We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Mentor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stopped here on the way home from driving our daughter to college. We were very pleased with the dinner we had at the hotel - great menu choices. The breakfast was also good. Front desk staff was superb. Will probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mentorhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

With our convinent location to numerous college we often get parents of college students stay with us throughout the year. We always enjoy having families here during this exciting time in their childrens lives. We do hope you will stay with us again when visiting or picking up your child from college in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (624)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

475 - 481 of 624 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

The lobby and dining room were in excellent condition. The cozy Skye pub was modern and well kept. The room was comfortable, flat screen tv worked perfectly, along with the A/C. I never ran out of hot water. The staff was friendly and efficient. The breakfast menu needs some improvement. There was an unidentifiable item called "egg patty," and unfortunately, that was the only egg dish that morning. There is no charge for parking at Lawnfield which is located in a safe area with easy access to the Interstate freeways.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunrise5706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mentorhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We also appreciate your honesty on the breakfast eggs not being as good as you had expected. It is our guests comments and concerns that let us know what areas we need to improve in. We hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This property is not kept up well. They have replaced the TV's and the breakfast was better. The carpet from the lobby to the second floor is disgusting. The carpet in the room was worn out. We again experienced staples or nails sticking up out of the carpet going into the bathroom. I could have easily ripped my foot open but I was looking because of last time we stayed here. The carpet going up from back entrance to second floor besides being dirty, had not even been swept.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snickerdoddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mentorhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

We are sorry to hear your stay was not up to par. We realize our carpets do get worn in areas of high traffic and we have them cleaned regularly. We are happy to hear our staff was friendly and helpful. We do hope to have you stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The hotel is charming and the staff very helpful. The room suite was very nice. One of the draws for me was the included hot breakfasts which I remembered from the last trip. Ate there 5 times this trip and three hot breakfasts were sub-par, frozen egg patties and breakfast burritos which were tough and tasteless. Not up to standards they are setting for new restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Margaret X R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mentorhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

We are sorry to hear the breakfast wasn't as good as it should have been. We are pleased that the rest of your stay went well and we hope to have you stay with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed two nights over a weekend in a suite. When we entered our room, it had a distinctive unpleasant odor. However, we didn't notice it after we were in the room for a while.

Everything worked fine but constant running of the A/C made sleeping somewhat difficult. Faucet had a hard time getting real cold or real hot water. The shower didn't have that problem.

The mattress sort of creaked as if it was made out of something synthetic on the edges. Pillows were great however. TV listings card corresponded exactly with the channels on the flat panel TVs. That happens rarely these days we've noticed.

We found there was just enough closet space for my wife and my clothes to hang up. But it was a tight squeeze. Internet connection was top notch. Coffee (regular and decaf) were available in the lounge until about 10pm. We don't use the coffee maker in the room since we are not confident of how sanitary it is.

Loading and unloading the car was not the best since there were steps in front of the entrance although there was a sloping entrance in the sidewalk about 30' down the driveway. A cart was available.

Breakfast was well above average with plenty of selections. Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The Sunday attendant at the breakfast wasn't. She was all business and I didn't see her smile once.

This was the fourth time we have stayed here and will probably stay here again when we visit the area. However, this time, I got the impression that Lawnfield was showing its age...a little. It's probably because the quality of the room was not up to the standards that we expected and had found in previous visits.

Also, if you stay on weekends the restaurant is not open. Only the Pub is. You have to have a car to find a nice restaurant. There isn't anything within walking distance even though Lawnfield is located on Rt. 20 (Mentor Ave.).

Room Tip: Third floor room is very quiet. Bring light bulb if you like a brighter room.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rcubed2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mentorhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thank you for the feedback reguarding the hotel. We are pleased to have had you stay with us on numerous occasions. While the hotel has now been open for 11 years we do offer new mattresses and flat screen TVs. We have put in the addition of the restaurant and pub onsite. We realize that as time passes we must continue to update and have been in the process of doing so. While the restaurant is only open for breakfast on Sundays, Skye is open for lunch and dinner Monday through Saturdays.The Pub offers late night limited menu even after restaurant hours. We truly appreciate your business and hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We've stayed at the BW, Mentor, OH several times in transit to the East. The accommodations are comfortable, the staff extremely thoughtful, and they welcome pets. This time they had a restaurant where they served excellent dinners as well as breakfast. The waitstaff were exceptionally kind and accommodating. Since we were traveling with a small dog, we were given a first floor room right near the back entrance. Our dog gives it a ***** woofs! My only complaint was the pet fee, which was $25/ night. That seemed excessive for a 6-lb dog.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mentorhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

We are pleased we met the needs of not only you but your four legged family member as well. It is true that we have a $20 pet fee, as most hotels do charge at least that if not more. Our housekeeping staff deep cleans the pet friendly rooms which requires more time and supplies vs. room without pets. We hope you better understand the reason behind the fee. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed here on our way to New York. The hotel is charming and the bed was great, but the staff put this place in my gratitude. We left all of our trip documents (train tickets, cruise ship boarding passes, hotel confirmations) in the room. Two hours after we checked out and got on the road, they called to to tell us we had left a binder behind. Cheryl saved us from having to drive back by sending the papers via overnight FedEx to our next hotel. The great customer service saved us 4 hours of driving.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mentorhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear that the staff went above and beyond with helping to meet your needs. We hope that you will continue to stay with us and that your future travels are safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mentor
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Cleveland East - Mentor
2.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Cleveland East - Willoughby
4.1 mi away
Residence Inn Cleveland Mentor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cleveland-Mentor
4.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Painesville
432 reviews
5.8 mi away
Steele Mansion Inn & Gathering Hub
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites

Address: 8434 Mentor Avenue, Mentor, OH 44060-5817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Lake County > Mentor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Mentor
Price Range: $98 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from home! That’s Lawnfield Inn & Suites, the perfect “Smoke Free” getaway for that special occasion. Come see why wedding parties, school reunions, family gatherings, and businesses choose us as their preferred hotel. Lawnfield Inn reflects the tone and feeling of that “Somewhere in Time” bygone era. Adding comfort, quality, and breakfast – all at an affordable rate. If you’re traveling from afar or live just around the corner – once you’ve stayed with us, you will come back time after time, year after year. Kids 17 and under stay free and we are pet friendly (small fee for pets applies). Enjoy dining in our newly remodeled Dining Room and Pub, “Skye Bistro”. Skye Bistro offers additional outdoor dining during the summer months on our veranda or poolside. Check our Skye website for events and live entertainment. Close to many attractions: James A. Garfield National Historic Site, Historic Kirtland, Holden Arboretum, Mentor Headlands Beach Park, Mentor Civic Center, Lake Farm Park, and Local Wineries, to name a few. Less than 30 minutes to major Cleveland attractions; Cleveland Indians, Browns, Cavaliers, Playhouse Square, Horseshoe Casino, Rock Hall and other major Museums and event locations. Additional downtown places of interest include The Cleveland Clinic or University Hospital Main Campus. We are also a Smoke Free Facility with Meeting Rooms and In House Catering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus Lawnfield Hotel Mentor
Best Western Mentor
Best Western Lawnfield Hotel
Mentor Best Western
Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites Mentor, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing