We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast, beautiful gardens, handy comfortable rooms”
Review of Kirkwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kirkwood Inn
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Mason
Certificate of Excellence
Fox Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best breakfast, beautiful gardens, handy comfortable rooms”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I recently stayed at the Kirkwood Inn for the second time while visiting my son and new grandson. It is by far the nicest place to stay in Mason. As a senior I could park right next to my door which was very handy. The room was comfortable -- all you could ask for. The breakfast was the best I have ever experienced in all my hotel/motel stays. And the gardens are an experience not to be missed. My son, granddaughter and I all enjoyed walking the garden path and looking at the great variety of flowers. Plus there were many benches, chairs and tables for those of us who need an occastional rest. Just a wonderful place to stay! I will definitely stay there again on my next visit. Plus there is a nice pool for the kids.

Room Tip: Don't miss the breakfast or the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    51
    11
    5
    6
See reviews for
99
95
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashland City, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The Kirkwood Inn was the perfect place for my husband and me (who drove up from the Nashville, TN, area) and our dear friends (for nearly 40 years!) from western Pennsylvania - so we could "meet in the middle" and tour Cincinnati. The first impression I had when I made the reservations and later when I had a question about early checking in, with two different people handling the calls, was that this is a place that is professional and accommodating. I knew that this was going to be a good place to stay just from that impression - and all of us were happy with the clean rooms and the off-the-beaten track nature of the motel. The grounds were inviting with the gazebo and lovely garden path and the historic building where the excellent breakfast buffet was served made the inn seem as much of a B & B as a motel. Unlike most B & B's, there is a pool and the motel is more family-friendly for families with young children, too. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Kirkwood Inn to anyone and would be happy to repeat the experience ourselves!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

How refreshing to come across a family owned and operated motel/inn where nothing was too much trouble or rushed. My room in the motel section was peaceful, clean, and entirely met my needs. I was greeted, by name, at the front desk after having called earlier to check on availability of rooms and in the morning I had a great time chatting with Sandy (owner) and Christina (marketing). An amazing selection of items was provided for breakfast, catering for just about anyone - I am vegetarian. The setting for breakfast in the historic house was stunning and what a novel idea they have for dining with shared tables drawing guests into conversation, rather than isolation. Thank you for a wonderful night.

Room Tip: Explain your needs and they will be provided for as best as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Feral1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann, Missouri
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

It is certainly off the beaten path, but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay! We arrived late in the evening and left early in the morning, so our "motel" type guest room was adequate for our needs. The nice young man that checked us in gave us rooms on the first floor, right next to each other, which was perfect for us.

As we walked to the colonial house where breakfast was served, it was lightly snowing and the sun was just coming up! Beautiful scene! Once inside, the breakfast cook had prepared a lovely breakfast, with a lot of variety! The Cherry Bread Pudding was awesome! Loved the atmosphere! We commented that it was like a Thomas Kincade scene!

Try it out for yourself! The breakfast will make your stay worthwhile!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissouriLakeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookville, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2013

For those who never got to experience the little motels along well worn highways like Route 66, Route 50, or National Rd 40 that were family owned and operated, Kirkwood is a real treat. You get that personal, detailed attention and with frequent visits you could be like one of the family. When you talk to Sandy, you find that it is a labor of love, and that is hard to find these days. She'll tell you how she and her family combined the totally renovated motel with the use of an old inn that has been restored to a colonial look for a leisurely breakfast, special meeting or event. It's easy to get off the world for a while and imagine bygone days while savoring hot oatmeal with stewed apples and tea or biscuits and gravy. We had the couples package called An Organic Escape which included a gift certificate for an evening meal at Wildflower Cafe, a local food spot which features local, organic, fresh meals that made for a wonderful experience for Valentine's Day. It wasn't far from Lebanon, where we browsed at antique shops the next day, had yummy grilled cheese sandwiches and ice cream at a eatery seen on the movie "Harper Valley PTA" A really good time, and we will probably be back.

Room Tip: Our room was on the side facing the inn. Get that isolated feeling there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Friendly and charming-Breakfast is served dining room style with common tables. Great alternative for business travel. Across the street from the Houston, one of the best family restaurants in Ohio( Great Prime Rib).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AFAFX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, KY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We have been staying at the Kirkwood Inn in Mason Ohio for years. It is a little off the beaten path so not everyone knows about it. The hotel is homey, comfortable, very clean, well maintained, and affordable. The staff is amazing - they are knowledgeable, extremely pleasant, kind and willing to help make your stay the best possible. The complimentary breakfast is homemade, extensive and elegant. We always look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2557361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mason hotels
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati-Mason
5.9 mi away
Best Western Mason Inn
5.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cincinnati Mason
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Cincinnati-Northeast
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites - Kings Island
5.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cincinnati/Mason
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkwood Inn

Property: Kirkwood Inn
Address: 4027 S US Route 42, PO Box 644, Mason, OH 45036-7208
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Warren County > Mason
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mason
#2 Business Hotel in Mason
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kirkwood Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located only 2 1/2 miles from Kings Island between thriving Mason and historic Lebanon, Ohio, Kirkwood Inn offers modern amenities and attraction packages for guests seeking comfort and value. Business travelers enjoy free high-speed Wi-Fi, cable TV, refrigerators, on-site laundry access, paved running paths at the nearby Mason Sports Park, and a complimentary, full, hot breakfast buffet served in the on-site Historic Kirkwood House (c. 1799). Families experience unprecedented historical surroundings while walking through lavender-lined brick walkways, vibrant perennial gardens, and a wooded nature trail. Kings Island's breathtaking fireworks may be seen while swimming in the spacious outdoor pool. Clean and comfortable double rooms are perfect for families while luxurious Jacuzzi-fireplace suites offer a romantic retreat for couples. With packages available for LaComedia dinner theater, Kings Island, Cincinnati Zoo, Valley Vineyards, Wildflower Cafe, and more, Kirkwood Inn offers a getaway that feels like home. Amenities: Full Hot Breakfast Buffet Complimentary Wi-Fi on flatscreen TV Cable Television In-room Refrigerators Bath & Body Works Stress Relief Bath Amenities Attraction Packages Spacious Outdoor Pool Meeting Room Access to Outdoor Patio and Fireplace Guest Laundry Access Gardens and Trail Keurig Coffee Makers in rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Kirkwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirkwood Inn Mason, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing