We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and neat but a few little little problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cincinnati Marriott Northeast
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Mason
Certificate of Excellence
Pickerington, OH
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Clean and neat but a few little little problems”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Nice, clean hotel with friendly staff. Stayed here for business and enjoyed it for the most part. However, the creamer was bad in the in-room coffee and since you only get one pack of coffee, it was ruined. The first morning, the free breakfast buffet only had a few muffins and a little bit of fruit. I went next door and had an excellent breakfast at their restaurant but it did cost me $20. However, the next morning, the free breakfast was fully stocked with a wide variety of food. The heating/cooling unit in the room was noisy, I ended up keeping the fan on all night so it would not wake me up when it kicked on. Pillows were not very good on the bed. Shampoos and soaps were just institutional from Sysco, not very good. Excellent dinner at the hotel restaurant. I was there for a meeting and the conference room was either 60 degrees or 85 degrees. The temperature varied every half hour.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatePhilippsen-AGM, General Manager at Cincinnati Marriott Northeast, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
JSScott

Thank you for the nice comment about our staff and restaurant breakfast! Our staff prides themselves on providing the best possible service and product. I am sorry to hear about the issues you had with your HVAC and temperature variation in your meeting room. We appreciate all feedback and use it to continually improve our service and product. I look forward to having your stay again at our hotel and if there is anything I can do personally please dont hesitate to reach out. Thank you again and Safe Travels.

Nate Philippsen
Assistant General Manager
Cincinnati Marriott Northeast
nate.philippsen@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    124
    48
    10
    0
See reviews for
87
41
8
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hilliard, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

For what this hotel lack in "newness" it is made up by the excellent staff that really focuses on customer service. We arrived very late at night on a Friday and the staff at the front desk were just as pleasant and helpful as if they just arrived. We were checked in very quickly, given good directions to our room and the on-the-spot requested rollaway bed was in our room waiting for us.

The front desk team got us connected with a local pizza place for a few late-night pies for our group. The lobby area is well appointed with varied seating areas, a reasonable quantity of power outlets, and staff willing to change television stations on the big and small screens. As a bonus, there is also food and drink service in the lobby.

Pool is pretty standard hotel size, and the workout area has a good variety of machines and other equipment. I also noted that the pool has a lift for guests in wheel-chairs.

Beds were comfortable, but a bit on the small side (they were doubles). Room seating chairs were comfortable, more than enough closet space, and the bathroom was decent sized. Engineering staff really went the extra mile helping us set up a gaming system in our room. He had to perform some severe remote control gymnastics and provide a custom cable!

All in all, a great stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room number below #011 as they are far enough from the elevators and not a lot of foot tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Walking in this feels like a typical Marriott property that is showing it's age. The staff completely transform the feel once inside the hotel and lounge and are genuinely friendly and helpful. Convenient location to local business and freeway and rather average Marriott but the staff made it a really good experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cb_SEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatePhilippsen-AGM, General Manager at Cincinnati Marriott Northeast, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
cb_SEA
I am glad to hear you had a great experience at our hotel and our team was able to make you feel welcomed and at home. Our team prides themselves on providing the best service and genuinely caring about our guests. Your comments on the physical property do not go unnoticed either! We will be undergoing a complete bathroom renovation this year, which we are all very excited about. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to having you stay again! Safe Travels.

Nate Philippsen
Assistant General Manager
Cincinnati Marriott Northeast
nate.philippsen@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, CA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

This hotel is advertised on their website as a luxury property, which it is not. It's more like a larger version of a Courtyard by Marriott, and kind of a dated version at that.

The wifi in my room was glitchy and hard to get to work with my computer's VPN because of the sign-on screen. This in itself is enough to make me opt to stay elsewhere in the future. I suggest they just abandon paid Wifi and allow their users to have a simpler, better experience.

My room was not cleaned on the first day, and a co-worker said she had the same experience. I called down and got a voucher for a free drink in the lobby Starbucks with a note of apology.

I wish the rooms had refrigerators. I had leftovers from a restaurant and would have loved to be able not to waste them.

The beds were comfortable and the rooms appear clean, though, as I said, fairly dated. I cranked the heater up to 75, but the room still seemed cool. The windows don't open, so if you like to sleep with a night breeze, this isn't the place for you. The shower pipes were noisy and squealing.

There's a nice office chair and desk for work, with at least 4 plugs, which is a nice feature.

The staff was very nice and helpful in all cases.

The hotel is located a few blocks from the highway near a busy suburban street. It is adjacent to an Applebee's and Burger King, with a Staples office supply across the parking lot, which is handy for business travelers. There are more restaurants across the street, but no sidewalks, so you risk your life if you try to walk over there.

The lobby smells rather strongly of chlorine, thanks to a large fountain. There are ample places to sit and work in the lobby (with a power supply) or to have a short meeting. The restaurant and bar are nice, but the food is typical overpriced hotel fare, nothing to shout about.

There is a Starbucks affiliate in the lobby, which opens at 6 am.

There are indoor and outdoor pools and a nice fitness center.

Green Features: No recycling bins provided. Each paper coffee cup is individually wrapped in plastic and the coffee is those plastic disposable trays wrapped in plastic. Creamers are individual plastic containers. Not impressed with this at all.
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobette23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatePhilippsen-AGM, General Manager at Cincinnati Marriott Northeast, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Bobette23

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your experience while staying with us. I sincerely apologize for the wifi trouble you had while staying with us and I am disappointed that we did not provide you a better overall experience. Our guest's feedback is taken very seriously and because of them, we will be undergoing a complete bathroom renovation this year. We strive for a very high level service at our hotel and I apologize we missed the mark with your experience. Safe travels.

Nate Philippsen
Assistant General Manager
Cincinnati Marriott Northeast
nate.philippsen@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

The staff here is second to none. I was stuck there on Easter, and they invited me to their staff dinner. They always were friendly with me and helped whenever they could, accepting packages and giving me info about the area (Mason is beautiful)

The rooms are up to date and clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reemusk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We recently stayed for four nights at the Cincinnati Marriot Northeast in Mason, OH, and were pleased with the lodging facilities as well as the helpful nature of the staff. Because we were hosting a small family gathering in our room, I expressed my disappointment over not having a room refrigerator to the staff member behind the desk. She replied that a mini-refrigerator could be brought, free of charge, to our room. And it was. Although the website doesn't push the fact, the hotel's fitness center is nice and spacious. We didn't try the indoor pool, but it appears to be above-average as well.

Room Tip: It's a big hotel, and the elevators are a considerable distance from the front desk. Be sure to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Har
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights to attend wedding in area.
Found staff both helpful and welcoming ,particularly - when problems phoning England-
extremely helpful,.as well as polite.
room was clean and good size, although a little high!!
Compared to the UK - very good value for price charged.
Plenty of restaurants of all standards close by.(but pick carefully!!)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BILL L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mason hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati-Mason
0.1 mi away
Best Western Mason Inn
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cincinnati Mason
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cincinnati/Mason
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Cincinnati-Northeast
5.0 mi away
Comfort Suites - Kings Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cincinnati Marriott Northeast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cincinnati Marriott Northeast

Property: Cincinnati Marriott Northeast
Address: 9664 S Mason Montgomery Rd, Mason, OH 45040-9397
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Warren County > Mason
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mason
#4 Business Hotel in Mason
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cincinnati Marriott Northeast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the suburb of Mason, Ohio and minutes from offices, attractions, shopping and more, the Cincinnati Marriott Northeast is an ideal destination for every traveler. Guests enjoy our family-friendly hotel, offering spacious rooms with all the comforts of home, an outdoor pool and casual American cuisine at RiverCity Grille & Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cincinnati Marriott Northeast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cincinnati Marriott Northeast Hotel Mason
Marriott Mason
Marriott Hotel Mason
Mason Marriott
Cincinnati Marriott Northeast Mason, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing