We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You go here for the food... The best traditional Italian food”

Zappitelli's Pizzeria
Ranked #17 of 182 Restaurants in Mentor
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“You go here for the food... The best traditional Italian food”
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Don't expect a great atmosphere or perfect service. But you can expect some of the best traditional Italian in Northeast Ohio. We have been several times and will continue to go when the Italian craving strikes.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    13
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This place isn't anything to write home about. The best part is the price and the portions, but a lot of a mediocre meal isn't necessarily great. The sauce needs to be cooked longer, maybe with more meat. It lacks richness. The service is hit or miss. We once had to wait about 15 mins for our check, because our waitress was on a personal phone call ( lots of giggling.). We finally just went to the cashier and said we needed our check. We've also had good, friendly servers. The decor needs some help and it could use a good cleaning/de-cluttering.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, Ohio
Level Contributor
230 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Great food at very reasonable prices”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Zap's has been one of our favorite Italian restaurants for many years. It's one of those places that you know will serve fresh, hot, delicious food in portions so large 2 people can share a meal. And the prices are so reasonable that we often ask ourselves how can they provide so much food for such a low price.

The restaurant is located in a strip mall on Mentor Avenue across the street from Dick's Sporting Goods. Some people call it a little hole the the wall because it's nothing fancy and sometimes can look a little worn, but it's always been clean. I'm not sure how long it's been in business, but I know we've been eating here for at least 25 years.

Now for the food. Truly anything on the menu is fabulous. It's real homemade Italian food with dinners including a salad and wonderful rolls. Oh the rolls... They do serve beer and wine along with soft drinks. Lastly, be prepared to leave with a doggy bag.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HootieToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quaint Italian resteraunt”
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

In town for a short visit and wanted pizza for lunch and chose zappetelli's based on the other reviews and it lived up to the ratings! Excellent eggplant and sausage pizza and the children's serving of homemade cavatelli was delicious ! The sweet rolls before our dinner were yummy and warm . Then there are the homemade desserts! Cream puffs, cannoli and eclairs!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Incredibly good”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

In town for a volleyball tournament, we ordered take out. Lasagna, stuffed shells, spaghetti, and some very good chicken dish. My wife is Italian so she's very skeptical when eating at Italian restaurants. She was very impressed and loved everything we ate. The meatballs are the size of softballs and very juicy and done perfectly. It's the best Italian food we have ever eaten outside of home, and reasonably priced.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dcu82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zappitelli's Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Zappitelli's Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing