We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY disappointing-- will not return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Cleveland Mayfield Heights Beachwood
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
142 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“VERY disappointing-- will not return”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

After reading the great reviews, we chose this property. Yes, the staff is polite, BUT the property is not well maintained or clean. When we arrived, there were a couple of inches of snow on the ground. The lot was not plowed nor the entrance shoveled. The snow was turning to ice and made walking very dicey. I was afraid I would fall and break something. Two days later the grounds still were not cleaned, the sun finally melted it all. Then, it snowed several inches today when we left. Again, nothing was plowed or shoveled. Putting our items in our car was very difficult and scary.

The room was not clean. Our mirror was dirty when we arrived and dirty when we left. I do not think they ever cleaned the bathroom countertops, sinks, and definitely not our mirrors or our kitchen countertops. One day housekeeping completely forgot to come to our room. The front desk sent them down. They only gave us clean towels and made one bed. NOTHING else was done.

I wear slipper socks when in hotels. I have never had them get so black with dirt and only within one day! I don't think the carpet has ever been cleaned. They vacuumed only once. The tile floors were dirty and never cleaned.

The phone never worked. The disposal and TV remote did not work (they were fixed very quickly after I told the front desk). One bathroom tub area smelled of mold. The coffee tables were dirty with grease.

This property, unlike others in its category, did not have any kitchen table or chairs. That made eating the food made in the kitchen difficult.

The beds--one was concave and the other we used had a peak in it. Getting a good nights sleep was almost impossible. Although the mattresses looked clean, they certainly had wear.

They are pet-friendly ($75 - $100). They are proud of the bags provided and trash can--there were no bags and the poop trash was never picked-up the four days we were there.

... very disappointing. Will never return even though near family and friends.

Room Tip: I'd like to know myself how to get a good room like the other reviews suggest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CookWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaybridgeCleve, Owner at Staybridge Suites Cleveland Mayfield Heights Beachwood, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
I must say I am as disappointed as you to read such a review as you were with your stay.

As Owner/GM of the Staybridge Suites, I truly take pride in this hotel and have a staff as you mentioned that is polite and even more so engaged. Just today, New Year's Day, I personally, with a snow blower, cleaned all the entrances and sidewalks. The parking was done by 6am when I arrived by our snow plow service. I just can't understand why, when you stayed it was as described.

Cleanliness issues. If we have them, which if you took the time to document such, then I have to agree that your room was as described. If I would have been advised or any one at the front desk, they would have informed me and let me Make It Right.

I would have gracefully taken the rating given, if I wasn't able to resolve the issues when you were here.

Please contact me directly on your next return, so I can personally make your reservation. I assure you you will experience what other's have.

Best of New Year Wishes for 2014,

Carla Gold
Owner/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    51
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
69
24
11
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed December 22, 2013

My boyfriend and I has stayed here last week for one night on reward points. The staff was great! Each one we came in contact with was super friendly and helpful. The front desk ladies were very nice! We needed a later checkout because work was being done on our truck and they were happy to help! Thank You for your hospitality!!! I work at a hotel in Chicago and I wish there were more staff members like this!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klarson16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaybridgeCleve, Owner at Staybridge Suites Cleveland Mayfield Heights Beachwood, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
THANK YOU, for taking the time to write and review on your recent stay. Even more so that it was so positive. I absolutely love Chicago, with a one way ticket cancelled years ago!!

Cleveland is my home, Staybridge my second home. Your comments as you know go a very very long way. We will always strive daily to do what is so easy - smile and give good service.

We will hope you stay on a future return. Best of wishes for 2014.

Carla Gold
Managing Partner/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Painesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent one night at this Staybridge and it was a wonderful stay. We stayed the Saturday before Christmas and it was not very busy. This hotel is in a corporate complex so it was quite quiet on a Saturday night. It seems like you are in the middle of nowhere but in reality, you are within minutes from any restaurant type you might want and lots of shopping. Our suite was nice and comfortable. The morning breakfast was by far the nicest complimentary breakfast I have had at any Holiday Inn brand hotel. I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank LFSAHWY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaybridgeCleve, Owner at Staybridge Suites Cleveland Mayfield Heights Beachwood, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
"Breakfast was by far the nice"……Thank you for enjoying the breakfast and providing such a nice comment. That put a BIG smile on Francisco, our cook's face!

We hope to always be your hotel of choice, when in the area. Best of wishes for 2014.

Carla Gold & Staff
Managing Partner/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times over the course of this fall. Every time we have stayed here I have been pleased with the experience. The staff is always friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and spacious and they have a pet friendly policy . The breakfast buffet is plentiful with a nice variety of choices. I highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: We have found the top floor to be the quietest. Its near a banquet/reception hall type facility so s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaybridgeCleve, Owner at Staybridge Suites Cleveland Mayfield Heights Beachwood, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Many thanks for your stay and review of Staybridge Suites Mayfield Heights. I appreciate the candid comments and praise. It's great to hear this is the best hotel stay ever and also thank you for listing us as 5 stars with "Consistently meet and beats expectations".! Those comments go a long way with the staff.

Best of Holiday Wishes till we see you again,

Carla Gold and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
351 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This hotel is run right. Friendly staff? Check. Clean? Check. Spacious, well-appointed room? Check. Quiet? Check.
We got a rate of $149,which by no means is cheap, but it was less than the hotels out by I-271. I can't imagine any of those hotels being as nice as this one.
I could go on and on about each individual amenity, but others below have covered that quite well. Suffice it to say, we would stay here again in a heartbeat if we were in the area. Everything you need for a great night's sleep. We didn't even have to use the white noise app on my phone!
The only thing that was a bit odd was the back door didn't have a key lock on it. Probably because too many times people are trying to come and go with breakfast plates in their hands?
You can't go wrong here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilive4sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaybridgeCleve, Owner at Staybridge Suites Cleveland Mayfield Heights Beachwood, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
WOW! Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We sincerely try each and every day to do what should be so simple - smile and offer genuine hospitality and service. It makes me so proud that this is what you experienced.

We can only look forward to continuing to extend this hospitality to others and hope for your future return.

Kindest regards,

Carla Gold, GM and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This was my second stay at the Staybridge chain, the first being their property in Dublin Ohio. The customer service at both of these properties was outstanding so I can only assume it is their corporate philosophy.

When we arrived in town we called to see if we could get into our room early and were told no problem. My wife and I showed up about noon and the desk person that greeted us was very friendly and checked us in right away. The property is a few years older than the Dublin one so even though it was a suite the bedroom was not walled off from the living and kitchen area. The room was very nice and clean. We did have an issue with how long the toilet ran after you flushed it and we contacted the front desk who sent someone up right away and it was repaired. Great customer service! The wifi connection was decent and much better than Holiday inns I had stayed at where it was very slow.

The only negative was the people in the room next to us were very loud one early morning and in another room someone had a dog that would bark when you walked by the room. Both of those things are not controllable by the hotel (with the exception of the dog) Since this must be a dog friendly hotel if you have allergies you may want to talk to them about that before you book your room. We did not have any dog odors in our room as I said above it was very clean.

The location is near the end of landerhaven drive right next to an event center (Landerhaven Country Club and Executive Caterers) so a lot of people must stay there that are going to those venues for events. Because it is next to the event center parking can get full in the evenings but I am sure if you needed to you could park in the event center lot.

Breakfast at the Staybridge was very nice with a choice of fruits, oatmeal, eggs, etc. There are a couple of restaurant’s near the property (Champs and Alexander’s) we didn’t go to either of those and drove to Geracies for Pizza, Legacy Village and other places. I was very satisfied with this hotel and would definitely stay at this location again if I have the need for a hotel in that area

Room Tip: ask if anyone in a room next to you has a dog with them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riskman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaybridgeCleve, Owner at Staybridge Suites Cleveland Mayfield Heights Beachwood, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to have you as our guest. It is quite convenient when attending an event at our neighbors next door, Executive Caterers.

It means a lot to the staff that individuals such as yourself take the time to write such honest feedback with positive comments to follow. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope that if you find yourself in our area again you will give us a call.

Warm regards,

Carla Gold, GM and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The hotel is a nicer than average Staybridge. Rooms are spacious, clean, and the entire building seems well-maintained inside and out. The location is easy to reach from the highway.
What makes me intend to return when we need a place in the are the PEOPLE on staff, especially Jonelle ( hope I spelled it right !). The way she accommodated our needs made all the difference for our trip. Outstanding and superlative are the words to use, and she has made us fans of this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperPicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaybridgeCleve, Owner at Staybridge Suites Cleveland Mayfield Heights Beachwood, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
YAY! Thank you for your glowing review of the Staybridge Suites Mayfield Heights! I have shared your kind words with our team, especially Jonelle, - we appreciate such nice comments.

I am so pleased to hear that when you need to return and need a place it will be the Staybridge and for the best reason because of the People! We are happy to have you as our guest!

Warm regards,

The Staybridge Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mayfield Heights
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Cleveland/Lyndhurst/Legacy Village
3.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Cleveland-Beachwood
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland East / Mayfield Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Mayfield Heights Cleveland East
Comfort Inn Mayfield Heights Cle...
#2 of 3 in Mayfield Heights
53 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cleveland-Beachwood
4.0 mi away
Aloft Beachwood
Aloft Beachwood
#3 of 15 in Beachwood
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Cleveland Mayfield Heights Beachwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Cleveland Mayfield Heights Beachwood

Property: Staybridge Suites Cleveland Mayfield Heights Beachwood
Address: 6103 Landerhaven Dr, Mayfield Heights, OH 44124-4189
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Mayfield Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mayfield Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Cleveland Mayfield Heights Beachwood 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION.The hotel is uncharacteristically nestled in a quite neighborhood, located next to Executive Caterers and in Landerbrook Corporate Center. ALL SUITE ACCOMMODATIONS.The hotel features 123 fully equipped studio, one bedroom and two bedroom suites, beautifully appointed with the full kitchens. It’s an all-suite hotel designed to allow guests to feel more comfortable than ever before. Each suite is designed for maximum flexibility and adaptability to meet guests’ individual needs. WARM AND WELCOMING.Complimentary Hot Breakfast Buffet*Monday through Friday 6:30am to 9:30am*Saturday and Sunday 7:30am to 10:30am The Social evening receptions.Complimentary reception hosted by the Staybridge Suites team on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday 5:30pm to 7:30pm HOTEL & BUSINESS SERVICES.24/7 Business Center, Laundry Room and The Pantry Convenience Store RECREATIONAL FACILITIES.Fitness Room open around the clock.Sport Court, Outdoor Swimming Pool and BBQ Pavilion are open daily from 8:00am to 10:00pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Staybridge Suites Cleveland Mayfield Heights Beachwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Cleveland Mayfield Hts Hotel Mayfield Heights
Staybridge Suites Mayfield Heights
Staybridge Suites Cleveland Mayfield Heights Beachwood Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing