We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“About as Swiss as me”

The Chalet in the Valley
Ranked #3 of 25 Restaurants in Millersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: German, Austrian, Swiss, European, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kelvedon, Essex
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“About as Swiss as me”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We were recommended this as somewhere to eat. My memory of Switzerland is a little hazy having gone there as a child in the early 60s, but I'm sure it wasn't like the 'Chalet in the Valley'. Someone has tried to conjure a 'Disney view' of Switzerland and plonk it in Ohio - what is wrong with genuine Ohio in Ohio?

The young hostess was miserable; perhaps she felt ill or it was the end of a long day. The food was passable, but over-priced for what it was. Mercifully, our waitress was very pleasant. The complementary pretzel was good though.

Give it a miss and go to the Amish restaurant in Walnut Creek - far better.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NJBEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuggManagement, Public Relations Manager at The Chalet in the Valley, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for reviewing our restaurant. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit with us.
Contrary to your statement, our restaurant is the result of much history, tradition, culture, and experience. Mrs. Guggisberg, who grew up in Austria, longed to share her beloved childhood recipes with tourists and locals alike, and Mr. Guggisberg, who was from Switzerland, hand-carved much of the beautiful woodwork and decor you see around the restaurant. Their memories of life in Europe is what shapes our atmosphere.
We apologize that you did not receive that impression upon your visit with us, and that our goal was not evident. Many people are not aware of the fact that the Amish originally came from Switzerland, which is how our culture ties in so easily to Amish Country and surrounding areas. We simply wish to share our culture and offer something different to our guests. You will find us much different than the surrounding Amish-styled restaurants, because that is not our identity.
We apologize that our hostess was not pleasant, and will be sure to address this matter to ensure the experience we hope for every customer. We're so glad to hear that your waitress was pleasant, and that you enjoyed the pretzel bread. While we would love to offer our guests pricing that each individual finds appropriate, we must cover our costs in order to stay in business, as does every restaurant.
Again, we thank you for your review and hope for the opportunity to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    114
    27
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Buffet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We went on a saturday afternoon and it was busy. 45 minute wait, gave us time to go across the street to Guggisberg Cheese while waiting on our table.

Once seated, they had a buffet option. We were pretty hungry so we went for that, and an order of sauerkraut balls. Everything we had was good, from the pretzel bread to the sauerkraut balls to the buffet items. Overall we were very satisfied with everything and would definitely go again.

We do wish they would offer a smaller fondue option for couples.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScottWinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killbuck,Oh
Level Contributor
182 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Lunch !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Visited here after a shopping trip to Quaint Charm,Oh. This is really a tourist stop due to the Guggisberg Cheese Factory/Store across the road. The Reataurant specilizes in Swiss and German cooking with a few local Amish dishes thrown in for a nice variety on the menu. This is not my usual place to eat when in the area do to the tourist bus traffic. This time there were no buses so we stopped for a quick bite of lunch, only had a 5 minute wait for a table. The waitress dressed in Swiss costume was pleasant and very efficient. I decided on the Soup and Salad bar and was not disappointed . The greens were dark and fresh with plenty of toppings and several dressings to choose from. My Sister had the Pollock which came with 2 sides and a very generous portion of fish. The bread sticks were like baked pretzels, nice and brow with not too much salt, very good. we shared an Apple Strudel which was not to my liking, it was ok, but I would not order it again. This was a very pleasant lunch and will stop again when in the Charm area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank grandmathreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
“Food and prices okay.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Amount of food for the money was just okay. The pretzel bread was good. Vegetables a bit overcooked.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank kla1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadsworth, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Reminded me of Switzerland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a memorable lunch of fondue with grilled chicken. The service was outstanding and the view remarkable. The fondue was very good, reminded me of an earlier trip to Geneva Switzerland. We look forward to returning. We want to try the apple dumplings on our next visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JanL0731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chalet in the Valley also viewed

 

Been to The Chalet in the Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing