We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Cleveland Airport
Avondale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Rude staff”
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

I'm a flight attendant for a major airline. I know the company pays for our rooms but the front desk could at least be polite. Stayed on 27th Dec 2012. I know from working in the customer service industry you always greet & pay attention to your guest. You don't act like your put out when you see us & talk down to us.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank travelermanPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    107
    59
    28
    19
See reviews for
69
40
13
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
GREEN COVE SPRINGS
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

This was my first stay at a crowne plaza, nothing impressive would probably compare it to a low budget hotel like a best western. You could definitely tell it was an older hotel, definitely a little rough around the edges. The staff was unimpressive, not friendly I would even go add far as saying they acted like snobs. We had a double room with 3 adults and a child and they only gave us 2 towels, we stayed a total of three days and everyday we had to ask them to bring us more towels. Which I thought was pretty stupid if top pick up 4 dirty towels leave 4 clean ones.

Overall unimpressed and will probably not stay at another Crowne Plaza in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BECKY H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Cleveland Airport, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear BECKY H,

We appreciate your feedback regarding our property. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I am sorry our hotel fell short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and rest assured that these will be taken into consideration in our efforts to continually monitor and improve the quality and services we offer.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celina, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I booked and paid for two rooms at the Crown Plaza Cleveland Airport through Expedia. Upon check-in, the clerk asked for a credit card (nothing unusual, since most hotels do so to cover additional expenses or damages), but the clerk then quoted me the price for the two rooms. I explained to her that I had booked and paid for the rooms online already, which she checked on and agreed that I was right. After the trip, I found that I had been charged both by Expedia and then by the hotel! Expedia contacted them and the manager promised a refund...but none ever came. I'm still in the process of disputing the charges with my credit card company.

Beyond that, while staying at the hotel, we asked the desk clerk if the hotel shuttle was available to take us to a local attraction. This is a normal service for pretty much any hotel with a shuttle service available, but we were told that the shuttle was only to go back and forth from the airport. When I then asked that the clerk call us a cab, she acted if we were inconveniencing her. At least she actually called...

The room itself was unimpressive. The bathroom in particular was in need of an update, with water stained wood around the sink and what appeared to be spots of mold on the black marble around the tub. The two rooms, which were booked at the same time and were supposed to be of the same quality, didn't even have the same contents, with one having a fridge and the other without one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralphie433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Based on the reviews here, I wasn't expecting much. The staff was very friendly ad my room was spotless. Bed linens were clean and comfortable and the hotel was very quiet over night. The bathroom was quite small and crowded, but clean.

Ordered the turkey burger from room service and it was delicious and came with homemade potato chips. Yum!

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Cassyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

For business, I always prefer to stay at places like the Crowne Plaza, Marriott and its many brands, Embassy Suites, or similar hotels. Ordinarily when I'm in the Cleveland area I stay elsewhere, but to "change it up" I decided to stay at this hotel during my latest trip.

My guestroom and the bathroom were extremely clean and nicely done. Carpet and bedding appeared nearly new, and the tile in the bathroom sparkled. The proximity of the hotel to my place of business is less than a one minute drive, which was very convenient. The rate of the Crowne Plaza was lower than I expected, and certainly lower than where I usually stay. Internet worked well and I experienced no problems. I found the staff to be friendly in all respects.

Bathroom is small and laid out a little oddly. The shower was difficult to reach because the toilet was in the way. I have MS and could've requested more suitable accommodations, but I try to leave those for people who need the accommodations more than I. It would be nice if the hotel would update the TV Stations Guide, because it wasn't accurate. But that's not a major thing.

I'll likely stay here again in the future. The pros outweigh the cons by far, and it's worth the value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stormchaser1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Any wone who disagress with this review, has low standrars and is problaby a truck driver or cigarette smoker.

This hotel sucks with a capital S. The ENTRANCE to the hotel is a smoking area, the side door is a smoking area, the back door is a smoking area The employees stink and smoke. The employees are the worst and the stupdiest redneckd and gheto blacks ai habve ever run into at; The Asst. General mgr is the epitome of trailer trash .
Keeping my fingers crossed that soome cigarete smoking bum burns the hotel along with the employees .

The shuttle drivers are smokers and with ROTTEN teeth! The grounds keeper stinks, the elevator stinks of ash trays and the room telelphone wirers were broken. The ice machine had a plastic gove in it. Someone dropped a plastic glove and it was not taken out til Monday.
The bar was always with stinking cigarette smokers, The parking lot has big trucks like a motel 6.

Room Tip: Choose the Sheraton, right at the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franbeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Cleveland Airport, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear franbeard,

Thank you for taking the time to write our property a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. I am sorry that on this day we were not able to be at par with your expectations especially with the service that you received from our staff and the room accommodations you were given did not live up to promise. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and I once again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The highlight of this hotel had to be the staff. Everyone had a smile on their face and Irish, who works at the bar in Bucci's, the hotel restaurant, is one of the nicest people you'll ever meet. The rooms were nicely appointed with flat screen televisions and modern decor. The bathrooms were also very clean. The location is convenient and there are several restaurants within close range to which the hotel can shuttle you.

My only complaint is that the beds were a little on the hard side and slightly uncomfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelohio22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Middleburg Heights hotels
0.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Middleburg Heights Cleveland
Home2 Suites by Hilton Middlebur...
#2 of 11 in Middleburg Heights
66 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cleveland Airport / Middleburg Heights
Hampton Inn and Suites Cleveland...
#1 of 11 in Middleburg Heights
609 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Cleveland Airport
Sonesta ES Suites Cleveland Airp...
#3 of 11 in Middleburg Heights
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Cleveland Airport
Comfort Inn Cleveland Airport
#7 of 11 in Middleburg Heights
269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Cleveland Airport - Middleburg Heights
Red Roof Inn Cleveland Airport -...
#5 of 11 in Middleburg Heights
336 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Cleveland Airport South
Courtyard Cleveland Airport Sout...
#6 of 11 in Middleburg Heights
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Cleveland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Cleveland Airport

Property: Crowne Plaza Cleveland Airport
Address: 7230 Engle Rd, Middleburg Heights, OH 44130-3427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Middleburg Heights
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Middleburg Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Cleveland Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience convenient airport access without disruption at our Crowne Plaza Cleveland Airport Hotel Cleveland Hopkins International Airport (CLE) and Downtown Cleveland, Ohio are just minutes from our Crowne Plaza - Cleveland Airport Hotel. Nestled in Middleburg Heights, where you will experience high quality service from our award winning team. Whether it's an overnight getaway, a business trip, a family reunion, or your dream wedding, the Crowne Plaza Cleveland Airport Hotel offers unparalleled service and exceptional amenities. Each of our well-appointed 238 guest rooms and suites is equipped with 32" flat-screen televisions boasting a guide for an in-home experience, 100 MB Fiber Internet, "sleep" and bath amenities. Whether planning a productive business meeting or your dream wedding, our 14 meeting rooms boasting 16,000 square feet of space, will meet and exceed the expectations of every guest. Savor culinary delights at our restaurant, Tavolo 72, serving steaks, pasta and seafood. Many top attractions are just a short drive from our hotel including the stadiums of several professional sports teams, the Cleveland Clinic, the famous Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, Great Lakes Science Center, NASA Glenn Research Center, Playhouse Square and the International Exposition- IX Center. We are in close proximity to the Ford Motor Plant, Baldwin Wallace, Sherwin Williams, UPS, Sysco Foods, and AT&T. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Cleveland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Middleburg Heights
Crowne Plaza Cleveland Airport Middleburg Heights, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing