We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trouble Brewing?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thai Origin Restaurant

Thai Origin Restaurant
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Hepburn Rd
Description: THAI ORIGIN RESTAURANT & SUSHI BAR
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
178 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Trouble Brewing?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

I have been coming here for years and bringing people from work. They have always had good food here and very consistent with the quality and quantity of the dishes. 3 weeks ago, new owners took over. The food is now bland (if you can believe that about Thai cuisine) because they are obivously "cutting back" on the ingredients that make the dishes unique and adding more of the filler ingredients like pepper and onion. When you get a classic Thai Basil dish and can't even taste the basil, there's a problem, and there's definitely trouble brewing here. I hope they fix the problem, if not I'm not going back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Solo2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    13
    10
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
145 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Delicious!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

I was staying in Cleveland and this was one of the restaurants the hotel would take us to. I have to admit I was most impressed with the food and service here. The staff is very nice and I found the prices to be very reasonable. The massaman curry was AMAZING!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelsinger97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

I usually eat here with a friend but tonight (a Thursday night) I did a solo takeout. Dinner was ready in 10 minutes and consisted of Tom Yum Goong soup and a Mee Krob appetizer. This was just the right amount of food.

The soup was a good hot/sour lemongrass broth with some medium sized shrimp and excellent mushrooms. The appetizer was very tasty with lightly fried tofu and fine noodles, egg, medium sized shrimp, mushrooms and sweet/sour sauce. The entire order came in at less than $11.

Adam took my order over the phone and took care of me at pick-up; he was very good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cfpops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food and great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Always good! Many favorites on the menu. Come here often and so does family. We really enjoy the atmosphere and the staff is very friendly.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeMishlerPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleburg Heights, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

I was so hungry last week and ordered Curry for take out. Food came very fast !! and delicious !!
I will be back for sure :))

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HIDEKO_NITA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Origin Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Thai Origin Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing