We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good German and American food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chalet in the Valley

The Chalet in the Valley
Ranked #3 of 25 Restaurants in Millersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: German, Austrian, Swiss, European, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Scenic view, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good German and American food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

This restaurant has 3 different rooms to serve you. They offer a salad bar which is very good plus a very nice menu to choose from. The fish dinners are very well prepared, serving both baked and fried entrees. The portions are generous, so be careful to save room for their delicious desserts. Service is good and Carmella the waitress offers plenty of smiles.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    113
    27
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Eating Out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Very good meal had the Schwien SCHNITZEL, Salad Bar, Asparagus and the Apple Dumpling with a scoop of vanilla.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim-n-Betty-Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dinner at the Chalet in the Valley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Excellent food, appropriate quantities, good service, very nice decor. Located in the country. Near a Swiss cheese factory for shopping.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reynoldsburg, Ohio
1 review
“What Happened?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband took me here for an anniversary lunch on August 6, 2013. Last time we visited this restaurant was last April (when the food was good). What happened? We ordered the special, any 2 Schnitzel meals for $30. My husband ordered the Jaeger Schnitzel and I ordered the chicken Schnitzel. When the waitress brought it out I was surprised how plain the food looked. Four pieces of puny asparagus with a dry blob that was supposed to be hollandaise sauce. The schnitzel was dry and no lemon was provided. The mashed potatoes were okay but not great. My husband thought his lunch was dull—not worth the price. The only positive thing about the whole dining experience was that the waitress was attentive and pleasant. We ordered dessert hoping it would be better, but the peanut butter pie I ordered was horrible. Yuck. It tasted like whipped sugar with flavored PB.
I think the worse thing is when the young male manager (didn't get his name) came by to check on us, my husband told him that the meals weren't like what we remembered over a year ago—they were essentially a downgrade from last year. The manager just brushed it off with no apology. Needless to say, we are never going back there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IzzyB586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuggManagement, Public Relations Manager at The Chalet in the Valley, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Hello, and thank you for your review.

We sincerely apologize that you did not enjoy your recent visit with us. Although we are under new management, our method of cooking and the quality of our Schnitzel dinners has not changed. We take great pride in the way we prepare our authentically-made Schnitzels, but are very sorry to see that you were disappointed. We appreciate that you have informed us, though, so that we may assess our products to ensure that our customers received top-notch quality.

We apologize that you did not feel taken care of by management, as we also pride ourselves on exceptional customer service. Our management takes these matters seriously, and we are very sorry that the situation was not properly addressed. We hope you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

We value every customer's feedback, and use it to improve and ensure an excellent and memorable experience for everyone. Thank you for sharing with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, GA
Level Contributor
139 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“great food and service, really nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Our group of six, including one child, enjoyed lunch here recently. The child's menu has good choices, such as chicken fingers and grilled cheese. The adults had German food and ribs. The spaetzle is not to be missed! Wasn't as thrilled with the German potato salad, but the sweet and sour cabbage is very tasty. One of us had beer battered cod, and it was prepared just right! The server answered all our questions and was really friendly. Will return here for sure when in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MACON51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Chalet in the Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing