We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy days”
Review of Dan's Dogs

Dan's Dogs
Ranked #3 of 132 Restaurants in Medina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Happy days”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you like great a selection of hot dogs, that bring back memories of Coney Island this is the place. The theme in decor is the sixties or the tv show happy days. It is not Arnolds, but a first class runner up.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank checkmateMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    49
    13
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Always a friendly place!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Completely authentic decor from an old school diner. This isn't man-made reproduction items! The food is wonderful - how couldn't it be when there's like 50 hot dog combinations to choose from, along with sandwiches, salads, etc. Their hand squeezed "fair" lemonade is spot on! Super kid friendly!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank amy21974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley City, Ohio
Level Contributor
104 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“when i really need a chili dog....”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Dan's Dogs is the place i go.

the decor is straight 50's diner. the food is served in plastic baskets, and the rootbeer is served in frosty mugs. Chili dogs are great here as is pretty much everything else.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank patgizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
117 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A Real Throwback”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Any place that can survive just being a hot dog diner must be doing something right. They are. Every once in a while taste buds (for whatever reason) scream for a hot dog, yes, a hot dog. Dan's Dogs is a fun, throwback place to satisfy that craving. It is an old-time diner with a great list of choices to customize your dog ~ great milkshakes. Good stuff. I'll have to say, it could use a bit of facelifting. Without jeopardizing the old-time feel, a freshening up of the place is absolutely in order. My wife and I will sometimes 'take a dog for a walk' ~ order it to-go and walk 25 yards and enjoy lunch by the gazebo in Medina Public Square. Good stuff.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I mean what can you do with a hot dog”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

A LOT! They have many many different hot dogs with toppings to try. I've done them all. Personally the peanut butter and jelly hot dog and the pizza dogs are my favorite. Get the milkshake or their root beer. Oh, cheese fries.... cant forget them.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank ssbrubaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dan's Dogs also viewed

 

Been to Dan's Dogs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing