We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden jem.. worth every penny”
Review of Kirkwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kirkwood Inn
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Mason
Certificate of Excellence
chicago
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Hidden jem.. worth every penny”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Spent 1 night with family after day at King's island on our way to west virginia... Clean, great value, awesome staff, delicious breakfast... Definately highly recommend! The rooms are pretty basic but clean and they even have a nice small pool that is open till 11pm.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marko1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    52
    11
    5
    6
See reviews for
100
97
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

Not only do you get clean rooms, nice pool, great location & a sweet breakfast - you will find the most friendly personnel that are eager to make your stay an enjoyable one. This inn is a star in my book!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberschwab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed here based on the reviews I read. It is a nice Hotel with a friendly staff. The room was clean and the pool was nice. The Breakfast was nice, just not your typical Breakfast I guess you could say. I would stay here again if we go back to Kings Island.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Located about five to ten minutes from Kings Island, the Kirkwood Inn offers much more than a typical motel. The rooms are clean, well-maintained and the air conditioners powerful. Beds were comfortable and the rooms have refrigerators, plus there's a microwave for use down by the ice machine. The service was personable and professional.

The modern-day Inn is situated next to a historic farmhouse -- built in 1799 -- that served as an inn for travelers between Cincinnati and Columbus. That original Kirkwood Inn, now restored, is where the Kirkwood offers a fantastic breakfast buffet each morning. Dining in this little piece of Ohio history is as tasty as the homemade peach butter that tops the english muffins. Adding to the experience are beautiful grounds, rich with flowers and pathways through the woods for guests to enjoy.

We didn't have a chance to use the pool, but it appeared as nicely maintained as the hotel.

I'll be back to the Kirkwood. Much more than a motel, it felt like a mini-resort.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side of the building are closest to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Easy, friendly check-in and check-out. Rooms are clean and include a refrigerator. Beautiful gardens to sit and enjoy the hot complimentary breakfast, read or just take in the scenery. Conveniently located on 42, near Kngs Island and many options within a 5 mile radius to shop or dine. My daughter and I stayed at the Kirkwood for 4 days for a dance competition - it was a pleasant stay. We enjoyed the outdoor pool and breakfast each morning. A real key to open our door was nice for a change and a separate area for sink and large vanity was useful to us with getting ready for competition. Microwave is located in a common area along with ice machine and vending machine - we loved that these items were available for us at this quaint motel. We plan on staying at the Inn again on our next trip down to the area!

Room Tip: The rooms are average but very clean. The Kirkwood is very well cared for and has an old charm that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shine25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

After a long day at Kings Island, we were ready for a relaxing evening. We drove up to the Kirkwood Inn, and got out of our cars with smiles on our faces. What a delightful experience, as we soaked in the beautiful decor, the fantastic amenities, and the friendly people we encountered. Breakfast was incredible, and being able to enjoy it in that beautiful old home made it even more amazing. We took a walk thru the gardens, seeing the flowers, gazebo, benches, and so many pretty photo-ready spots. I thought of my friends & family that would love to experience this hotel. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tatosmom1097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

I have mixed feelings about this hotel. Great breakfast, super fast check-in and out, super clean with no issues of bed bugs:) I was disappointed that our shower would not drain properly, funny smell when you first entered room, the mattress coils would squeak and the air conditioner was so loud!! The next time we are in Cincinnati I will probably find a different hotel to stay at.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Lfingers11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mason hotels
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati-Mason
5.9 mi away
Best Western Mason Inn
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites - Kings Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cincinnati Mason
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Cincinnati - Kings Island
5.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cincinnati/Mason
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkwood Inn

Property: Kirkwood Inn
Address: 4027 S US Route 42, PO Box 644, Mason, OH 45036-7208
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Warren County > Mason
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mason
#2 Business Hotel in Mason
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Kirkwood Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located only 2 1/2 miles from Kings Island between thriving Mason and historic Lebanon, Ohio, Kirkwood Inn offers modern amenities and attraction packages for guests seeking comfort and value. Business travelers enjoy free high-speed Wi-Fi, cable TV, refrigerators, on-site laundry access, paved running paths at the nearby Mason Sports Park, and a complimentary, full, hot breakfast buffet served in the on-site Historic Kirkwood House (c. 1799). Families experience unprecedented historical surroundings while walking through lavender-lined brick walkways, vibrant perennial gardens, and a wooded nature trail. Kings Island's breathtaking fireworks may be seen while swimming in the spacious outdoor pool. Clean and comfortable double rooms are perfect for families while luxurious Jacuzzi-fireplace suites offer a romantic retreat for couples. With packages available for LaComedia dinner theater, Kings Island, Cincinnati Zoo, Valley Vineyards, Wildflower Cafe, and more, Kirkwood Inn offers a getaway that feels like home. Amenities: Full Hot Breakfast Buffet Complimentary Wi-Fi on flatscreen TV Cable Television In-room Refrigerators Bath & Body Works Stress Relief Bath Amenities Attraction Packages Spacious Outdoor Pool Meeting Room Access to Outdoor Patio and Fireplace Guest Laundry Access Gardens and Trail Keurig Coffee Makers in rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Kirkwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirkwood Inn Mason, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing