We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so good”

The Chalet in the Valley
Ranked #4 of 28 Restaurants in Millersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Fredericktown, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not so good”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

First night of our get away, went here thinking this would be the best meal we would get. I was so disappointed, the salad was not fresh and my meal was not good. However traveling companions loved the pretzel rolls. The waitresses did look cute in their outfits.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Theresa1091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ursula G, Public Relations Manager at The Chalet in the Valley, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Hello, and thank you for your review.
While we take great strides to ensure the freshness and quality of our salads, we apologize that you felt yours was sub-par. Should you like to contact us, we would be interested in hearing more about which meal you had and what you did not like about it. We appreciate your feedback, and are always looking to improve.
We're glad you enjoyed our soft pretzel sticks, as well as the dirndls worn by the servers.
Thank you again for your review, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    123
    31
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Turtle Creek, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and great food”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

After getting rained out of a visit to Put-in-Bay, my school group hastily; desperately phoned the Chalet to arrange for an unscheduled buffet, and they came through with flying colors to save the day!
I don't know what it was about the salad,I mean, it was just lettuce and ranch dressing, but it was fantastic. Add to that sauerkraut balls (insert YUM here!)pork loin,broasted chicken that was the BEST, German red cabbage, Swiss noodles(forget what they're called,) and officially, the BEST mashed potatoes in the World and Jupiter. The pudding -like dessert was unreal! One could open a restaurant that sold nothing but that heavenly concoction and make a fortune!
These weren't samples from a barely affordable restaurant with names that are difficult to pronounce, but they were unbelievably delish! Maybe it's the Amish no-preservative touch, and/or German/Swiss/Austrian secrets , but this buffet was A-plus,plus,plus. Okay, throw in another plus.
Across the street is a lovely cheesehouse with a spell-binding huge collection of cookoo clocks. It features Guggisberg cheeses, and they were the inventors of baby swiss.
The Swiss Miss-costumed waitresses were friendly and very efficient.Kinda made one feel like yodeling!
Find this place in the Doughty valley section of Ohio Amish country. You will be blessed!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank TCCREEKER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ursula G, Public Relations Manager at The Chalet in the Valley, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Hello, and thank you for your glowing review!
We couldn't be happier to hear about your experience, and are so very glad that you and your group enjoyed the food, service, and atmosphere of our restaurant.
Thank you for taking the time to review, and we hope to see you all again soon! ( All yodeling urges are encouraged!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookville, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We enjoyed our meal. I really liked what I got- pork loin with mushrooms and cheese sauce with a side of asparagus and hollandaise. My husband got the reuben sandwich (ok) and the sweet and sour cabbage (great). The ambiance is quite kitschy, however the waitresses' outfits are a little over the top.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ursula G, Public Relations Manager at The Chalet in the Valley, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Hello, and thank you for taking time to review our restaurant!
We're so glad that you enjoyed your Black Forest Pork Loin and Reuben with Sweet and Sour Red Cabbage.
Because we are a Swiss and Austrian-themed restaurant, we strive to create an atmosphere which makes you feel as though you've stepped into Switzerland for the day. The servers' dirndls are worn to further compliment that atmosphere, but we're glad that you noted your opinion on them.
Thank you again for reviewing, and we hope to have you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Felt like we were in another country!”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The whole dining experience was phenomenal! We tried everything and everything we tried was excellent.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cass22598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ursula G, Public Relations Manager at The Chalet in the Valley, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Hello, and thank you for your review.
We couldn't be happier that our restaurant made you feel as though you stepped into Switzerland for a meal. We're so glad that you enjoyed your meal and overall experience, and hope you will return again soon!
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangiora, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Company great, but food average.”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Got taken here by a local Pastor and his wife. The company was fantastic, but the food was a bit disappointing - thought there would have been more variety and also the atmosphere wasn't what we thought it would be. The salad was very plain and just lettuce and onions - should be a garden salad with some more veges/fruit (ie: Tomatos) and even some dressing would have helped. Took a while to give us salad and then longer inbetween to get us the main meal, which was void of many vegestables (only 2 very small servings) .....

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nanabunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ursula G, Public Relations Manager at The Chalet in the Valley, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Hello, and thank you for your review.
While we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the company during your visit, we sincerely regret that you were unable to enjoy your overall experience. Although we consider our menu to include a creative variety of Swiss, Austrian, and American foods, we appreciate you letting us know that you felt it should be more extensive. We strive to create a European atmosphere with authentic decor, music, and cuisine, and apologize that you felt otherwise. Any suggestions you may have to further create such an atmosphere are welcome.
Our typical side salad most definitely includes cucumbers, tomatoes, onions, croutons, and dressing, and we are very sorry that yours did not arrive this way.
Again, we apologize for your experience, but thank you for taking the time to review. As a valued guest, your thoughts and opinions will most definitely be taken into account as we assess and strive to further improve our restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chalet in the Valley also viewed

 

Been to The Chalet in the Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing