We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Tour”
Review of Yoder's Amish Home

Yoder's Amish Home
Ranked #3 of 17 things to do in Millersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Tour”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Would recommend. Staff wonderful and insightful. Only did the house and barn tour but have a great time and learned a lot. Loved that that had fresh bakery items for sale ON A HONOR SYSTEM. A must if you want to learn about the Amish.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    38
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsville
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Memorial Day weekend 5/24/2014”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

My wife and I travelled to Zanesville, Ohio to visit our really close friends. One of the attractions listed for us to do on Saturday was visit the Yoder Amish Home. I wasn't quite sure what to expect but I can truthfully say it was way more than expected. We took the four part tour (Homes, barn, school and buggy ride)
Our guide was tremendous and very knowledgeable and we were amazed at what we saw and the insight he gave to the lifestyles of the Amish. All the people were very friendly and courteous.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank blazerkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenna, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“must take the tour”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

My wife and I visited and took advantage of the tour and buggy ride that is offered. Great chance to see and amish home,school and farm while learning more about the amish culture and ways of life followed by a chance to see the animal and take a buggy ride

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank bart k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very neat place!”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I toured the homes, barn, school and did the Amish buggy ride. The young girl who did our tour through the homes, was very informative and sweet. It was very neat learning more about the Amish couture! Also loved buying treats in the store at the bottom of the more modern Amish home. The soup and bread was amazing! The cookies too ;) the barn was neat seeing the huge horses! The school tour was okay, nothing too special. Really enjoyed the Amish buggy ride. Our driver was very nice and talkative. Would really recommend this establishment!

Helpful?
1 Thank Darthcutee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Informative, but Terrible Conditions for Animals & Pricey”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My husband and I found this farm while driving around Holmes County. We decided to stop and buy the combo tickets that included everything - a tour of the house, a buggy ride and the school house. The house portion was informative and interesting. Our guide grew up Amish but is currently a Mennonite. She was very kind and I enjoyed getting to know her a little. The school house is not original. I liked looking at typical school books that Amish children use, but this part of the tour was not worth the extra money. The buggy ride was just sad - it was a hot day and the flies were brutal. Our horse was hot, tired, and being constantly bit by flies. Water was not available for the horses. Ours kept on trying to stop, and although our driver kept pushing her on, I asked him to cut the ride short. The barn was also concerning to me, as all of the animals were in tiny, filthy pens without food or water. What had started out as an informative, interesting tour left me feeling incredibly sad and worried. I would not recommend and I would not return.
If you don't mind animal abuse and would still like to go, I would suggest just buying the house tour ticket. You get to see the original house, the newer home, the barn and the grounds - the schoolhouse isn't worth it and the buggy ride is a few circles around a field with a tired horse.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank sjmbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yoder's Amish Home also viewed

 

Been to Yoder's Amish Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing