We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Mentor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We always stay at this small hotel during our annual trip to the midwest to visit family. We are never disappointed. This is not your typical Best Western: it has a charming, cozy, inn-like feel, with a very nice lobby and an interesting, eclectic collection of art prints hanging throughout the hotel. Rooms are on the smaller side, but are clean and comfortable. Service from the friendly staff is superb. Complimentary breakfast is excellent. We sincerely thank the owner and management for running such a wonderful hotel. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mentorhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

We appreciate your kind words in regard to your stay at our hotel. Your repeated business is the highest compliment one can give. If you haven’t already, be sure to try our restaurant Skye for dinner or enjoy a drink in our Pub. We look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (631)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

497 - 503 of 631 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

We are winding up a 30 day 28 state vacation and by chance selected this hotel. We could not be more pleased. The treatment we received from the staff was first class. The most pleasant surprise was to find that the on-site restaurant was Gluten free having an extensive menu. Besides the delicious meal was the bonus of gluten free bread. We were offered two special bread items, one having a hint of garlic with a crusty exterior and the other a lighter bread. My favorite was the garlic but both were tasty. We were told that they will be offering dipping oils with these breads.

Room Tip: We have a requirement for health reasons that the windows open and they do at this location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mentorhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Skye does offer some wonderful gluten free choices which we are pleased you were able to enjoy during your stay. We hope your furture travels will bring you through our city again. Our porch and poolside dining is available during the warmer months as well as our outdoor heated pool. The area has many activities from museums, parks, and historical sites to visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Hesitated to book motel ahead of time as we were not sure how far we would make it after starting out late at night. I called at 10:30PM and a very polite lately gave me a great rate, better than the rate was on the internet days previously. She asked what time we would be arriving. I said around 1AM. She said that was fine and she would notify person on duty that I would be arriving late. After a long rainy drive as soon as I walked up to the doors, which were locked, the person on duty greeted me and said they were expecting me. The room was clean, the shower great and the breakfast exceptional. My only regret was our stay was for a short time.

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 111, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jnbxu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mentorhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

We are pleased to hear you were able to make it to the hotel for your stay and that your stay was enjoyable. We do our best to communicate amongst the shift changes so that all of our guest receive a well informed welcome. We hope that you will have time in the future to enjoy an extended stay. We offer a wonderful onsite resturant (Skye) and in the Summer months an enjoyable garden style heated pool is available outdoors for your enjoyment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed here over Mother's Day Weekend in 2013. NIce clean good sized room. Very good location for our purposes. Had Mother's Day dinner here, which was excellent. Staff is very friendly and helpful. We had to extend one day and they accommodated us with no problems. Hotel is quiet and very clean.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mentorhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let others know about your stay. We appreciate your feedback. The Mother's Day meal was a success! So glad you were able to enjoy it with us and that we were able to meet all your needs. We hope you will stay with us again in the future. Skye offers a wonderful pub and regular lunch and dinner menu. With the warm weather here dining is also available outside on our front porch or poolside.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Very pleasant surprise as many BW's are so inconsistent. Stayed two days. Had a King suite on 1st floor. Nicely appointed and equipped room. Only negatives were only two thin bath towels and almost empty facial tissue box that was in bath when we arrived which was empty with use of three tissues. I like one towel for me and my wife likes one for her body and one for her hair. Most upscale properties put 4 towels in a king suite. With the tissues, the new one that housekeeping replaced the next day with was also almost empty?? Not a good way to treat guests. Reception desk staff was exceptionally attentive. Room was very nice and larger than expected. Small lobby, but clean and open. Very good hot and/or cold breakfast with excellent service. Even with the two areas we mentioned, we would definitely recommend this to others and would stay here again if passing through.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davenmanja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mentorhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

We are sorry to hear that the bath towels were not up to the standards that we are known for. We have addressed the issue of importance in double checking the items that are placed into guest rooms with our housekeeping staff. This goes for the facial tissues as well. We are pleased to hear that our reception desk staff was attentive to your needs as we all strive to provide our guests a very pleasant stay. We are pleased you enjoyed the breakfast in our dining room. We hope that you will stay with us again. Our restaurant also provides a wonderful dining experience in the evenings if time would allow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We have stayed here for about 3 years.Our son lives near so it is convenient. The entire motel is going downhill. Carpet in lobby and then going down the stairs or up to the second floor filthy. Our room was a king suite. 202. wallpaper in corner of living area looks awful. 2 small thin bath towels and one had holes in it. bathroom tiny. bed linens need replaced. breakfast was awful. coffee cold. hot water for oatmeal, not hot. ugly worn out toaster, dirty place mats. paid $134 and that was after AAA discount.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Snickerdoddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mentorhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

We appreciate hearing what areas we need to improve on. We realize our carpet was beginning to get marked up due to the increased restaurant traffic. We have since had them cleaned and they are looking like new again. We are sorry to hear that some of the towels placed in your room were less than adequate. We have readdressed the importance of carefully inspecting all linens and towels with our housekeeping staff prior to placement in our rooms. As for the breakfast, cold items are not acceptable and we hope to have corrected this rare occurrence. With the nice weather approaching North East Ohio our restaurant’s outdoor seating will be available; in addition our heated outdoor garden style pool will soon be open. Our staff sincerely hopes that you will give our hotel another chance the next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed here while visiting friends in Mentor. We walked down the street to look at James Garfield's home, which was close by. We had a king suite and the room was fine. The hotel lobby, restaurant and bar were charming and had a lot of character compared to other Best Westerns I've been to. This place was convenient for us and not too expensive. The restaurant seemed to be very popular with locals in the evening but we didn't eat there for dinner. Breakfast was good and was included with our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen3053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mentorhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

We are happy to hear our hotel met all your needs while visiting friends in Mentor. We hope to have you stay with us again should your travels bring you back to our area. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We greatly appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mentor
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Cleveland East - Mentor
2.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Cleveland East - Willoughby
4.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Painesville
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cleveland-Mentor
4.1 mi away
Residence Inn Cleveland Mentor
5.8 mi away
Steele Mansion Inn & Gathering Hub
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites

Address: 8434 Mentor Avenue, Mentor, OH 44060-5817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Lake County > Mentor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Mentor
Price Range: $98 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from home! That’s Lawnfield Inn & Suites, the perfect “Smoke Free” getaway for that special occasion. Come see why wedding parties, school reunions, family gatherings, and businesses choose us as their preferred hotel. Lawnfield Inn reflects the tone and feeling of that “Somewhere in Time” bygone era. Adding comfort, quality, and breakfast – all at an affordable rate. If you’re traveling from afar or live just around the corner – once you’ve stayed with us, you will come back time after time, year after year. Kids 17 and under stay free and we are pet friendly (small fee for pets applies). Enjoy dining in our newly remodeled Dining Room and Pub, “Skye Bistro”. Skye Bistro offers additional outdoor dining during the summer months on our veranda or poolside. Check our Skye website for events and live entertainment. Close to many attractions: James A. Garfield National Historic Site, Historic Kirtland, Holden Arboretum, Mentor Headlands Beach Park, Mentor Civic Center, Lake Farm Park, and Local Wineries, to name a few. Less than 30 minutes to major Cleveland attractions; Cleveland Indians, Browns, Cavaliers, Playhouse Square, Horseshoe Casino, Rock Hall and other major Museums and event locations. Additional downtown places of interest include The Cleveland Clinic or University Hospital Main Campus. We are also a Smoke Free Facility with Meeting Rooms and In House Catering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Lawnfield Hotel Mentor
Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn And Suites
Best Western Mentor
Best Western Lawnfield Hotel
Mentor Best Western
Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites Mentor, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing