We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Place to Get Cheese”

Heini's Cheese Chalet
Ranked #1 of 12 Shopping in Millersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
260 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“The Best Place to Get Cheese”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

I have been to Heini's many times. It is the best place to get cheese in Amish country. I have been a few places and this is my favorite because they have a huge selection with samples for everything including sauces, dips and fudge. This weekend I finally got to take the cheese tour where they explain the history and cheese making. It was very interesting. I look forward to my next visit. Go with room in your belly for snacking. My favorite cheeses there are the smoked horseradish and the smoked hot pepper but there are many good ones. Try them all. Then check out the candy store on the other side.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kristin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    99
    21
    9
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Cheese!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

We love to stop in at Heini's and bring home some delicious Amish-made cheese. The cheese is made there on site with milk collected from local Amish family farms. The sign there says the average "herd" size is 8-10 cows. You can watch it being made through the big windows, and sometimes there are tours through the processing area.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
142 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Cheese yes please”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

If you love cheese a must to go to.Every kind imaginable, and lots to sample before you buy .My fav. Horseradish, delish.They also have lots of relish.,pickles and jams

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Seeingthingsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
293 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
“DELISH!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

love this place!...so many delicious cheeses and all are sampled...we bought horseradish cheese and smoked swiss!...wish we lived closer...very clean and nice that you can actually see cheese being made...friendly young ladies working also...a must stop!...

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank mjpk25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
1,264 reviews
349 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 532 helpful votes
“Lots of samples and a tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

This is the location where you can eat your weight in free cheese samples if you desire. Just about every cheese, dip and side item they make is offered as a sample here. They also offer tours of their cheese making or you can look through the windows into some of the production area. There is also a coffee bar and candy/fudge general store inside too. They staff is exceedingly nice, even to the folks who just walk in to gorge themselves on free dairy products. Good place to pick up some picnic supplied combined with the Kauffman bakery's bread across the street. There are some nice sitting areas outside both stores for enjoying an outside snack.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rather_Nomadic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heini's Cheese Chalet also viewed

 

Been to Heini's Cheese Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing