We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What Happened?”

The Chalet in the Valley
Ranked #4 of 28 Restaurants in Millersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Reynoldsburg, Ohio
1 review
“What Happened?”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband took me here for an anniversary lunch on August 6, 2013. Last time we visited this restaurant was last April (when the food was good). What happened? We ordered the special, any 2 Schnitzel meals for $30. My husband ordered the Jaeger Schnitzel and I ordered the chicken Schnitzel. When the waitress brought it out I was surprised how plain the food looked. Four pieces of puny asparagus with a dry blob that was supposed to be hollandaise sauce. The schnitzel was dry and no lemon was provided. The mashed potatoes were okay but not great. My husband thought his lunch was dull—not worth the price. The only positive thing about the whole dining experience was that the waitress was attentive and pleasant. We ordered dessert hoping it would be better, but the peanut butter pie I ordered was horrible. Yuck. It tasted like whipped sugar with flavored PB.
I think the worse thing is when the young male manager (didn't get his name) came by to check on us, my husband told him that the meals weren't like what we remembered over a year ago—they were essentially a downgrade from last year. The manager just brushed it off with no apology. Needless to say, we are never going back there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IzzyB586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuggManagement, Public Relations Manager at The Chalet in the Valley, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Hello, and thank you for your review.

We sincerely apologize that you did not enjoy your recent visit with us. Although we are under new management, our method of cooking and the quality of our Schnitzel dinners has not changed. We take great pride in the way we prepare our authentically-made Schnitzels, but are very sorry to see that you were disappointed. We appreciate that you have informed us, though, so that we may assess our products to ensure that our customers received top-notch quality.

We apologize that you did not feel taken care of by management, as we also pride ourselves on exceptional customer service. Our management takes these matters seriously, and we are very sorry that the situation was not properly addressed. We hope you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

We value every customer's feedback, and use it to improve and ensure an excellent and memorable experience for everyone. Thank you for sharing with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    127
    32
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, GA
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“great food and service, really nice atmosphere”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Our group of six, including one child, enjoyed lunch here recently. The child's menu has good choices, such as chicken fingers and grilled cheese. The adults had German food and ribs. The spaetzle is not to be missed! Wasn't as thrilled with the German potato salad, but the sweet and sour cabbage is very tasty. One of us had beer battered cod, and it was prepared just right! The server answered all our questions and was really friendly. Will return here for sure when in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MACON51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
365 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Always a treat! Great Food and Great location!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Chalet in the Valley is a great stop when touring Amish Country. Guggisberg cheese is on the menu, and can be bought at the factory next door - a must stop! The restaurant has Swiss and Amish country favorites. The pretzel bread they serve with their meals is excellent. I had swissghetti - which is spaghetti with meat sauce and covered in Swiss Cheese - sounds weird, but was excellent! All around a good experience. Try the Swiss Cheese Fondue - it is first class and a GREAT group experience!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeffery C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevierville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

While traveling with a bus tour, I recently had the opportunity to dine at The Chalet. The hot ham and cheese sandwich was delicious, as were the side of red-skin mashed potatoes, but the pretzel bread sticks served at the table were my most favorite! I would recommend this place to anyone traveling in the area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank KimO8_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

A refreshing menu with enticing offerings of Swiss & Austrian dishes. The flatbread appetizer was scrumptious and the macaroni & 3 cheeses was light and delicately flavored. Only 20 minutes from the Carlisle Inn Theater this was an excellent choice. I look forward to returning soon!

An amusing anecdote. We were seated next to a window overlooking a meadow. On top of several large rocks was a statuesque goat, so we thought until 5 minutes later we noticed it chewing it's cud and later climbing down. What we thought was a stuffed goat for added scenery was actually a real live goat. Children would probably appreciate this feature.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kkx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chalet in the Valley also viewed

 

Been to The Chalet in the Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing