We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Train your staff!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cleveland East - Mentor
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Mentor
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Train your staff!!!!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Hotel was clean and very fresh looking and actually beautiful for a Holiday Inn, but the staff is a different story. Breakfast server was very un-kept in appearance and smelled of cigarette smoke. She kept tried to be nice but it was not genuine at all. We ordered off the menu and the food was decent, overpriced but decent but lacked any kind of presentation. Front desk staff seemed to be very unengaged and lacked enthusiasm, the front desk manager, who I would later find out was the assistant general manager, was dressed very inappropriately for her role at the hotel. Although she was the most pleasant person I encountered at the desk, she needs to step up her wardrobe game. While on the elevator there was a housekeeper who was talking on her cell phone and eating a bag of chips, not a good impression. Stopped at the bar after a long day, great food and drink specials but again the service over shadowed the specials. The bartender seemed as she was doing me a favor by waiting on me and once she did she returned to the end of the bar where the staff seemed to be having their own little party and with the lack of any sort of music ( ????) you could hear everything they were saying. Some of the conversations were defiantly not appropriate for customers to hear. You have a nice hotel physically but if you are to be successful you need to pick up your game on the staff. People would rather stay in an okay looking hotel with great service rather than a beautiful hotel with poor service.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENemecek, Manager at Holiday Inn Cleveland East - Mentor, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for your recent feedback. We appreciate all positve and negative feed back so we can learn and grow from it. We will be addressing your concerns with our staff and appologize that you did not have a more positive experience with us.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    55
    23
    12
    7
See reviews for
34
29
3
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cleveland, oh
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed her over Christmas for six nights. We are originally from the area and liked to location. It has plenty of restaurants around, a mall down the street and easy access to route 2 and 90. We booked our room for $88 a night and we felt it was a great value. The first room we were given had a coffee stain on the blanket and Chris at the front desk promptly moved us to the king deluxe next door. The only issue we had during our stay was two young girls running up and down the hallway at 1am. A call to the front desk was made and the noise stopped immediately. The rooms have been redecorated since comfort inn and they are much improved. Our only complaint is the bed was rather uncomfortable to us. We will be staying here during out future visits home.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank beachbum0626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENemecek, Manager at Holiday Inn Cleveland East - Mentor, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for your feedback of your past stay with us. We are sorry there were some small issues during your stay, but so happy that our staff met your expectations in fixing any issues. I am happy to hear that we will be your choice hotel when coming to the Mentor area. We look forward to your future visits.

Thank you,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We made a last minute getaway it was very nice. Everything was clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The restaurant food was very good and the prices fair. We didn't have time to check out the pool or exercise room but I'm sure it's just as nice as the rest of the facilities.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank rover440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENemecek, Manager at Holiday Inn Cleveland East - Mentor, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay including the restaurant. We hope to have you back in the future.


Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, Ohio
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

I must say the new renovations are great and all that I have heard about the rooms is very positive and the bar at Rave was very bright and modern. One glaring problem is their banquet service. I recently attended a large function of some 250 people and when we went to get our lunch at the buffet area I was shocked at the poor quality of the food, that is what food was still left. The two pastas and sauces were bland and were about all that was left except from very limp and wet vegetables and a few marble sized meatballs. We were the lucky ones as many people were turned away as they ran out of food completely. The walls of this large room are blank and some pictures or other decorations would go a long way to enhance the atmosphere of this room. Because this facility is newly renovated it is my hope that they are able to resolve their banquet facility issues as it appears the rest of the hotel operation is running quite well.

Room Tip: There are numerous choices for restaurants within walking distance and great shopping within a mile...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrekingNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cleveland East - Mentor, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Ray K,

Thank you for your valuable review. We are glad to read you found our renovations commendable. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. I am sorry to hear that we failed to meet your expectation on this particular occasion and apologize for any inconvenience you encountered due to the level of service received and food selections that was served. Comments such as yours permit us to target areas of concern and take the necessary steps where great attention will be paid to the matter.

Thank you again for your feedback. We hope that you will afford us another opportunity to show how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

We were going to be a late arrival to this Holiday Inn recently coming from out of town. I called ahead and got Freddie on the phone. Though we were staying on points, Freddie was very helpful to find us a suite that allowed our family to stay comfortably. She was an awesome hotel representative focused on customer satisfaction. Due to the great room she held for us, we stayed again at the hotel a couple nights later when traveling back through. The hotel was clean and comfortable. The only thing that could have been better would be more help with the cost of breakfast or better perks for IHG platinum elite members. Thanks you Freddie for making our stay great!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank T E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENemecek, Manager at Holiday Inn Cleveland East - Mentor, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your reveiw on Freddie. She is a great part of our Front Office Team and will be thrilled to know that she made such an impact over a guests stay. She truly takes pride in helping others and we are pleased that you took notice.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
133 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

The hotel is adequate for a 3-star establishment. I noticed references to recent renovation, and really the flaws of the hotel are the things that were not (or could not be) addressed by it.

The good: comfortable beds with duvets, excellent internet, good storage space, good water pressure. A/C was effective and could be independently adjusted.

The negatives: the bathroom is poorly laid out, and only tubs are offered with a fixed showerhead - that's universal in Cleveland though :( Very poor sound insulation. No safe in the room. Some of the linens and towels had stains. A/C was somewhat noisy, but not to a point that we couldn't sleep. I accidentally left my camera charger in the room when I checked out, and when I called the hotel later, they advised that it was nowhere to be found :(

Breakfast appeared above average for me, but we came to visit family, and my aunt religiously was making us breakfast, so we never tried breakfast at the hotel. There are several eating options next to the hotel as well, including Chipotle.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miami_Love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENemecek, Manager at Holiday Inn Cleveland East - Mentor, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback of your most recent stay. I see that we exceeded your expectations in some areas, but did not in others. I sincerly apologize for the problem you inccured while staying with us. We have recently purchased new towels, and removed any stained linen. We also do have a Safety Deposit box at the front desk, if you do need to store any belongings securely. We thank you for your business and hope to see you again in the future.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

I love the updates of the rooms from when they were the comfort inn, but only thing was, I was very disappointed when we returned to the room in the evening we walked into it in the same condition we left it. Seems they forgot to clean our room. My husband said oh well we saved $5.00 on tip. Felt like they could have given us some compensation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bena j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENemecek, Manager at Holiday Inn Cleveland East - Mentor, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for giving your feedback on your most recent stay with us. I apologize that housekeeping seemed to have missed your room. We strive to exceed our guests expections and I see that we fell short on that goal. If you would like to contact me directly, I can see what we can do for you, during your next visit to Mentor.

Thank you,

Elizabeth Nemecek
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mentor
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites
1.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Cleveland East - Willoughby
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cleveland-Mentor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Residence Inn Cleveland Mentor
6.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 5 in Painesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
4.9 mi away
Courtyard Cleveland Willoughby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cleveland East - Mentor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cleveland East - Mentor

Property: Holiday Inn Cleveland East - Mentor
Address: 7701 Reynolds Rd, SR 306, Mentor, OH 44060-5320 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Lake County > Mentor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Mentor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Cleveland East - Mentor 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated hotel in Mentor, near the Great Lakes Mall, Lake Erie & Headlands Beach State Park. The Holiday Inn Mentor is conveniently located five miles from Lake Erie and within 20 miles of downtown Cleveland, Wildwater Kingdom, Playhouse Square, the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Edgewater Park and Progressive Field, home of the Cleveland Indians Baseball team. The Historic Kirtland, Lake Farm Parks, Lost Nation Sports Complex and Eastlake Ballpark, home of the Lake County Captains, are all within 10 minutes of the hotel. We offer ballrooms and meeting rooms to accommodate your large or small meetings, events or special occasions. Stay well at our premium lodgings with a heated indoor pool and modern Fitness Center. Stay connected with our complimentary high-speed Internet access. Few area hotels compare with our Holiday Inn, so sit back, relax, and be yourself ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Cleveland East - Mentor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Hotel Mentor
Comfort Inn Mentor
Mentor Comfort Inn
Holiday Inn Cleveland East - Mentor Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing