We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I left feeling dirtier than after I took a shower, and like I was on the set of an 80's porn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Cleveland - Medina
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Medina
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The room was something from the set of a low cost porn. There was a smell of old. The walls had repair spots that were not painted. The floor was dirty. The toilet was only big enough for a child. On top of that I dont think it had been cleaned in a while. The bed and pillow smelled like they had not been cleaned or changed in some time. Like body odor. I was afraid to leave my bag on the floor for fear some strange bug would find a home in it. Never again will I stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank farmerjohn692000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 106 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

If uploading photos were possible, we would because as the saying goes a picture is worth a thousand words. The bedspread had 3 stains which couldn't be missed by housekeeping. This leads us to expect that this is the norm for this Red Roof Inn, if not all Red Roof Inns. We could go on....but WOW! We would definitely not recommend this location.

Room Tip: Tip: If you plan to be in the Medina area, stay in downtown Cleveland. There are a variety of qual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Exgardenersinthehood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was booked into the RRI-Medina for a function. The front desk clerk was friendly and helpful. The location is conveniently off of the interstate with a nice restaurant next door. The first room I was given (129, if I recall) had a feebly-working air conditioner and the room smelled like a swamp (musty, mildew). Lighting was dim. I turned up the air and went to dinner; when I came back it was still hot and humid in the room and I realized that I was not going to be able to take the odor. I went to the front office and asked for another room, explaining the problem. I got an apology and a key to another room (206). This room had a new air conditioner, set at 54 degrees. Very cold, but a slight stale-smoke odor upon coming into the room. I decided I could deal with this. It was now quite late, so I got ready to sleep, then noticed some lint or paper on the floor. Picked up one piece with a tissue and it was a ripped off piece of a condom wrapper. Definitely a keep-your-socks-on kind of place. I bring my own pillow but the odor in the room got worse during the night, smelling of stale smoke and cat urine (to me). I got up early and checked out, deciding I'd rather sleep in my car or drive on than stay another night. I would suggest they get some vacuum cleaners that pick up 'debris' better.

Room Tip: Stay at the Hampton Inn, or if you have a pet, at the Comfort Suites. Or, inspect your room very ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wynterwynd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed Saturday, July 20, 2013. Had heard good things about Red Roof. Wanted simple clean accommodations. First assigned room had not been made up. Desk made big deal about there being only two rooms not made up. Second room had been attended to, but the carpet was filthy. They need to tear out the carpeting or get some type of cleaner that actually cleans it. Didn't want to walk on floor without shoes on.

Room Tip: Make clear that you expect CLEAN carpet and make clear that you do not want to pay extra for "s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philzone4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The Pros:
1. Price
2. Location just off Rt 71 South in Ohio
3. Easy access
4. Restaurants within walking distance
5. Large facility
6. Brittani, front desk clerk

The Cons:
1. Continental breakfast was just white carbs, generic muffins, coffee and juices. No proteins whatsoever.
2. My vehicle was blocked in the parking lot by two truckers and the office had no record of their registering to stay.
3. THE WORST: When I turned down the bedding, the inside of the comforter was blood stained! I called the night clerk but they had no spares, so I went without for the night.

Room Tip: Try a different budget hotel. There are several others in the immediate area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cedar58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We were passing through and just needed a clean place to stay for the night. Our room was clean, no bugs or anything too horrible, but it was also outdated and a bit old which made it feel somewhat dirty. We did find a cigarette hole in the mattress pad (not a big deal since there are sheets over it) and a makeup remover pad just under the bed. But the sheets and pillows were all clean and the shower and bathroom were as well.

If you just need to stay the night, this wasn't such a bad choice. It was clean and that's what we were looking for.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed here when we had to travel to Ohio for a family member's wedding. We had to bring our dogs with us. No problem! When I called, I explained that we had 3 large (friendly) dogs, they told me that wouldn't be a problem at all. We checked into our room and found it to be very spacious and clean. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. We did have to ask for an iron and ironing board, but were told that in the near future, there would be irons in all of the rooms.

We skipped the continental breakfast and opted to walk to Bob Evans instead. The ice maker was different from any that I had ever used before, but someone from the front desk was quick to come show me how to work it.

Overall, the value was great and the room was nice. The employees were extremely nice and helpful, from the front desk to housekeeping. We will stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: If you want lots of space, rent a room with a king sized bed. We had tons of floor space, which we n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hbrittingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRIMEDINA, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Cleveland - Medina, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your review. It is always good to hear that everything we are doing here is making a difference. I will be sharing this with the staff to show them that their efforts are paying off. We look forward to having you stay with us next time you are in the area. Again, thanks for the great review and enjoy the rest of the summer.

Rafael Lopez
General Manager
Red Roof Inn Cleveland - Medina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medina hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Medina - Akron West
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Medina
Hampton Inn Medina
#1 of 8 in Medina
340 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Medina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Medina
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Medina
Super 8 Medina
#3 of 8 in Medina
327 reviews
0.1 mi away
Motel 6 Cleveland - Medina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Cleveland - Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Cleveland - Medina

Address: 5021 Eastpointe Dr, Medina, OH 44256-8234 (Formerly Cross Country Inn Medina)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Medina
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Medina
Price Range: $61 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Cleveland - Medina 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Red Roof Inn Cleveland-Medina in Ohio! This hotel is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel between Akron and Cleveland, OH. The Red Roof Cleveland-Medina provides small-town comforts with easy convenience to the big city. Leisure travelers can enjoy the Medina Antique Mall and the Medina County Fairgrounds. The Inns location puts you within easy reach of all there is to do along the southern shore of Lake Erie. This hotel is conveniently located near the Medina General Hospital, the Cleveland Clinic and Akron University. This location offers free Wi-Fi, a flat screen TV in all rooms, free continental breakfast and a coin laundry facility. We also provide free coffeehouse-style coffee and tea. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Red Roof Inn Cleveland - Medina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Medina
Medina Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Cleveland - Medina Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing