We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting Place in the Woods”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Inn at Honey Run
Ranked #4 of 12 Millersburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Enchanting Place in the Woods”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We are regular visitors here...love the location, the peace, the solitutude and the beauty of the surroundings. We've stayed in regular rooms, honeycombs and the cottages. Every few months I write a new review...really to see if anything previously mentioned has been addressed (wink, wink). Well located, gorgeous drive up to the main entrance. Check-in efficient yet every single time we come we get asked, "is this your first visit with us?" It should absolutely be noted on guests registration the number of times they've visited; it's important for customer service and to validate your frequent customers! There is remarkably absent the sense of warmth that smaller, upscale locations such as this should be exuding...we always see a young man behind the desk (normally on the computer) who we suspect may be the manager. But, if he is the one that writes the blogs on the website, he certainly projects an entirely different image upon seeing him. Seems detached and uninterested in guests. Our cottage was clean, cozy in the woods, spacious and somewhat rustic. A lovely bedroom with small bath, an adjacent room was like a sitting room with another very small bathroom attached. A great room with wood burning fireplace that you must start yourself (we missed the gas ones in the honeycombs) and a small kitchenette with eating area graced the main area. The deck extended off the eating area to a "soft" hottub...easy access and blissfully hot on such a cold winter night! A Keurig was a welcome sight. Few suggestions for the rooms...if you have a hottub, then please have towels specifically for the hottub (we had 3 towels for 2 of us for hottub and showers). Placing some fresh individual creamers in the fridge is a welcome sight as powdered cream tastes nasty and just doesn't go with the ambience...speaking of, 2 nice coffee mugs for the coffe/tea would be nice instead of 2 paper cups. And the second day there after the maid came, she simply put our open bag of biscotti (half eaten, stale) back in the basket. A fresh bag would have been nice :)

Dining is always an experience in Tarragon. The food is generally very nicely done and a wonderful selection by the chef is always an interesting feature of our visit. The waitresses are regulars...Katie, Heather, etc. - service is normally great but can be rife with slow-downs or forgotten items depending on how busy the restaurant is. However, we love going there and hope to feel like family at some point, if we visit often enough! The scenery is magnificent...tables overlooking the woods and into the trees surrounded by beautiful birds and squirrels.

Give this a try if you're looking for a nice, cozy, romantic spot in the woods...I can't give it 5 stars but a solid 4 is an accurate review.

Room Tip: Corner rooms in the main Inn are lovey; upgrade to a honeycomb on the end for the best experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MimiStarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honeyrun, Owner at The Inn at Honey Run, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for your detailed and attentive review, MimiStarr, and for being a frequent guest to the Inn at Honey Run! We're certainly happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and appreciate your honest feedback. We will work to improve on your suggestions and hope that your next visit will be even better.

Sincerely,
Jason Nies
Proprietor, The Inn at Honey Run
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    104
    51
    28
    19
See reviews for
35
340
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Strongsville
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I surprised my husband for Valentines day with a stay in a suite! We started off with a sleigh ride at Walnut Creek Farm, which he didn't know what we were doing until we got there. That was awesome, feeding the llamas, bison and even giraffe.

We couldn't get a honeycomb suite but we enjoyed our suite which was huge, two sofas a leather chair, big high top table with four chairs and a very comfy king size bed. Also a fireplace and a huge deck which we unfortunately couldn't use. But the views were beautiful, it's a corner suite so we had plenty of windows. Bird feeders were in each corner filled with all kinds of birds and squirrels. We totally enjoyed our stay and can't wait to come back in each of the different seasons. Possibly for two nights this time, it's so peaceful and relaxing.

We also had a wonderful dinner at the Tarragon Restaurant and breakfast room service. Also on our floor there was a pool table, a cabinet full of board games, and a wood burning fireplace. There is also a deck off of this room which is probably great when the weather is !

My husband couldn't believe we have never been here before. A hidden gem.

Room Tip: Suites are great but of course expensive, but well worth it. You have a ton of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank netflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

The catacombs are little private hideaways! The service is excellent! On-site is a gourmet restaurant that is exceptional! Lodging and amenities are first rate! If you need some rest and recuperation from a hectic lifestyle, this is the place to stay!!After each of our visits,we have always felt refreshed and rejuvenated!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the catacombs-it's like being in Hobbit Heaven.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at The Inn at Honey Run. The grounds are lovely and peaceful and the lodge and dining room are lovely. We hiked several of the snow-covered trails despite the cold weather, enjoyed the breakfast very much, and absolutely loved our room in the Honeycomb. A sign pointing to the Honeycomb entrance would be helpful, as would more friendly people at the front desk. The desk staff were reasonably efficient, but they did not exude the warmth that seems fitting for such an upscale place. Our dinner in the restaurant was ok, but the waitress was quitting as of that evening, so she just wasn't "on her game." the food was good, but the dining experience was marred by her completely messing up my order.

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms in the Honeycomb are probably good. We never heard anyone else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne_from_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We have stayed in the main lodge as well as the honeycombs. Both places are beautiful and the setting is relaxing and quiet. I am disappointed that the restaurant doesn't serve typical Amish food. If you like things like Quail, pork belly, tofu, and other odd ingredients, you might enjoy it. But we found ourself going out to find other places to eat when it would be more convenient to ear at the hotel restaurant. This inn used to have a very involved owner. Weekends would always have interesting speakers in the living room. Breakfast could be served piping hot on a cart at your door. Someone was always walking around making sure you were enjoying yourself. The gift shop was stocked with interesting things. All of that is gone now. One one person works at the front desk. You never see anyone else. If there is a manager, we never saw one. Our fireplace did not work and could not be fixed until the next day. It was a big deal in the honeycombs not to have a fireplace that worked. We sort of expected some complimentary something just to say sorry for that. But there was nothing. Apparently the hotel has gone from being owned by a person to being owned by a big company. You can really tell a difference. It is still a gorgeous setting but just isn't the same as when Marge, the first owner, owned and operated it herself. She hired Amish girls as waitresses and there was even a "raid the kitchen" night. We loved that. There just isn't anything special about the place anymore. Oh yes, remember no children are allowed there.

Room Tip: Our favorite room is the serenity suite in the main building. There is a living room and a separate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Over 30 years ago, I attended a weekend conference in Columbus, OH. In the hotel where I spent the night was a new magazine. Since I've always liked inns and bed & breakfast places, this article with pictures about a new place near Millersburg interested me. I called the Inn at Honey Run to ask if I could stop in the next day on my way home. They were delighted, showed me around and I stayed the night. I loved the Inn and have been coming ever since. My friends refer to the Inn as Millie's place for the "singing of angels". They know that every May and October will find me heading there. I have introduced the Inn to many family members, friends & co-workers over the years, many of whom say they finally know why I have such a close attachment to it. The Inn at Honey Run will always have a very special place in my heart and life!

Millie R.
Sheffield, OH

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nerak75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is a one of a kind experience. The setting, rooms and staff are amazing. If you want to completely reconnect, have a time of refreshment and comfort, this is the place to go. It has come to symbolize a necessity of life that we look forward to each year.

Room Tip: We have a favorite room in the main inn but the honeycombs in the fall and winter with the fireplace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millersburg
3.1 mi away
Berlin Resort
Berlin Resort
#3 of 4 in Berlin
671 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Wallhouse Hotel
The Wallhouse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Walnut Creek
296 reviews
4.2 mi away
Berlin Grande Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 4 in Millersburg
152 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Millersburg
Hotel Millersburg
#2 of 4 in Millersburg
144 reviews
4.4 mi away
Zinck's Inn
Zinck's Inn
#2 of 4 in Berlin
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Honey Run? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Honey Run

Property: The Inn at Honey Run
Address: 6920 County Road 203, Millersburg, OH 44654-9018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Millersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Millersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Honey Run 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the rolling hills in the heart of the Ohio Amish Country, the Inn at Honey Run is a serene oasis of nature and wildlife, comfort and privacy, fine dining and warm hospitality. Located in Holmes County, between the villages of Millersburg and Berlin, Ohio, we are located within two hours of Cleveland, Columbus, and Pittsburgh. Our country estate offers a peaceful retreat from life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Inn at Honey Run reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Honey Run Hotel Millersburg
Honey Run Inn
The Inn At Honey Run Ohio/Millersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing