We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home, sweet, (Gehrig)home!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Millersburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Barn Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 12 Millersburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Branson, Missouri
Level Contributor
135 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Home, sweet, (Gehrig)home!”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The Fred Gherig house is perfectly situated for a back roads ramble through Ohio's Amish country. The owners had provided bottled water for drinking and a full housekeeping setup. Wifi worked well. The patio deck offers a nice quiet spot to watch the carriages clipping down the road.
Owner Paul gives a great overview of things to see in the area; he grew up Amish and can share many personal insights.
The only problem with the Fred Gehrig house is the air vent system--even with the AC ice cold downstairs, the upstairs will be warm and stuffy. This might be a real concern in late summer...
Other than that, however, the experience was wonderful. A glance out the window would reveal a peacefully grazing llama and goat and a road flush with Amish merrily making their way along in horse-drawn buggies or on bicycles. Breakfast was lovely, served in a buffet of different homemade foods with coffee, juice, cider, and water.
All in all, it was a very unique, authentic experience that is highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asiapointriders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    49
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
83
449
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Burnaby, BC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Was in Amish country with family from Canton, and stopped here for the night. What a delight- from beginning to end! We needed two rooms, but were able to rent the entire two-bedroom original farmhouse next to the barn for less than the cost of two rooms. Then we had a large kitchen, washer and dryer (bonus after having ridden 18 miles on the Rails to Trails" path earlier), living room with cable and DVD, and 1 1/2 baths. The house kept the original woodwork and many old features and was furnished with a nice mix of antique and tasteful modern furniture.
At the top of the stairs is a darling child's area with twin bed, cute tiny table and a play kitchen. Wish I had kids! As well were two nicely furnished bedrooms with sleigh beds that were extremely comfortable. The half bath is on this level.
A/C worked well, but we also could open the newer double-paned windows for cool fresh morning air. Water was provided because spring well water was too close to the surface to be safe.
Breakfast was really great, with many choices: apple cider/ orange juice; cup of fresh fruit; "stuffed" french toast with REAL Ohio maple syrup; locally made sausages; Loretta's own croissant quiche; steel-cut oatmeal. I enjoyed how she greeted us all first, explained what we would have, welcomed us, asked our names then said a nice prayer before we started.
We really enjoyed Loretta's short program afterwards. I have been in many "touristy" areas where visitors were encouraged to buy buy buy at "local establishments". But in this off-the-beaten-path and not-too-touristy Inn, Loretta, ex-Amish herself and from the area was speaking from the heart. She shared her knowledge of local Amish families who offered the best quality for the most reasonable price, and which places allowed a true glimpse into the life of the Amish. When she briefly lapsed into a bit of "preaching" when talking about their religious rules, we were all interested and no-one minded one bit.
My only complaint is that Loretta has now SPOILED me. When I checked into my perfect-as -always Hilton-chain hotel room the next day, I found myself wistful, missing Holmes County, Loretta and the Barn Inn, and feeling distinctly as though I was staying inside what now felt like an empty boring Kleenex box...
I look forward to returning "home" to Ohio. For SURE I will be back to stay at the Barn INN - but they may find it hard to get rid of me!

Room Tip: Farm House is GREAT for those needing more than one room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcbill58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loretta C, Owner at The Barn Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for posting. Of course, it was our pleasure to serve you and converse with you. I was so very pleased to know that the farmhouse met you needs and am glad you felt at home there. Hope you will again, at another time, have occasion to stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
165 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We discovered the Barn Inn while looking for a place to stay in Millersburg; what a find! The Barn Inn is a lovely Bed and Breakfast with 11 or so nicely decorated rooms. We stayed for 3 nights; the breakfast was very good each morning, generous servings; a full breakfast with coffee flowing freely. Visitors have the choice of joining others at a large table or eating alone at a table for two. We enjoyed the large table which gave us an opportunity to find out what restaurants and attractions our fellow tablemates were enjoying in the area.

Loretta Coblentz, the owner/inn keeper, is a fabulous hostess. She, herself served our coffee each morning! Following breakfast Loretta gave us background information on the Amish, offerred suggestions for things to see and shops to visit and answered any questions that we, the guests had.

Awesome Stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingrandma54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loretta C, Owner at The Barn Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your post. Yes, you and the other couples at the breakfast table enjoyed lovely conversation the morning you were here; which of course, is gratifying to us to know that our guests have found common interests. Sometimes our kitchen staff ask about the "group" in the dining room, to which we often say, "They did not come as a group. They are couples who have just met and are enjoying wonderful conversation." How good it is!

We hope to serve you another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This was our second visit at Paul and Loretta's charming B&B. As before, the accommodations were excellent and the food was healthy and tasty. Paul and Loretta always make us feel at home there. Loretta gives an informative talk every morning at breakfast on the best sightseeing places in the area and the best places to buy Amish goods. Out in the country with llama and goats in backyard. Lovely experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We were thoroughly delighted with our stay at the Barn Inn. From making our reservation through check out, the service was outstanding. The rooms and the inn are lovely, the breakfast was scrumptous and the bed was so comfortable we're headed today to Country Bedding Manufacturing in Apple Creek, Ohio to buy two Amish made mattresses. Thanks for the wonderful hospitality!

Room Tip: We stayed in Holmes Country Room where the wall behind the headboard was hand painted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elyria, Ohio
Level Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This was our first visit for my wife and I. We couldn't have been more pleased or impressed.The young lady at the reception desk was cheerful, friendly and answered any and all questions.The room was beautiful, clean and exactly what we were looking for in Amish Country. We slept like a King and Queen that evening! Loretta and Paul greeted us the following morning and were perfect hosts.And although Paul kept wanting to top off my wife's tea with coffee( and apologized every time!), breakfast was delicious! Loretta tips and ideas on sites and shops in the area were helpful and appreciated. A wonderful experience!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Ohio, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My boyfriend and I had never stayed at a B&B, so we decided to try one out in Millersburg, OH on May 11th, 2013. It was beautiful inside and out. Loretta & Paul were so helpful and knowledgeable about the area and the Amish ways. The only thing I would change is to maybe improve the Check In/Check Out times because 3pm through 11am the following day isn't very long time to get away from the city life.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millersburg
2.8 mi away
Berlin Resort
Berlin Resort
#3 of 4 in Berlin
617 reviews
4.0 mi away
Berlin Grande Hotel
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 4 in Millersburg
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
The Wallhouse Hotel
The Wallhouse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Walnut Creek
282 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Millersburg
Hotel Millersburg
#2 of 4 in Millersburg
144 reviews
4.2 mi away
Zinck's Inn
Zinck's Inn
#2 of 4 in Berlin
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barn Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barn Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Barn Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 6838 County Road 203, Millersburg, OH 44654-8218
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Millersburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Millersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your perfect getaway choice - distinctly one of Holmes County's finest B & Bs, the historic Barn Inn offers 11 finely-appointed rooms in the heart of Amish Country. You'll appreciate this central location for shopping, cheese houses, farmer's markets, leather, quilt, furniture shops, flea market, golfing & sightseeing. Fine accommodations, Honeymoon suites, Jacuzzis, fireplaces, privacy, and good food and wine await your pleasure. A hot country breakfast is served daily. All rooms with private entrances, climate control, private baths, TV, DVD & free WiFi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Barn Inn Bed And Breakfast Ohio/Millersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing