We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine hotel for what we needed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sandusky South
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fine hotel for what we needed”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is by no means a 5 star hotel, but it was totally adequate for our needs. The front desk staff were friendly and the hotel seemed clean. The rooms were very small however. The free breakfast was a nice perk, although the woman working breakfast was not very nice about using the waffle maker! There is no fitness center here but there is an outdoor pool, which we didn't use. We went to Cedar Point for the weekend and the drive didn't take long at all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annarb1ClevelandOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie L, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sandusky South, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. I'm glad that you found our front desk staff welcoming and that our hotel was clean. We strive on making sure cleanliness and guest service are the most important for my staff to generate. I hope that if in the area again you will stay with is again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    130
    66
    25
    13
See reviews for
198
75
28
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Try the lemon ice-water in the lobby with the fresh lemons floating in it - a treat I've never seen anywhere else! The front desk staff is extremely friendly and helpful. We have stayed here at least 10 times before, and will return again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie L, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sandusky South, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Hello,

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to fill out this review. The lemon ice water is a hit many guests enjoy it on a hot summer day. We also have complimentary cookies and just started complimentary hot popcorn! I'm glad that you have stayed with us so many times! Opening in early 2014 will be a brand new Hampton Inn and Suites right next door to the current Hampton Inn. We hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Exceptionally friendly and accommodating staff. The location is easy to find, just of the Ohio turnpike. Love the fact that the sheets AND the duvets are clean for each new guest. Not much immediately around the hotel. No stores, no restaurants, nowhere to walk to. Definitely a hotel that you stay in when on a trip specific purpose. We were in the area for a lacrosse tournament and the hotel worked well for our purposes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie L, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sandusky South, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to fill out a review. Thank you for commenting on our clean rooms! We strive to make sure everything is very clean from guest’s rooms, to public areas. Our hotel is right off the Ohio Turnpike and yes it not in walking distance to any restaurants but a wide selection of restaurants and shopping are just minutes up the road by car in Sandusky. I hope you and your family stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 27, 2013

1) Staff outstanding 2) Breakfast outstanding Pleasantly surprised accomodations..Location was perfect for our LaCrosse Tournament we had attended...Staff was always pleasant and extremely helpfull in any needs we had..This is my first time at a Hampton Inn and will choose this hotel chain again in my future stays..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Charles Il, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Everyone at the hotel did a GREAT job for our lacrosse team that stayed there. Clean quiet rooms at the hotel. we enjoyed a very good breakfast. It was close enough to Cedar Point for those who wanted to go. Everyone on the team would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Great hotel, just watch the rate. There are cheaper Hampton Inns within 30 minutes either direction. But if Cedar Point is your destination, you won't be disappointed. The breakfast was not bad, and the lobby was very nice. Now the bed, best I've on which I've slept, in quite awhile!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Keith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Room 111 is great room for larger families with 2 Kings and Queen. Good option for families visiting Cedar Point. Right off the I-90 and short drive to get to the tourist area of Sandusky. We drove from Buffalo the first day and simply checked into the hotel and had dinner at Manny's that night. Cheaper to stay at Hampton the first night instead of paying much more for Cedar Point onsite hotel. If considering staying at a Cedar Point onsite property, it may make sense to spend your first or last day at this Hampton. You'll still get all the benefits of staying onsite while saving some money and getting a more comfortable room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milan
14.5 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#2 of 3 in Marblehead
288 reviews
5.5 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
21.4 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#10 of 17 in Port Clinton
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
21.1 mi away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Clinton
391 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Sandusky / Milan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sandusky South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sandusky South

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sandusky South
Address: 11600 US 250 Milan Road, Milan, OH 44846 (Formerly Hampton Inn Sandusky/Milan)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Milan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sandusky South 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sandusky South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Sandusky/Milan Hotel Milan
Hampton Inn Milan
Milan Hampton Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sandusky South Milan, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing