We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IDK”
Review of Deet's BBQ

Deet's BBQ
Ranked #13 of 106 Restaurants in Maumee
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
waterville,ohio
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“IDK”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

IDK what reall is wrong, it justs seems like the bbq is different than it used to be, maybe its me, the last two times the meat was very tough and chewy. Hopefully you get the problem fixed!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Allie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    30
    6
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cottage Grove, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious and entertaining.”
Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

We were looking for something near our hotel on a stop on a long trip and came across Deet's. Reminded me of a place in Madison, WI (home) where they really seem to do more take out and events than done-in, so it was small, but clean and cozy. On a Monday night there were a couple of guys playing live music. The girl at the counter was great. Very friendly and talkative without being over bearing. Food order was correct and delicious. Even with a few picky eaters, the choice of a few sauces (or none) worked well for us. One "warning".... If you're a wimp like me for spicy things, watch out for the hotter BBQ sauce. It's good, but the heat creeps up on you after a while. :-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kbmac3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Best BBQ I have yet to taste in Toledo”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I moved up to Toledo from Tennessee, and have been making a bbq pilgrimage to find the best q in the area. Most of the places I have gone to are either purveyors of carolina bubbaque crap, or just roast a pork roast, pull it, and drown it in commercial sauce. Deet's is the best so far (albeit I have several others to try). Not really a specific genre of bbq (carolina, memphis, st. louis, etc). Definitely a must do if you are a bbq fan and are in The Glass City.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bobkido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Smoke flavored shoe leather”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Walked in and ordered dinner for our family. Right from the start it felt like the girl at the counter had someplace else to be and when she couldn't get it right, the guy from the back was just as disengaging and snotty. I ordered extra sauce as recommended in the reviews but did not get it. The pork sandwich was, at best, terrible and ribs were so dried out they weren't edible. $30 is way over priced for even good food, let alone the trash that was served at this dump

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomlikesfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Still going strong!”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

This small business is still going strong during tough times in NW Ohio, and it's in no small part due to the hard work of the Deet family. Their BBQ can't be beaten! Their meats' smoky flavor stands alone, and with the optional sweet or spicy (or a combo of those) sauce, it's even more delicious!
They offer a wide variety of side dishes, made on site, and even the applesauce is homemade.
The $8 combo is a great pricey cater events as well.!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank retiredandlovingit07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Deet's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing