We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not romantic at all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Dayton - Miamisburg
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Miamisburg
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Check in took a very long time- we waited 15 minutes behind a family when a second employee was standing there unoccupied. Our check in then took another 15 minutes- the employee seemed distracted and acted as if he could not find my reservation. I reserved and paid for the romance package which was supposed to come with a breakfast delivered in room. We instead received two buffet coupons. We did not receive cookies. The reason I reserved the hotel was the romance package and the whirlpool. The whirlpool was closed- this was not stated before I made the reservations or at the front desk. Hotel cleaning staff was consistently in the way in the hallway- they made no motion to move or greet us. We noticed room service plates/food left in front of doors for more than 6 hours- some overnight, without being taken away. When we went down to the breakfast buffet the waitresses talked the entire time- I did not see them refill any glasses or clear any plates. We left a $1.00 tip, because we did not receive any service from the waitresses, and I the breakfast was not in room as expected, and furthermore it was not good, and it was supposed to be a consolation for check-in taking 30 minutes. I was charged a 6.00 tip on my bank account. The check out woman was very pleasant and kind, and the room was clean, although the couch in the room was torn. Overall I was VERY disappointed with the service from this hotel. We also stayed the "soccer" weekend- at no time did we get warning of that event, and as the previous reviewer noted, the children (and their parents) were very noisy and unruly. They also did not adhere to the "No one under 18 after 10pm" rule in the pool area.

Room Tip: I reserved a room ahead of time, but it was changed upon arrival, probably due to the soccer familie...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauren m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kbrown1539, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Dayton - Miamisburg, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay at our hotel. I am glad that you found our hotel rooms clean and that the staff here was pleasant. It sounds like you stayed with us on one of our city-wide soccer tournament weekends. I am sorry that your experience was not what you had hoped for. Please know that we value your business and we would like to invite you back on a "quiet" weekend for another chance to show you the romantic getaway you were hoping for.

In hospitality,
Kelly Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (593)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Dayton - Miamisburg
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

529 - 535 of 593 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

This place was a terrible disappointment. As an elite Hilton Honors member I thought it would be good. WHen i checked in the front desk said ' i'm apologizing in advance- the hotel is sold out with soccer families here for tournaments'. i asked to get a room at the end of the hall on the 3rd floor ( top floor) but was told sorry.. turned out we got the worst possible room for a couple with no kids- the room was 148, right next to the door for the swimming pool. kids running up and down the hall, in and out until about 10:30 PM. 2 nights worth of this fun. The room was a terrible disappointment- smelled of chlorine, probably due to the proximity to the pool, there was no door between the bed and the couch so even having 2 TV's was irrelevant since no room divider to separate the noise. A real suite has separation with a door but this place doesnt have that. TV's are not flat screen and seem to be circa 2000, appearing to be from the last decade. One day we left our room after showering, went out for a coffee and came back. someone had been in and collected used towels, but hadn't made the bed or cleaned the room. it was as if they got caught part way through the job though nobody was around when we returned. SIgn said the spa was broken so maybe it was to deter the 100's of middle school kids or else it was just poor maintenance. My sister stayed at the Homewood Suites next door and it looked much newer and they loved it. Steer clear of this place. needs a major facelift.

Room Tip: stay away from room 148 unless you love chlorine and hearing the pool door .
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loves2TravelALOT_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kbrown1539, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Dayton - Miamisburg, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for all the feedback about your experience. I’m very sorry you were unhappy with some of our hotel amenities. It sounds like you had hoped for a quiet getaway and you caught us in the midst of a city-wide youth soccer tournament. We appreciate your feedback, and will keep your comments in mind while we work to improve our guest experience. Updates for this property are just around the corner so I hope you’ll stay with us again soon and tell us what you think about our improvements.

In hospitality,
Kelly Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at this property, and below are the Pros/Cons we experienced during our stay:

PROS:
~Friendly and accommodating staff
~Welcomed as Hilton Silver Members with a little bag of 'goodies'
~Excellent cookies (as always)
~Inviting lobby
~Lots of parking
~Spacious room (all rooms are suites)
~Comfortable bed
~No bed bugs

CONS:
~Hallways reeked of smoke (we are non-smokers)
~One of the phones in the room was broken (had to unplug it so the other phone would work)
~Furniture (couch and chair) need replaced (the couch cushions had several stains, as did the chair). The couch also slumped quite a bit. We ended up using the desk chair or sitting on the bed because the stains on the furniture were rather disgusting.
~The TVs are old and small. They need replaced.
~The food was 'ok'. We ordered room service for dinner and breakfast. Dinner was not very good at all. We ordered burgers, and while they were cooked the way we requested, they tasted odd. We ended up not eating the whole thing, but we didn't get sick, so we are unsure what was wrong with them....they just didn't taste or smell quite right. The rest of the meal was decent. Breakfast was much better, but again, nothing that was really outstanding. Skip the yogurt parfait....very sour tasting.

While the staff was friendly and the rooms were spacious, we would not stay here again until their furniture is replaced and they do some serious remodeling. They need to replace all the carpeting and paint the hallways to get rid of that smoke smell. A little TLC and I think this property would probably earn a 4 or 5 star!

Room Tip: Request extra towels and pillows. If disabled or have difficulty walking, request a room close the...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chops1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kbrown1539, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Dayton - Miamisburg, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you for all the feedback about your experience. We are pleased that you enjoyed our signature cookies and comfortable beds as well as our friendly and professional staff. I’m very sorry you were unhappy with some of our guestroom amenities. We will carefully consider all of the improvements you suggested, as we’re always looking for ways to revitalize our property. I’ve also passed on your concerns with the dinner you had, to our culinary team. They take great pride in offering quality dishes and will diligently work to improve our offerings. We appreciate your feedback, and will keep your comments in mind while we work to improve our guest experience. We hope you’ll stay with us again soon and tell us what you think about our improvements.

In hospitality,
Kelly Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed for a long weekend this month, so had to bring one of our furry family members. The hotel cleaning/maintenance staff were very accommodating & respected our Privacy sign all weekend, so as to not let our pet out of the room. Their website says they also give you "pet in room" sign to hang on the door, but they didn't (only complaint) the "do not disturb" had to suffice.

I will say that the hotel is in need of an update, especially the guest rooms. However, it was clean & I would definitely stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCatFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

This hotel was great! There was plenty of room for the 4 of us in the room. Very nice room, suite with bedroom & family area. One word of warning, the sofa bed is maybe a double, only 2 small kids could sleep there. I really liked how big the counter space was in the bathroom area. Plenty of room to put bathroom bags up there next to the sink. The pool was quite a pleasant temp and had plenty of room for playing & swimming laps. The passage to the outside pool was closed other, wise we'd have been able to swim between inside & outside. The breakfast buffet was huge with lots of choices. Great variety, great tasting food. Dining area is a restaurant, no scrambling for tables & chairs together here! Stay here! GReat AAA rates and you get Hilton Honors points!

Room Tip: We stayed on 1st floor, room in 110's. Close to pool, breakfast and door to parking lot. Not lou...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sportmom1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Centerville, Ohio, USA
1
Reviewed August 8, 2012

My trip to the Double Tree Suites was good. I would have liked it more had the tv been flat screens with HD, I was watching the Olympics and on the tv's in the room it wasn't all that great. I did however like the set up of the room. The staff were all very nice and willing to help with anything. I would recommend my family and friends to stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kbrown1539, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Dayton - Miamisburg, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2012

I do apologize that you had to watch the Olympics on our TVs in the suite. Hopefully you were able to catch some of the action on our HDTVs in the lobby and restaurant. We just received approval for the installation of new HDTV's in each suite so please stop in again on a future visit to the area and check them out. We thank you for your business!

In hospitality,
Kelly Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Booked this room at the last minute and got a great rate via Hilton's website. We have a family of 5 so we normally look for 2 double beds & fold away beds but rooms were booked in this area that fit this criteria. Found this suite that had sofa that had double bed and king bed but room for a fold away...yay! First time in a Hilton (we usually stay at Mariott's) and I was SO IMPRESSED from our greeting to check out. We checked in and we all 5 were given hot, out of the oven, chocolate chip cookies! They were delicious!! And for the ones that didn't want cookies then they were given apples :) Our room was very spacious and perfect for our family of 5. We discovered around bedtime (10 pm) that our sofa bed was broken and the staff was on the scene within 5 minutes (normally at a Mariott this takes an estimated time of 15-20 minutes to be addressed). The maintenance guy was SO nice and immediately brought us 2 twin fold away beds to replace the full size sofa bed. They brought us addtional bedding, pillows, and blankets for our 3 kiddo sleeping on an air mattress! Wow! For being so late at night we were thoroughly impressed! We travel alot and this kind of service is hard to come by...anyhow we all slept great and had wonderful amenities while visiting. We were not in our rooms very long since it was a short overnight stay. Only negative (but we are not big TV watchers) was that the screens are not flat screen...they are the old timer TV's. We will gladly pay what we did & view 30 minutes of Old Timer TV screen time! Front desk was Awesome on check in & check out. Housekeeping was super friendly too!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2goontrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kbrown1539, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Dayton - Miamisburg, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2012

Thank you for the kind words about your recent stay with us! Our staff always aims to please. We make a point of going out of our way to make you feel at home. We have just received approval for the installation of the flat screen TVs so please visit us again soon to check them out!

In hospitality,
Kelly Brown
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miamisburg
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Dayton-South
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Dayton/Dayton Mall
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dayton South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Dayton South / Miamisburg
0.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Dayton South/Miamisburg
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dayton South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Dayton - Miamisburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Dayton - Miamisburg

Address: 300 Prestige Pl, Miamisburg, OH 45342-5300
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Miamisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Miamisburg
Price Range: $116 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Dayton - Miamisburg 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our all-suite hotel is conveniently located in South Dayton/Miamisburg, Oh off of I-75 and 2 miles from I-675. Host a family weekend away with separate living and sleeping areas or a business function in our flexible meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Dayton - Miamisburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Dayton South Hotel Miamisburg
Doubletree Hotel Dayton Miamisburg
DoubleTree Suites By Hilton Hotel Dayton - Miamisburg Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing