We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Healthy choices at last!”

The Wildflower Cafe
Ranked #3 of 156 Restaurants in Mason
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The owner/chef Todd Hudson uses locally grown ingredients to create fresh and very delicious dishes. He has won several awards. It is in a beautiful old home and they serve locally roasted coffee and locally bottled wines. It is a wonderful place.
Coatesville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Healthy choices at last!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Were afraid we would be subject to mediocre food at Tennis Tournament or chain restaurants until we discovered Wildflower. Called Saturday morning for reservation that night and Jenna was able to fit us in. Ate upstairs which was quite cozy and comfortable. Service was friendly, knowledgeable. Liked that they had organic wines reasonably priced. Everything prepared fresh, presented well and was outstanding. Wish they were closer to PA but will be back next year!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Happy415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    36
    16
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
92 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Charming Lovely organic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We have been to this lovely little place several times and fall more in love with it every single time!~ We like that the owners try to buy local and keep it as natural and organic as possible even picking fresh herbs from the garden right there at the cafe!! We are not big in to the organic movement because we feel you lose some taste, but that is NOT the case at this place...all nartuaral and all delicous!! try the butternut squash ravioli if it is in season because it is unique and so yummy!~ Also the burger on a pretzel bun is AWESOME and the beef is bought right from a local farmer!! The price is a little higher but as the chef and owner explained, he charges a little more to offer a whole lot more flavor and quality...worth every single penny!~ The atmospher is very bohemian and you have to walk through the kitchen to get to some of the tables...you really feel like you are part of the family when you eat there!~ Try it...it will be added to your favorite places I assure you!~

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Quirky, but quaint :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

I grew up in Mason before I moved to Virginia Beach, where we're having a serious local, organic food pandemic (in a good way!). I wanted to help ease my parents into the mindset, so I googled and came across this gem, right in Mason's downtown!
This is a relatively casual, small restaurant, and reservations are definitely recommended. When we called to make dinner reservations, they had "2 seatings," so be sure to call ahead! I was excited to see some local microbrews, including some delicious (if slightly pricey) looking Belgians, and some local wine blends as well.

For dinner, we tried a few things. As an appetizer, the Truffled Mushroom Fonduta was fantastic, and even my mom (who doesn't like mushrooms) helped to scrape the last bit off the plate. The country breads were freshly baked and good, nothing over the top.

For entrees, one of us got the pick 2, with a mouthwatering gourmet grilled cheese, soup of the day, and sautéed veggies (good, but VERY SALTY!). The daily pasta was a tasty mozzarella dish, very good. The wild-caught salmon was amazing, and the beef dish came on skewers, and while good, seemed a little bit dry and over-cooked (it was also the only one left, so one of us had to pick something else).

Overall, a great restaurant with a friendly atmosphere, and hopefully the beginning of Cincinnati's local slow food movement!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vabeachgrl_02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illiopolis, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unique Dining Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

I went to The Wildflower Cafe with a group of women for lunch. We all had a variety of dishes and everyone was excited by the presentation as well as the flavors. From salad to dessert to wine, this little restaurant has it all. One of a kind dishes that make your mouth water. The decor is very homey and comfortable. I had the Rasta Pork Belly and it was a unique flavor of bbq, sweet, but not too sweet, tangy but not too tangy. With the fresh vegetables of squash, onion, and sweet potato, it was delicious. He makes a wonderful bread pudding with blueberries. I have never had it that way and it was very good as well. If you want something a little different, very fresh and very tasty, then this is the place to go!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tammym58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
142 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Locavore's delight!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is a very small cafe and coffee house that specializes in local food and adult beverages. Mason is a northern Cincinnati suburb these days, very convenient to Kings Island and the Western Southern Tennis Open. The food is delicious, fresh, and served in a friendly atmosphere. It is small, so call ahead!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wildflower Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Wildflower Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing