We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Today”

Invention Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 12 Restaurants in Milan
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Nestled in the historic town of Milan, birthplace of Thomas Edison. We look forward to serving you a meal that will fill your belly and leaving you wanting to tell all your friends about us. New owners have taken over and brought life to this little gem.
Sandusky, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Today”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

I went to milan to see if there was any small restaurant to eat at,and my family for this place,vary nice people and mmmmm food was vary good,it was home cook food not your everyday sit down chain restaurant.so anyone looking for a place to go for GREAT FOOD this is the place.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ann c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    3
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Bad experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had a disappointing meal here. Our burgers were drenched in grease and had no seasoning whatsoever! (They were hand pressed patties and we did LIKE that) The fries were skinny and under fried- felt like they were baked right out of the freezer and again no seasoning. We also tried their elderberry pie and it was like it was made with frozen pie crust and filling was not traditional elderberry flavor. With every course of the meal we really wanted to LOVE this place so it's too bad it just wasn't a good day for them.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gonecuttinghair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Pricey and nothing special”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Rather boring menu with almost everything $7 and up. No atmosphere, dirty bathrooms and just so-so food that was over-priced.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Twiggins56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Try something else in Milan”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

Stopped in for a late lunch while browsing the town square in historic Milan, Ohio. Named "Invention" as Milan is the birthplace of Thomas Edison. There was not much inventiveness in the menu, basic diner sandwiches, burgers, and salads. Wanted the meatball sub, but they didn't have any meatballs when we visited - really? The server (and there was only one on this day) was a bit crass - loud, lewd humor, etc. I wouldn't go back for another visit.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank frenchfry1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Family restaurant with great breakfast and delicious pies”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

I asked for a special order and was pleased that my special order was fufilled exactly My omlette was delicious. Server was sweet and will return soon.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank flinhir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Invention Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Invention Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing