We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Great Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center)

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center)
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Mentor
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What a Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Stayed here after the SuperBowl Party hosted at the attached party center. Wow, what a room. Jacuzzi tub, two bedrooms, full fridge, and totally quiet. I can't say enough good. I would stay there every time I am on the east side from now on.

Room Tip: Ask for the two bedroom suite, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLaMalfa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center), responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed your stay while attending the LaMalfa Super Bowl party. Each year this special event keeps growing and it doesn't seem to bother to many guests' that their team isn't involved! The food is outstanding! An all day italian buffet with pastas, pizza, hot hors d oeuvres, canapes, salads, snacks and an awesome dessert table! What's not to like?
We are glad you had the opportunity to stay in one of our penthouses. These suites are tastefully decorated and spacious! We know that you have a choice when making hotel accommodations and appreciate you choosing one of the IHG brand hotels.

Sincerely,
Debora M. Neath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    59
    18
    9
    7
See reviews for
128
47
12
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

This hotel does the job when it comes to housing a family. We loved our suite with 2 tvs and a pull out sofa bed. The breakfast is great in the am and the pool is a plus. Very nice place and we plan to stay again next year over Christmas break. Thanks!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amysul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLaMalfa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center), responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments regarding your stay with us. A lot of guests are surprised by the size of our rooms, they are larger than a full service hotel room. We offer a deluxe hot complimentary breakfast with every stay. IHG is working on expanding the breakfast choices, so keep watching for some additional changes!

We know that you have a lodging choice when making accommodations and hope that you will continue to choose one of the many IHG brands.

Sincerely,
Debora M. Neath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken Sc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

great hotel, good location, great breakfast and adjoining banquet facility...convenient to freeway and shopping in the Mentor area...had problem with the plumbing that was quickly fixed. would recommend highly

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLaMalfa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center), responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. Most guests are pleasantly surprised when the first see our rooms. There are two types of Expresses. Holiday Inn Express and Holiday Inn Express & Suites. The size of the rooms are the obvious differences the other amenities are the same. The lights in the bathroom are Energy Savers, the longer they are on the brighter they will get until the reach the scaled lumens. (100 watt). We appreciate your feed back as it helps us to create hotels Guest Love.

Sincerely,
Debora M. Neath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stayed here last weekend (Fri-Sun) for a wedding. I did not have any issues, actually I was pleasantly surprised! :) The location of the hotel was perfect and had alot of restaurants within walking distance. All the rooms are mini suites which was really nice. They all have a living area, and mini fridge. My only complaint was the lighting in the shower. It was kinda dim.

The continental breakfast was perfect. There was a lady who was cleaning up and restocking the breakfast was very nice and pleasant as well.

For the price we paid and location, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marya009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLaMalfa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center), responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us. We appreciate guest comments as they help us to see how well we are doing and what areas we need improvement on. We recently switch to energy saver lights. The longer they are on the brighter they get and it can take some getting use to if you are use to the "old" style of light bulbs as we all were. We are glad you had the opportunity to experience an event at our conference center. Our wedding and event planners are second to none when it comes to planning weddings or other venues, no detail is left undone. Our breakfast is expansive as well as filling. With all we have to offer no one should ever leave hungry!
We know that you have a choice when making lodging accommodations and hope that you will choose one of the many IHG brands for your next stay.

Sincerely,
Debora M. Neath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
232 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

So, I have heard some bad things about this location. I don't understand why. The hotel was exceptionally clean, the front desk was VERY informative on the discounted cocktails and appetizers they offer for a couple hours mid afternoon. The pool was clean and the breakfast area was clean. We stayed because of a charity event at LaMalfa and so glad we did. The female at the front desk explained they hold $100 on CC for incidentals or damage but it is dropped when billed. She was very upfront about that which is nice. Many hotels hide that they do that unless you ask. She was right, I checked CC 2 days after and it isn't there. I recommend this place and will stay here again if the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KIOhioGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLaMalfa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center), responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We understand that the comments are based on guest perception and when the hotel cannot accommodate a request due to policy or IHG safety and security a guest can perceive us as being difficult. We are very excited that you enjoyed your stay with us and would welcome the opportunity to WOW you again on your next visit with us.

Sincerely,
Debora M. Neath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

I stayed here for a brief time before, but this trip I was here for almost 4 weeks and the hotel has so many perks, it was the best choice hands down. Fresh cookies, in the evening, happy hour with Dan, fresh fruit at the check in desk, hot breakfast every morning, indoor heated pool and gym.... just like a luxury hotel, but at a budget price.

Room Tip: They do have extended stay rooms available but only with a small fridge and they do not have an in r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cinikins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLaMalfa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center), responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and Tripadvisor readers everywhere. We are so glad that you enjoyed the "perks" our hotel and conference center offered you during your stay. We look forward to having you as our guest in the future.

Sincerely,
Debora M. Neath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

I have stayed at the LaMalfa Holiday Inn Express several times as my company Headquarters is nearby. The general manager, Mrs Neath and her staff have always been extremely courteous and have bent over backwards to assist me in any way they can. The hotel is extremely nice and they often have weddings in the adjacent banquet halls. Despite weddings in progress during many of my stays, there has never been any issues or problems. The staff has been extremely accommodating, and I can't begin to tell you how nice their premium rooms are! I have been fortunate to stay in rooms where there are multiple flat panel televisions, conference tables, fireplaces, hot tubs, and a European bathroom! The hotel is always insuring that the grounds are clean outside and the inside is always clean, fresh, and inviting. If you have any reason to stay in the Cleveland/Mentor area of Ohio, there is no place else to look! I give them 5 stars only because there aren't six! Believe me, I don't give ratings like this out lightly. I am very particular, but when a hotel delivers like this one does, I give them a very emphatic, "THUMBS UP"!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLaMalfa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center), responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to express your experience with us during your recent stay. Comments always enforce morale as well as work ethics and our staff takes guest comments very seriously. The staff is pleased that they were able to exceed your expectations and make your feel comfortable. Our penthouses are very spacious and we do choose an upgrade of the day to try and make someone's day a little brighter, from the sound of your letter we did just that!

We hope to have you as our guest in the future.


Sincerely,
Debora M. Neath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mentor
3.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cleveland-Mentor
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Cleveland Mentor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Cleveland East - Mentor
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Painesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.3 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Cleveland Mentor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center)

Property: Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center)
Address: 5785 Heisley Rd, Mentor, OH 44060-1883
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Lake County > Mentor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Mentor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center) 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites LaMalfa. This unique property provides the finest personal service and facilities throughout Northeast Ohio. The atmosphere is warm and relaxed and the ambiance embraces the uniqueness of the European decor throughout the eighty-three all suite facility including Executive Suites, Penthouse and Presidential Suites. Wireless and Ethernet are available throughout the hotel as well as the 60,000 sq. ft. banquet and convention facility. Come enjoy a fireside, hot Continental breakfast in our expanded breakfast area complete with a view of our 25'x52' lap pool with under water lighting and fountains. Located in the corporate hub of Mentor, Ohioand the home of corporate headquarters to Steris, Avery Dennison, First Energy and Rollkraft makes this hotel the number one choice for business travelers. Located just minutes from downtown Cleveland guest can enjoy the excitement of big city entertainment with near by Cleveland Indians, Cavs and Browns, Rock Hall of Fame, House of Blues and Lake County Captains.Local attractions include Mentor Civic Arena, James A. Garfield's Home, Lake Farm Parks, and Kirtland Mormon Temple. Transportation is available upon advance request, contact the hotel directly for arrangements and pricing. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at LaMalfa is a completely smoke free facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center) Hotel Mentor
Holiday Inn Mentor
Mentor Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center) Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing