We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not perfect, but would stay here again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Mentor
Certificate of Excellence
Hopedale, United States
1 review
“Not perfect, but would stay here again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

The hotel is charming and the staff very helpful. The room suite was very nice. One of the draws for me was the included hot breakfasts which I remembered from the last trip. Ate there 5 times this trip and three hot breakfasts were sub-par, frozen egg patties and breakfast burritos which were tough and tasteless. Not up to standards they are setting for new restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Margaret X R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mentorhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
We are sorry to hear the breakfast wasn't as good as it should have been. We are pleased that the rest of your stay went well and we hope to have you stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    125
    22
    11
    2
See reviews for
227
146
31
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed two nights over a weekend in a suite. When we entered our room, it had a distinctive unpleasant odor. However, we didn't notice it after we were in the room for a while.

Everything worked fine but constant running of the A/C made sleeping somewhat difficult. Faucet had a hard time getting real cold or real hot water. The shower didn't have that problem.

The mattress sort of creaked as if it was made out of something synthetic on the edges. Pillows were great however. TV listings card corresponded exactly with the channels on the flat panel TVs. That happens rarely these days we've noticed.

We found there was just enough closet space for my wife and my clothes to hang up. But it was a tight squeeze. Internet connection was top notch. Coffee (regular and decaf) were available in the lounge until about 10pm. We don't use the coffee maker in the room since we are not confident of how sanitary it is.

Loading and unloading the car was not the best since there were steps in front of the entrance although there was a sloping entrance in the sidewalk about 30' down the driveway. A cart was available.

Breakfast was well above average with plenty of selections. Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The Sunday attendant at the breakfast wasn't. She was all business and I didn't see her smile once.

This was the fourth time we have stayed here and will probably stay here again when we visit the area. However, this time, I got the impression that Lawnfield was showing its age...a little. It's probably because the quality of the room was not up to the standards that we expected and had found in previous visits.

Also, if you stay on weekends the restaurant is not open. Only the Pub is. You have to have a car to find a nice restaurant. There isn't anything within walking distance even though Lawnfield is located on Rt. 20 (Mentor Ave.).

Room Tip: Third floor room is very quiet. Bring light bulb if you like a brighter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rcubed2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mentorhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for the feedback reguarding the hotel. We are pleased to have had you stay with us on numerous occasions. While the hotel has now been open for 11 years we do offer new mattresses and flat screen TVs. We have put in the addition of the restaurant and pub onsite. We realize that as time passes we must continue to update and have been in the process of doing so. While the restaurant is only open for breakfast on Sundays, Skye is open for lunch and dinner Monday through Saturdays.The Pub offers late night limited menu even after restaurant hours. We truly appreciate your business and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We've stayed at the BW, Mentor, OH several times in transit to the East. The accommodations are comfortable, the staff extremely thoughtful, and they welcome pets. This time they had a restaurant where they served excellent dinners as well as breakfast. The waitstaff were exceptionally kind and accommodating. Since we were traveling with a small dog, we were given a first floor room right near the back entrance. Our dog gives it a ***** woofs! My only complaint was the pet fee, which was $25/ night. That seemed excessive for a 6-lb dog.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mentorhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
We are pleased we met the needs of not only you but your four legged family member as well. It is true that we have a $20 pet fee, as most hotels do charge at least that if not more. Our housekeeping staff deep cleans the pet friendly rooms which requires more time and supplies vs. room without pets. We hope you better understand the reason behind the fee. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed here on our way to New York. The hotel is charming and the bed was great, but the staff put this place in my gratitude. We left all of our trip documents (train tickets, cruise ship boarding passes, hotel confirmations) in the room. Two hours after we checked out and got on the road, they called to to tell us we had left a binder behind. Cheryl saved us from having to drive back by sending the papers via overnight FedEx to our next hotel. The great customer service saved us 4 hours of driving.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mentorhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear that the staff went above and beyond with helping to meet your needs. We hope that you will continue to stay with us and that your future travels are safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stay here when we are celebrating something special such as our anniversary. Love the lay out of the rooms and wish we had stayed here for our Wedding. The outdoor pool is small and is right next to the outdoor patio of the restaurant. The rooms are great and are over filled with charm and amenities. The restaurant and free full breakfast were great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Joan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mentorhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
We are pleased to be your choice for special getaways. We appreciate your repeated business and taking the time to let others know about our hotel. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

While the room was clean and comfortable, we found staff members to be less than helpful. We were in the area for a wedding. Upon returning to the hotel that evening went to the Skye Pub for a bite to eat and a cocktail. It was 11pm on a Saturday night. We were told by the bartender that the kitchen was closed as she ate in front of us. We asked if there was a delivery place nearby that we could order a pizza. She told us that she had no idea, and then told me that I "should have planned better " because " the entire town shuts down by this time of night."
I then went to the front desk and the desk clerk begrudgingly gave me a pizza flyer. I must have really inconvenienced her with my outrageous request.
Check-in and check-out were very pleasant. I only wish I had gotten their names as they were the only staff members who were friendly, or even acknowledged our existence. On a side note we ordered from Zeppes (?) on Center Road. The food was excellent and they got there in less than 15 minutes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mentorhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We are sorry to hear that your experience Saturday evening was the opposite of what we strive to achieve. We have brought forth your concerns to the appropriate staff members. We are pleased to hear that your check in and check out experience was pleasant. We do hope that you would still consider staying with us again in the future and that your overall stay was comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed in this hotel so we could go to the Rock and Roll hall of Fame in Cleveland Great place to visit, spent the day there just going from exhibit to exhibit fantastic. When I go back I will stay at the same hotel,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mentorhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased that our location met your needs to visit the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame & Museum. There are numerous attractions downtown and in the surrounding areas such as; the new Horseshoe Casino, Science Center, newly renovated Cleveland Museum of Art, Natural History Museum, Amish Country and more. We hope that you may get the opportunity to enjoy some of these wonderful attractions the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mentor
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cleveland-Mentor
4.1 mi away
Residence Inn Cleveland Mentor
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Cleveland East - Mentor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Cleveland East - Willoughby
4.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Painesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
5.8 mi away
Steele Mansion Inn & Gathering Hub
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites
Address: 8434 Mentor Ave, Mentor, OH 44060-5817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Lake County > Mentor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Mentor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from home! That’s Lawnfield Inn & Suites, the perfect “Smoke Free” getaway for that special occasion. Come see why wedding parties, school reunions, family gatherings, and businesses choose us as their preferred hotel. Lawnfield Inn reflects the tone and feeling of that “Somewhere in Time” bygone era. Adding comfort, quality, and breakfast – all at an affordable rate. If you’re traveling from afar or live just around the corner – once you’ve stayed with us, you will come back time after time, year after year. Kids 17 and under stay free and we are pet friendly (small fee for pets applies). Enjoy dining in our newly remodeled Dining Room and Pub, “Skye Bistro”. Skye Bistro offers additional outdoor dining during the summer months on our veranda or poolside. Check our Skye website for events and live entertainment. Close to many attractions: James A. Garfield National Historic Site, Historic Kirtland, Holden Arboretum, Mentor Headlands Beach Park, Mentor Civic Center, Lake Farm Park, and Local Wineries, to name a few. Less than 30 minutes to major Cleveland attractions; Cleveland Indians, Browns, Cavaliers, Playhouse Square, Horseshoe Casino, Rock Hall and other major Museums and event locations. Additional downtown places of interest include The Cleveland Clinic or University Hospital Main Campus. We are also a Smoke Free Facility with Meeting Rooms and In House Catering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Best Western and Priceline so you can book your Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Lawnfield Hotel Mentor
Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn And Suites
Best Western Mentor
Best Western Lawnfield Hotel
Mentor Best Western
Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites Mentor, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing