We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value clean hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn - Maumee / Toledo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn - Maumee / Toledo to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn - Maumee / Toledo
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   150 Dussel Drive, Maumee, OH 43537 (Formerly Econo Lodge Maumee)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Maumee
Saratoga, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value clean hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We needed a hotel that accepted our 3 small dogs and were a bit put off by the low price of this hotel, but after reading reviews, we decided to give it a shot. We were not let down. The rooms while very dated, were adequate as a place to stay overnight with your pets. We had to pay an extra $20 for the three small dogs on top of the nightly rate of $35 and taxes. The biggest downside was the bed, which we found the mattress to be too hard and uncomfortable for our desires. We were happy to find a microwave oven and small fridge in the room as well as internet service included. The internet was very slow, but at least it was included. Given the low price, we were most pleased with the cleanliness (my wife is quite concerned about this facet when choosing a hotel), the room was very clean. This was a non-smoking room, but some prior occupant had smoked in it, so it still smelled like old cigarrettes from perhaps years ago. There is a large field near by for walking your dogs. The hotel was right off of I-80 which was on our pathway, and thus convenient. The included breakfast was choice of two cereals and milk, plus donuts and english muffins and butter.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WilliamKF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maumeemike, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Maumee / Toledo, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thanks for the encouraging words! We sincerely appreciate that you stay with us, and look forward to serving you again!

mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Checked in about 11:00 PM. Had to wait for about 5 minutes for night manager to come to the desk. He then acted as if I was interrupting his day by wanting to check in. When I got into the room I found that the bathroom door had been removed, the bath room faucet leaked, and the ceiling in the shower was so low that I bumped my head. Wanted to complain the next morning but there was no desk clerk an duty. Only a sign that said to leave your key in the basket to check out. Bad place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maumeemike, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Maumee / Toledo, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay with us. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Rest assured, your comments will be used for review and actions will be taken accordingly to ensure similar incidents could be avoided. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

A great motel to stop in for a night. We were heading to Florida and chose this inexpensive hotel $33/per night from travelcoupons.com

Motel is nothing fancy but it has been updated, clean room, nice parking with good lighting, and the management is courteous. A great place for a night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisneilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maumeemike, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Maumee / Toledo, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words, we always aim to please! We sincerely look forward to serving you again in the future.

mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxhaw, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

First of all, the person at the desk couldn't find our reservation. I don't know if that was the hotel's or Expedia's fault. Thankfully I had the confirmation on my computer. I would have gone to another hotel, but I didn't know if there'd be a way to get our money back.

We asked for a non-smoking room. My first thought when I entered the room was that it smelled like smoke. Later we noticed a sign saying it had been cleaned in some way to make it smell fresh as a non-smoking room. Sorry, but to turn a smoking room into a non-smoking room means replacing carpet, etc.

The room was bearably clean, but obviously no one cleans behind the bathroom door or in any corners. At least the shower itself was clean.

They didn't have rollaway beds.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldWandererPG2US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maumeemike, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Maumee / Toledo, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
The hotel could not find your reservation because it was last mintue reservation through expedia which hadn't reach the hotel. The front desk agent checked the guest into the room and was able to get the information only after she made a call expeida. Since we didn't have all the information for the reservation, we at hotel were not aware which type of rooms was booked, if the guest did recieve a smoking room, the fair thing to do would of been to call the desk and ask for nonsmoking room.
The idea of hotel leaving a sign in the room that said ".Later we noticed a sign saying it had been cleaned in some way to make it smell fresh as a non-smoking room. Sorry, but to turn a smoking room into a non-smoking room means replacing carpet, etc."
That statement sould like it came from left field and can not picture any hotel doing that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, MI
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We only paid $40 for the night so given that price I didn't expect much. The bed was fine which was really all we needed. It was quiet. When we checked in the guy said the key card machine wasn't working so he let us into our room with his key but couldn't give us a key. Huh? Fortunately we were in for the night, but otherwise pretty inconvenient. He told us just to come back to the desk if we needed to get back into the room. Breakfast was coffee and boxed donuts and cereal.

Room Tip: Good location for getting on and off the turnpike
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GeezerMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maumeemike, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Maumee / Toledo, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that your stay was enjoyable, and we do hope to be of service to you again in the future You will be glad the key machine has been fixed we thank you for your patience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Booked this to have a place to swim on a hot week-end. There is no pool there. They have 1 broken down chair. it looks over the dirt where the pool used to be. Able to get a full refund from the 800 company that was running the scam. They said it was not advertised as a pool but guess what it is listed on the hotel features a POOL. Something is wrong here folks . Management gave us a hard time, do yourself a favor and never use this place.
R.Chamberlain

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank buckeyes1677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maumeemike, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Maumee / Toledo, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Hello
I was able to trace your reservation to expedia.com which claims the guest was never told their was pool onsite. The reason we could not issuing a refund at the hotel was the fact the the payment you made was through expedia so the hotel has to go through proper channels to issue a refund.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Me n my family stayed their few days ago. Very nice n clean area very quite. Room was Nicely cleaned n kids enjoy their breakfast. Price was reasonable too.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Smartbabe31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maumeemike, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Maumee / Toledo, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for your recent visit to the Americas Best Value Inn. It was truly a pleasure to serve you.
We hope that your stay was pleasant and that our accommodations and services exceeded your expectations. We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you all the best in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maumee hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#11 of 18 in Maumee
3.5 of 5 stars 119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Toledo - Maumee
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#10 of 18 in Maumee
4.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Toledo/Maumee
1.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Toledo-Maumee
1.6 mi away
Maumee Inn & Suites
Maumee Inn & Suites
#14 of 18 in Maumee
3.0 of 5 stars 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Maumee / Toledo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Maumee / Toledo

Address: 150 Dussel Drive, Maumee, OH 43537 (Formerly Econo Lodge Maumee)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Maumee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Maumee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Maumee / Toledo 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Maumee/Toledo, conveniently located near I-80/90. With its charming decor and comfortable amenities, our hotel provides a warm and welcoming atmosphere to please business and leisure travelers alike. Our hotel is near the Maumee Sports Mall, Maumee Antique Mall, Lucas County Recreational Center, Stranahan Theater, Arrowhead Park, Toledo Zoo, Fifth Third Field (home of the Toledo Mud Hens minor league baseball team), Seagate Convention Center, Bowling Green University, and University of Toledo. Our hotel is also close to many local restaurants and shopping centers. Our attentive 24-hour staff is here to help make our pet friendly Americas Best Value Inn Maumee/Toledo your home away from home. Start your day right with our free continental breakfast served from 7am -10am. Relax in the privacy of your own guest room with amenities including free wireless high-speed Internet access, microwave, mini-fridge, satellite TV, hairdryer, radio, desk with lamp, and free local calls. At Americas Best Value Inn Maumee/Toledo, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Maumee / Toledo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maumee Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Maumee
Americas Best Value Inn - Maumee / Toledo Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#