you are coming with several couples, bring a card table for extra seating for dinner and games. The suite did have folding chairs in the bedroom closet and we knew to bring a table.
We would go back here another time, particularly in warmer weather to enjoy the many offerings that Amish country has.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosebud6244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Lots of room, perfectly clean, great location. Everything we needed in kitchen, lots of towels, Keurig for variety of hot drinks. First get away with our daughter's new in-laws. Newley-weds had suite 1, rest of us in suite 3. Great time making new family memories! Beautiful, big windows to watch the snow gently fall...will be returning in spring or summer to enjoy the deck and a greener view!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank momosma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millersburg
3.4 mi away
Berlin Resort
Berlin Resort
#3 of 5 in Berlin
882 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Millersburg
Hotel Millersburg
#2 of 4 in Millersburg
162 reviews
3.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Berlin Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Wallhouse Hotel
The Wallhouse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Walnut Creek
332 reviews
3.8 mi away
Berlin Grande Hotel
3.5 mi away
Zinck's Inn
Zinck's Inn
#4 of 5 in Berlin
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holmes with a View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holmes with a View

Address: 3672 Township Road 154, Millersburg, OH 44654-9230
Location: United States > Ohio > Millersburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Millersburg
Price Range: $143 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holmes with a View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Holmes with a View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holmes With a View Hotel Millersburg
Holmes With a View Ohio/Millersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing