We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great candles”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Root Candles

Root Candles
Ranked #1 of 5 Shopping in Medina
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Wadsworth, Ohio
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great candles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

I always love going to Root Candle Company. It smells wonderful with all the scented candles. It is located in a historic building from the 1800's. Root is a Medina icon that helped put the city on the map. Root candles are not cheap because they are quality candles that burn slow and evenly. If you don't mind "seconds" there is an outlet center behind the main retail store. Most of the candles in the outlet store burn just as nice but might not be as pretty and perfect.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Darlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    21
    3
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cleveland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Beautiful store”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

I love this store. So many wonderful gift items, its a huge store. The candles are great too. Go on the side of the building in the back and there is the clearance store. They have the best prices there.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank makgambit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
111 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“I love the Discount area in the building in the back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

The front and fancy stores rival anything you'd find in fancy San Francisco, but for
great deals, try the back building to fill your cart. I even buy bulk wax for a few bucks
to make my own candles. They also have bee keeping supplies. An awesome and interesting
company. I generally bring out of town visitors here and they all "love it".

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CayceCleveland_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Love Root Candles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We visited both the outlet store and the gift shop. The prices in the outlet store are about half of what they are in the gift shop, and the candles are fine--just minor blemishes. I mean, you're going to burn it anyway, right? The upstairs of the gift shop was getting decorated for Christmas, and I can only imagine what it will look like when they are done. Beautiful old buildings and very nice staff. The gift shop also has a little cafe and lots of gourmet food items that are yummy. Definitely worth a visit to Medina.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mlmusic519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I love Root Candle.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We always take our out of town friends there. They have so many wonderful things to see. Awesome high end accessories, furniture, foods, gifts and of course CANDLES..

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DebraB850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Root Candles also viewed

 

Been to Root Candles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing