We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Agree with the other reviews: excellent food.”

Sura Korean Cuisine
Ranked #42 of 157 Restaurants in Mason
Cuisines: Korean
Restaurant details
Manchester UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Agree with the other reviews: excellent food.”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

In town to watch the tennis and checked out Trip Advisor for a good restaurant. What a great little restaurant and appeared to be full of Koreans which is always a good sign. Excellent food, with dishes I had never heard of before and large portions. Attentive and informative service and the restaurant appears to be family run. Tofu starter and the Stone Bowl Bibimbap were delicious. Stone bowl is a sizzling dish if you like those. On the drive to our hotel I think we passed every major US restaurant chain so it was great to find an authentic restaurant such as this. Great choice and thank you Trip Advisor.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Loluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    14
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glenville, West Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Dining Experience”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

An excellent place to visit if you wish to expand your cultural palate. The Kimchi is excellent...nothing at all like the dreadful prepackaged foolishness you can purchase at the grocery store. Fresh ingredients expertly combined make this an choice for a meal. The service, for a single server, was also excellent.

Don't be afraid to ask questions when looking at the menu. If you are not familiar with Korean food, it can be a bit intimidating. Having said that, the server will give you great advice to guide you in your choice for a dish.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TheProfessorDReed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“An excellent informal Korean restaurant”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Sura Korean Cuisine is an excellent Korean restaurant. I've been here only for lunch, but every lunch meal - about half a dozen, I'd say, over a year or so - has been excellent.

We lived in Korea during the mid-1990s and have had a lot of experience with Korean food in Seoul and in the US. Sura's kitchen produces excellent, delicious, authentic Korean meals.

The rice dishes, such as Bibimbap, are a hearty lunch - it's a special treat to order it served in a piping hot stone bowl. In the summer, the Mul Naengmyon (ice cold noodle soup) is satisfying and refreshing.

Meals come with 5 banchan, or small side dishes - mainly pickled vegetables of various kinds, and of course Kimchi. The side dishes vary from time to time.

The service is quiet, attentive, and gracious. You get a lovely welcome here. It's a pleasure to drive up to Mason for lunch at Sura.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cincinnati-Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Surprised and delighted”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

I'm in Mason for business and consulted Trip Advisor for a good place to eat. When Outback Steakhouse and Chick-fil-A come up as #5 and #6 respectfully, out of 133, I get skeptical. I scrolled down to #10, Sura Korean Cuisine, and decided to check it out. Yes, it's in a strip mall. And yes, there was only one other party eating there, but the staff is gracious, courteous and my meal absolutely delicious. (Try the Bibimbob in the stone bowl.) I would put Sura up against any Korean restaurant in cities many times the size of Mason, and it would still shine. Looks like I've got a new "go to" in Mason. Sorry Chick-fil-A.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a surprise!”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

So I have to start by saying I grew up in Cincinnati in the 50's and 60's. At that time, it was not known for it's quality cuisine (Skyline Chili is still it's best known restaurant). I have traveled back here on business many times, and was convinced that not much had changed in 50 years. Tonight I was absolutely floored to find, not just a Korean restaurant, but a wonderful one tucked away in a strip mall on Mason-Montgomery Rd. As a vegetarian, I rarely find a restaurant that "hits it over the fence" but I have to say that Sura did just that. The Bibimbop was delicious, and the leading small plates were exceptional as well. The service was attentive and friendly - and it's obvious that the place has been found by the Korean population in Cincinnati. This quality of restaurant needs to be shouted out - so here is my shout "GO!"

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Onewag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sura Korean Cuisine also viewed

West Chester, Butler County
Mason, Warren County
 
Mason, Warren County
 

Been to Sura Korean Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing