We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun 'General Store'”

End of the Commons General Store
Attraction details
Niles, Ohio
Level Contributor
462 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Fun 'General Store'”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Yes this General store has all the making of a Tourist Trap, but it is a fun place to stop. It has recently been expanded and modernized and is bigger than ever. There is an assortment of something for everyone. Everything here is NOT local, but there is a lot of local stuff. There is a dizzying assortment of everything, candy, tools, cooking items, deli case, cheese, ice cream , toys, maple syrup, seasonal offerings, cookies, baked goods, fried pies, candles, amish goods, homemade items,.lots and lots of bulk items. There are cold cases of every kind of imaginable cold bottled soda pop... penny candy, cookbooks, wearing apparel, hats , lunch items. snacks, fudge, odd trinkets. There are a small amount of tables inside, and other seating in the square if you want to find a bench . There is also a nice clean restroom. Note - However when there are large events on the square, they close off the restrooms (not nice !). So if you are passing by in a car, bike, motorcycle, truck, or camper, stop for a bit. For sure you will find SOMETHING of interest to you. NOT opened on Sunday

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CAT_AJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    12
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Horse Cave, Kentucky
Level Contributor
116 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fun "General" store”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

This is a fun place to visit. My daughter loves the assortment of bottled soda. There's an entire wall devoted to it and they stock all sorts of fun stuff you have never heard of. It really is a tourist trap but it's still fun. The penny candy is fun for kids (and adults) and there's a nice selection of kitchen items and some bulk foods. It's a little expensive but not much more than other places. I wouldn't call this an Amish place, there are many more authentic places with better prices but most people just visiting never know about them as much. It's a fun little stop if you know what to expect but if I were Amish I would be offended going in there. They sell t-shirts that say "Got Amish? We do".

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great way to spend the fourth of July”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

The Mespo ox roast held during the 4th of July is great family fun. A trip to the general store adds to the fun. The ice cream tastes great. The penny candy is always a hit even with my adult kids. Many hard to find items are here - decorative baking sprinkles and white cheddar cheese powder. The negative review wrote "Amish girls" when they probably were Mennonite.

Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novelty, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Historic Store”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This little tourist spot has been around for a long time. They have great ice cream and have started serving food as well. In the middle of Amish country, it's worth visiting.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Disappointing - a high-priced tourist trap”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Based on the other reviews, I was very excited about bringing my family here when we came to visit during maple sugar season. However, I regret to report that we were shocked at the high prices and the indifferent attitudes of the staff. Not at all what we expected. There is nothing "authentic Amish" anywhere in the store, and even the food deli admitted nothing is prepared on site at all. Serving sizes were small and ridiculously overpriced. We felt completely ripped off, even though we come from Los Angeles where things are generally very expensive. Yes, there are a million interesting things to look at here, but everything is insanely overpriced..... the kind of prices you'll pay for popcorn and soda at a theater. The complete indifference and fake attitudes of the "Amish girls" is an insult to the Amish community. It was obvious they were used to dealing with large volumes of tourists and are only interested in how much of your money they can get from you.

My whole family felt completely let down, and after taking another look at some of these reviews, I have to wonder if many of them are locals just trying to drum up business for the place. Seriously, this was a huge disappointment after getting excited about the place after reading other reviews.

Yes, it's a cool place to visit, but be prepared for sticker shock and complete indifference. Do NOT come here with an appetite. You'll only get ripped off. There are other eating establishments nearby that will feed you great food in generous quantities for a low price.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank bbkcollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to End of the Commons General Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing