We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Switzerland in Ohio” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chalet in the Valley

The Chalet in the Valley
Ranked #3 of 25 Restaurants in Millersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: German, Austrian, Swiss, European, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
135 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Switzerland in Ohio”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

This small cheese factory is a great little spot to get some cheese! Made there in the same building, the cheese is great. Worth a stop if you are a cheese lover.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank tibunifamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    113
    27
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“charming place for a genuine swiss meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

stopped here late afternoon on a saturday and we were seated right away, by the time we left the dinner crowd was coming in and there was a line forming. nice menu, pleasant service. i had the weiner (veal) schnitzel with hot german potato salad and house salad and it was delicious!! it's hard to find restaurants that serve "real" veal and not a veal patty and the chalet serves real veal!! the meal could have been a little hotter but it was delicious none the less!! there was also an accordion player walking around the restaurant playing songs such as "edelweiss". I recommend everyone near ohio amish country eat at this restaurant!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 61cdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A bit of Switzerland in Ohio Amish Country”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We went here on the suggestion of our hosts at our Bed and Breakfast. We stopped here on a busy Saturday night in October without reservations. We had a very minor wait. The view was enchanting and the food not far behind. Loved the Rosti potatoes! Well worth the wait....

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LucyFurTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adena, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My favorite place for a sit-down meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Love eating here.Nice selection of food, for something different. All I can say is Black Forest cake!!!! You have to go there!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marsha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Beautiful little place in Amish Country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stopped here on our way to Amish country and we fell in love with this place the food was delicious the service was great we were so full had no room for dessert but I know it would have been great....If ever in Millersburg Ohio you must stop here!!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maxine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Chalet in the Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing