We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good But Pricey!”
Review of Medina Steakhouse & Saloon - CLOSED

Medina Steakhouse & Saloon
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Valley City, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good But Pricey!”
Reviewed August 31, 2014

Food was good. The meal was a little pricey. The staff could have been a little more friendly. A little away from town.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vinyl45s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    15
    9
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mercer, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Had the Bourbon Grilled Meatloaf, what a treat! Very nice location, it's an old stagecoach stop. Full service bar and fast friendly service.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
“What a let-down...”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We went to Medina Steakhouse this evening to celebrate my birthday with our adult son. All 3 of us disliked our meal. I ordered the "pan-seared" scallops with pasta.There was no indication that they were pan-seared. In fact, I am certain they just tossed them in while they were boiling the pasta. They had no flavor and were rubbery. My salad was supposed to have "candied walnuts" on it when in fact it had a handful of plain, raw walnuts plopped on top. My husband ordered the prime rib. It arrived covered in a heavy rosemary-flavored gravy that hid the meat and dominated the taste. Our son ordered a burger- over-seasoned and very under cooked! The only enjoyable part of our meal was the soup of the day, tomato artichoke. The porch was lovely but right on the street with a fair amount of traffic. Our server was pleasant. But when my son said he did not like his burger, she just replied "thank you for letting me know that." Our meal was nearly $100 (no alcohol on this tab.) what a let-down and a poor value. We will not return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Winegirl1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Steakhouse”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Always reliable, from great salads, soups and sandwiches. Steaks are always great, as is thee fresh seafood. Friendly bartender and lovely historical surroundings make this a regular stop for my husband and I.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, OH
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Grealy improved with new chef”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

The old chef has returned and it is great. I had the Lamb chop special and it was extraordinary!! Beer cheese soup is excellent. Also have excellent Lake Perch. Will go back for sure!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brownsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Medina Steakhouse & Saloon also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing