We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the cleanest hotels ever!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center)
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Mentor
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Ohio
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“One of the cleanest hotels ever!!!!”
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is one of the cleanest hotels I have ever seen, it actually would compare to Walt Disney World as far as cleanliness. Make sure you request a room away from the elevator as the walls are very thin. The heater/ ac unit in room 119 sounds like it is going to take flight every time it kicks on. Also our yoilet wouldnt flush. We did contact mgmt and they said they could send someone immediately. Other than that the room was nice and Very CLEAN. The only other thing I would mention to mgmt. is: Many people have to start their days early,so a 7:00am breakfast start time too late. It would be great if breakfast could begin at 6:00 am or 6:30am to accommodate guests with early time commitments.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center), responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Paula B,

Thank you for your valuable insights. We greatly appreciate your kind words and compliments regarding the cleanliness of our hotel. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will share these with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvements needed.

Thank you again for staying with us. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    60
    20
    9
    7
See reviews for
133
47
12
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

arrived late was welcomed with a smile. Three of us so we got a suite . nice, large, separate living area from sleeping area. Had hoped to sleep on pullout (for the 3rd person) but not really meant for adults unless you like a spring massage. Room clean and tidy although no clock and only one garbage can. no breakfast included and what I would consider less than average breakfast. Lots of resteraunts close by within walking distance. parking with a trailer no problem.

Room Tip: top floor less light pollution
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank restleswanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLaMalfa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center), responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am hoping that you are not confusing our hotel with another, but at our hotel located at 5785 Heisley Rd.
we serve a hot breakfast every morning as is part of the standard for all Holiday Inn Express Hotels. Our breakfast is hot and complimentary with a wide variety of breakfast items such as;

Scrambled eggs or cheese egg omelets, Sausage patties or Bacon, Sausage gravy and biscuits, pancakes,cereal, yogurt, hardboiled eggs. 2% milk and skim milk.
Bagels, English muffins, wheat bread and assorted muffins.
Holiday Inn Express Signature cinnamon rolls (warm)
Orange, Cranberry and Apple Juice. Chilled water, Hot Coffee Reg. and Decaf ,Hot Tea Reg. and Decaf

Breakfast times can vary between properties and additional information can be found in your guest room directory or simply calling the front desk. We know that you have a choice when making lodging accommodations and hope that you will choose IHG brands in the future.

Sincerely,
Debora M. Neath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afton, WY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2013

This is seriously one of the best Holiday Inn Expresses that we've ever stayed at. It's in a nice area, the hotel was very nice and very clean. Great breakfast. Friendly, professional staff. And the pool was huge (for a hotel pool) and WARM (even better). It probably helped that we had stayed in one of the worst Holiday Inn's the night before in a different city so this felt like a 5 star hotel. We would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heathert656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLaMalfa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center), responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments to us regarding your stay with us. Our housekeeping staff is second to none and each attendant takes pride in the rooms they are servicing. We conduct frequent guest room checks and conduct cleaning workshops for our staff. We look forward to having you visit us in the future when visiting the Mentor area. We know that you have a choice when making lodging accommodations and we appreciate your choice in the IHG brand hotels.

Sincerely,
Debora M. Neath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willoughby, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Room was clean and temperature was good - sometimes hotels don't keep climate control on & room gets way too hot or cold. I liked having 2 different firmness pillows to choose from & the bed was very comfortable.
Front desk clerk (Lindsey) was friendly and helpful. I had to ask for a few favors & each time she fulfilled my wishes promptly and with a smile. Checkout the next morning went smoothly, as well (I didn't catch the names of the 2 clerks, sorry). Also, the 2 housekeeping staff I encountered in the hallway smiled and said "good morning", which you don't get at many hotels.
The pool was nice, although the air temperature was quite warm. Only 2 tables and limited seats.
The breakfast bar was excellent. Good food, lots of choices.

Overall, great experience for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B_M_621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLaMalfa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center), responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your generous response! We are very glad that you enjoyed your get a way with us. Our pool is computerized so that the air and water temperatures are within 5 degrees of each other so that our guest are not freezing when the get out of the pool. We are delighted that you had the opportunity to enjoy our hot complimentary breakfast. Perhaps you will be able to join us when the weather warms up and sit outside in the rose garden patio for breakfast. Lindsey is wonderful, she is always perky and vibrant, Lindsey exudes so much energy you can't help but smile when you are around her. I will be sure to share your comments with Lindsey, Sharing your comments with staffmembers makes them feel good and helps our staff retain a sense of pride when a guest notices their customer service skills.
Once again thank you for sharing your comments with us and others.We look forward to having you as our guest in the future!

Sincerely,
Debora M. Neath
General Manager



Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central NY
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My wife and I arrived after being dissappointed with another local hotel. At check in we were greeted by Deborah, she us her undevided attention through the check in process, informed us of places to eat, and directions to our destination. Our room was clean, quiet and comfortable. We also noticed the housekeeping staff was very curtious and professional as we passed them in the hallway. At our check out we had asked for help finding a hotel along our route. Deborah once again didn't just tell us of a suggestion, she brought us over to the lobby computer and looked several places along our route. Very nice experience, would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoggie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLaMalfa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center), responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your stay. We appreciate and value your comments regarding your experience with us. Making you comfortable in unfamiliar surroundings is one of our goals during your stay with us. Insuring that your travels through out the area is as stress free as possible (something GPS's don't always accomplish) helps you to relax and enjoy your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you soon!


Sincerely,
Debora Neath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed here with a wedding party, and though there were tons of people, the staff did wonderfully. The rooms were very clean, the service was more than friendly and accomodating, the pool is a nice size and very warm, and the complimentary breakfast was very good. Props and kudos for dealing with all of us crazy wedding guests!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daekin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLaMalfa, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center), responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. Being attached to a 60,000 square foot Convention Center opens opportunities for our staff to continue their customer service skills and practice they do!. Our staff takes extrordinary measures to insure that your stay is everything you expect it to be and a little more! We are ecited that guest's like you take the time to convey your setiments regarding your stay so that we can continue to create great hotels guest love.


Sincerely,
Debora M. Neath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed November 24, 2012

When i check in around 4pm, I wasen't expecting the receptionist (Tori) to engage in conversation with me or even ask how I was doing with a positive attitude. There was at least 12 people checking in including myself. Most of the people that was checking in were absoultly rude to her for no reason. I was standing in line observing her, and she kept a positive attitude the whole entire time, and was still smiling! When it was my turn to be check in, she asked me how I was doing and I responded not very good, she asked me what was wrong and if there was any possible way she could make my stay better. I replyed with one request joking to her to remove the construction from this area, then said no you'r doing a fantastic job already. During my stay she remainded the nicest receptionist I've ever had. I had lots of request for her to bring me extra towels, blankets, silverware, and even a cot for my kids and she met my requests with excellent customer service. I would definitely recommend this Holiday inn before any other Holiday inn around.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nacy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLaMalfa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center), responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Wonderful! We want to thank you for your outstanding comments. Our front desk goes through extensive training and Tori's hard work and persistence has earned her a gift certificate for this outstanding review. Tori also leads the front desk in Priority Club enrollments. Her positive attitude is to be commended, and I am grateful that you have taken the time to share your comments.It is our goal to provide excellent customer service to all guests at all times so that we may continue to provide great hotels guest love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mentor
3.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Cleveland Mentor
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cleveland-Mentor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Cleveland East - Mentor
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 5 in Painesville
425 reviews
0.3 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Cleveland Mentor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center)

Property: Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center)
Address: 5785 Heisley Rd, Mentor, OH 44060-1883
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Lake County > Mentor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Mentor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center) 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites LaMalfa. This unique property provides the finest personal service and facilities throughout Northeast Ohio. The atmosphere is warm and relaxed and the ambiance embraces the uniqueness of the European decor throughout the eighty-three all suite facility including Executive Suites, Penthouse and Presidential Suites. Wireless and Ethernet are available throughout the hotel as well as the 60,000 sq. ft. banquet and convention facility. Come enjoy a fireside, hot Continental breakfast in our expanded breakfast area complete with a view of our 25'x52' lap pool with under water lighting and fountains. Located in the corporate hub of Mentor, Ohioand the home of corporate headquarters to Steris, Avery Dennison, First Energy and Rollkraft makes this hotel the number one choice for business travelers. Located just minutes from downtown Cleveland guest can enjoy the excitement of big city entertainment with near by Cleveland Indians, Cavs and Browns, Rock Hall of Fame, House of Blues and Lake County Captains.Local attractions include Mentor Civic Arena, James A. Garfield's Home, Lake Farm Parks, and Kirtland Mormon Temple. Transportation is available upon advance request, contact the hotel directly for arrangements and pricing. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at LaMalfa is a completely smoke free facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center) Hotel Mentor
Holiday Inn Mentor
Mentor Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center) Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing