We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Miss Cindi” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manhattan Deli Of Mentor

Manhattan Deli Of Mentor
Ranked #11 of 178 Restaurants in Mentor
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Geneva on the Lake, Ohio
1 review
“Miss Cindi”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

My company and I order food from this fabulous eatery every week. The only complaint we have is the help. Terrible attitude, when ordering several orders, we get billed for all orders even though we specifically state we have several separate orders. Picking up the orders and dealing with attitudes has caused us to go elsewhere, such a shame, we love their food.

Helpful?
Thank cindi000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    19
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mentor, Ohio
Level Contributor
86 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Big portions with a hint of Greek”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is one of those great NY style deli restaurants. The food portions are BIG and tasty. I have never left here hungry and usually end up taking home some of the extra's. Traditional deli style food with some Greek specialties thrown in. They have different specials every night so be sure to check the board when you come in. In East coast fashion they have a fish fry on Friday's along with some very good clam chowder. They serve breakfast all day for those who prefer the meal. There is no alcohol in the establishment making it great for families. The staff have always been friendly and attentive. Be sure to ask for some bagel chips. I haven't seen these elsewhere. Prices are fair and you have no shortage of items to pick from.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, Ohio
Level Contributor
226 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Very Good Corned Beef”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Located in the corner of a strip mall on Mentor Avenue for many years, this is the only decent deli in Lake county. It's been there for over 30 years and has had a couple of owners. It's a typical deli in that it serves all the usual foods and the decor is what you would expect a deli to be.

The corned beef is very good and they serve a good sized sandwich. Not the best or biggest I've had, but very good considering it's suburban setting. The other sandwiches look to be of the same size, but I cannot comment on them or the other menu items since all I've ordered is the corned beef.

If you have the time and feel like driving, Slyman's which is in downtown Cleveland, is much better. But, for a local source, Manhattan Deli is gets the job done.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HootieToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
121 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A lil' somethin' different...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Went there for lunch today. Not bad atall. Had the beef stroganoff over noodles, my gf had the open faced roast beef w/mashed potatoes. She said her's could have been a lil' warmer. Mine was fine. Friendly fast service, and lots of yummy desserts to eat there or take home. We'd been there before years ago but thought the food was too 'plain tasting'. This time was much better.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lezleefeetsgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYRACUSE
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best in Lake County”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Admittedly, Lake County, Ohio, isn't exactly Deli-Central. However, my mother lives there and we visit from New York regularly. Our usual go-to place in Cleveland is Corky & Lenny's, but that requires rather a hike from Concord. That's where the Manhattan Deli comes in.

If you can't trek into the city, this is a very good stand-in. The corned beef is great -- sandwich big, but not overwhelming -- and the pastrami is just the way my husband likes it -- lean and not too salty. He gets the larger sandwich and I get the regular sized and we're both happy. The potato pancakes are crispy/tender, but not greasy, just the way they should be. There's always a nice selection of desserts, including various cheesecakes. For St. Patrick's Day they had Irish Cream cheesecake -- sublime! And, yes, the place is packed for St. Paddy's and their corned beef and cabbage dinner, but it's worth the wait.

I'm not saying this is the Carnegie Deli (actually, they're much friendlier here, and if you've ever been to the Carnegie you'll know what I mean!), but it's the best in the area. The owners are Lebanese, I believe, and their Middle Eastern menu is also very good -- get the falafel and hummus. Num!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Soule14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manhattan Deli Of Mentor also viewed

 
Mentor, Lake County
 

Been to Manhattan Deli Of Mentor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing