We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful”

Rose Hill Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 132 Restaurants in Medina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Rose Hill is situated approximately 5 miles south of the historic Medina Square. The original building was built in the 1830's as a farmhouse and sits on 8 beautiful and landscaped acres. Then in the late 1980's the current dining and party rooms were added on, and in 2012 the current owners remodeled the establishment. The dining room has a warm elegant atmosphere with a fireplace in the wintertime; a divider separates a private area for small parties such as birthdays, etc. It features a beautiful bar with over 50 wines from around the world, a contemporary party room seating up to 80 guests, a huge patio where guests can enjoy the wonderful pastoral scenery, and best of all the fantastic food our culinary team prepares; from steak to seafood, to chicken and pasta, and of course our ethnic dishes like chicken paprikash and homemade spaetzels, pork schnitzel, and smoked meat and cheese platter, all made on premise.
Medina, Ohio
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Excellent food every time I've been there! Staff is very upbeat and social. If there's something you like and it's not on the menu, they'll make it for you. Or if your not sure what you want they come up with something you end up loving. The buffet's are out of this world!!! Definately a place to stop.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Krlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    38
    8
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice weekend buffet”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had a large group (40ish) that dined at Rose Hill the Sunday before Easter. They were very accomodating of our large group, providing us with a semi private room and plenty of energetic servers. Nice selection of foods on the buffett including several "old school" dishes like chicken paprikash and pigs in a blanket. The potato pancakes were awesome and the fresh waffles shouldn't be missed. Nice selection of desserts as well. Only thing I would recommend is a few "kid friendly" items - the obligatory chicken nuggets or mac n cheese would have been well received by my kids. Overall a nice dining experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“They started shaky, but recently...wow!”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Rose Hill has only been open a few months. Shortly after opening, my wife and I stopped in to give them a try. Not so great. We wrote it off to not having their legs under them yet and went back a couple of weeks later...again, not so great. Then, on Valentines day, a friend told us they had brought in a new head chef and we decided we would give them one last chance. Wow, did they deliver. One of the best steaks I have ever eaten. Everything that hit the table that night was fantastic. So, we decided to give their Sunday brunch a whirl. Awesome. St.Patty's day, we decided try their corned beef. OMG. At least as good, if not better than, Slyman's. If you know Slyman's, you know this is saying a lot. Give them a try. You'll love it. I've eaten in some of the best restaurants around, and I guarantee it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KeithBarker1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville, Wisconsin
1 review
“The worst I have ever experienced!”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I have never written a negative review but this place takes the cake! Ordered an appetizer that was terrible, They came by and asked if everything was alright. Told hem no the food as not good. They took it away and never offered to fix it or some other food. The bill came with the appetizer still on it. They stated they would not remove the charge because we ordered the food. The owner came out and started yelling and ripping apart the now 30 min old food his staff had been eating in front of my wife and I. He was trying to tell us it was us and not his food. It took me actually dialing the police and threating to dispute the complete charges before he finally removed the charge and said he wanted us to leave and never come back. No problem going to House of Hunan for some good food!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nunyabiz_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Place for an event!”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The crew at Rose Hill went above and beyond for our family's baby shower. The place is newly decorated and looks fantastic. The staff was friendly and helpful. The lemon chicken was delicious and the green beans were fresh and crisp. The plate was so colorful and the price was reasonable. The are a litle out of the way, but worth it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose Hill Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rose Hill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing