We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not for the faint of heart” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Diamond Golf Course

Black Diamond Golf Course
Canton Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not for the faint of heart”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

If you can hit your driver dead straight then you might enjoy this course. If you miss the narrow fairways by even a bit there's a good chance you won't find your ball. The rough is more like British Open gorse. Golf is supposed to be fun and it's not fun when your knees are knocking on all 18 tee shots. My advice would be to look at it from the parking lot (what you see is what you get) and decide for yourself if you'd like to give it a try. Personally, being a bogey golfer, I need a little more room to spray it around.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank pnotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Howard, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stunning layout but too penal to have fun.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

If you're a scratch golfer and really want tested, this is a course for you. If you're an average golfer and don't like losing half a dozen balls playing golf, stay away from this track. Not sure what they were shooting for when it was designed but it's way too difficult for most golfers to enjoy.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank trophytime2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermilion, Ohio
Level Contributor
231 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“You better hit them straight here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

Black Diamond is not the longest course you will hit, although there is a par 6 650 yard hole on the front 9, but it is a great course in the middle of cow country. Nice fairways, beautiful greens and nice scenery along the entire course. The fairways are tighter than most but the rough is not a severe penalty. There are a couple of holes where they force the driver back in your back so you have to use some strategy, but for the most part you can swing the club you want.
All in all I really liked this course. Worth the visit. Don't go for the club house, you will be dissappointed. Go for the golf. In fact, take your wife to amish country and drop her off at a cheese barn for a few hours and tell her you want to look at a piece of furniture for your anniversary and go hit the course. Sure, she probably put on 20 pounds in free sample cheese but it will be worth it.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Yourluckyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“time well spent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2009

i played this course just last week and it is truly an impressive layout they way they have carved out a course in this region is amazing the views are awesome and the golf is pure you have to think on every shot, the course seem to me to need a little help though it was lacking some sand in the traps and the all around look of the fairways was in need of a trim job but the greens were excellent. I will return in the fall not only for the golf but i can only imagine what it will look like in it's fall foilage.

Helpful?
1 Thank occar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perrysburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Three years running”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2003

Our group has played the course three years running and love it! It is challenging to even the best golfers and just plain fun for the weekend hacker. The layout is awesome. Play it, you will love it!

Helpful?
Thank rtpmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Diamond Golf Course also viewed

 

Been to Black Diamond Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing