We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special, beautiful old home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Victorian House

Victorian House
Ranked #5 of 17 things to do in Millersburg
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 28 room Victorian mansion is owned by the Holmes County Historical Society in Millersburg Ohio. The home is used for a dual purpose and also house the artifacts of the society. A self guided tour is enhanced by docent information. The society also has a Millersburg Glass Museum located next door to the mansion and discounted combo tour tickets are available for both museums. The house has been featured on HGTV and Victorian Homes Magazine.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A very special, beautiful old home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

My aunt, now deceased, was one of the founders of the Victorian House, as it stands now. She and a few others spent countless hours refurbishing the home, bit by bit, and all by hand. It is now a wonderful reminder of the "way things used to be", totally
redone-remember, it's Victorian -with loving care. One of my sisters was married there, and the same gal, plus a cousin or two, is a volunteer there. It is definitely a must-see. You will be amazed at the beauty. And guess what? Some say it's haunted! You gotta love it! ( I remember the owner as a recluse in her later years, living only in 1 or 2 rooms of the house.)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    9
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Worth seeing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

A large Victorian mansion decorated to period and with many locally donated items. A real plus is the newly located Genealogical Society and Glass Museum on the property. A very very nice afternoon past time.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cmartin288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Well worth the trip, great furnishings. Lots of information in the brochure they provide, learned alot. Would love to go back at Christmas time

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Camille F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“lovely period home”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

We recently took a self guided tour of the Victorian House in Millersburg,The craftsmanship that we saw was outstanding.The downstairs had beautiful wood inlaid floors. There were 4 fireplaces through out the house. Our favorite was the blue marble on the first floor. Several of the windows were of stained glass. The basement had many implements from the early 1900's. Inn Maid Noodle company was founded in Millersburg. There was an early pasta making machine that made many different widths of noodles. Also the Millersburg glass display was enjoyable. There is an early sauna as you enter the basement. My friend was baffled by it until we saw the sign explaining what it was. We would have preferred more signage throughout the house so that we could better know the history of the items. Since we could not take pictures in the house, it would have been nice to be able to purchase some postcards as a remembrance. I would recommend a tour through this for seniors to bring back memories and also for jr.-sr. high youth so that grandparents could share what earlier life was like.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank OhioButterflylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Victorian Charm, great historic walk-through”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

This Victorian house is a self-guided tour through a historic home in Ohio.
There are many facets of the home to admire: original decor and furnishings, historic items such as household tools and implements, as well as a military room with historic accounts, letters and items on display.
No photographs are allowed. Once you enter and pay, you are given a piece of paper with descriptions of each room to guide you through the home.
A neat little stop on your adventures in Amish Country.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank jesikat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victorian House also viewed

 

Been to Victorian House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing