We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 star price, 2 star stay”
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Mason
Saint Albans, West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“4 star price, 2 star stay”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

The kids had a blast! The check in process took an hour. Found multiple food items in floor from previous guests. Pull out sleeper had dirty sheets, wrappers and straws. Electrical outlets next to bed didn't work. After an accident in the water park they had to shut down to clean, which I appreciate, kids all around were coughing so hard they could hardly get their breath. The chemicals used in the clean up forced us out of the water park and had to give the kids breathing treatments, both days we were there. The loft fire place suite had plenty of space. The kids enjoyed magi quest. Way too expensive for the quality of stay.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 37rn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWL_Management, Guest Relations Manager at Great Wolf Lodge, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for visiting Great Wolf Lodge – Mason! I am glad your children enjoyed their stay and how much room the Loft Fireplace Suite had to offer.

I apologize for how you found your suite when you arrived, especially because it fails to meet with the standards we hold for our Housekeeping team.

If price is a concern, I would recommend when making your next reservation to inquire about all of the suite styles we offer. The Loft Fireplace Suite is a premium suite, but you might enjoy one of our themed suites, such as a Wolf Den or Kid Cabin Suite.

We hope your family will stay with us again soon!

Jason
Great Wolf Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,317
    902
    537
    243
    171
See reviews for
2,814
34
3
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Our first GWL experience was over Christmas vacation. My mother treated us to an overnight stay verses buying gifts that the kids don’t need. I would have some suggestions that I would like to see. More hooks in bathroom over tub to hang wet suits. A smaller dryer in the room would be a wonderful addition! There are many update that need to be made, nothing more that wear and tear to a room that is overrun with children all the time. We did eat at the buffet at night and I was shocked at the food choices and the price $18 for an adult and $5 for a kid, I think that is a great value, we had 3 adults and 3 kids. 2 of the kids are great eaters and enjoyed the crab legs and ribs. We watched them cook most of the meat fresh, the ribs were the only thing I saw them take out of a warmer which we all know that there are regular restaurants that don’t do that. We did eat at the grill in the water park the next day, we kind of split some things because my mom and one of the kids don’t eat much. We had 3 cheeseburgers, 2 corndogs and a couple of fries for around $30. The kids loved it and were glad we were not going to have to stop at a fast food place on the way home. I even had a couple of bites of the burger which was all is cooked to order as well! On to my water park review: love it, one of our kids was being kind of crabby and did not want to take full advantage of doing everything. 1 child liked the wave pool and really did not care about anything else. The 3rd child wanted to do EVERYTHING even said the other kids were boring. As for the big kids (my husband and I) we went back at night without the kids and enjoyed the slides! The only negative thing I can really say is that the Magic Quest thing could really be updated half the time the kids did not get their "coins."

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 30somethingmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Upon checking into the room I found dried cool aid on one of the tables, on the other table was dried pizza sauce and on most of the furniture was dried white stuff ! The shower head was broken ! I have stayed in Low rated motels that were much cleaner for the price I paid I expected much cleaner I called the front desk to tell them about the mess and they sent someone to clean it up but they only cleaned up one of the tables and left the other stuff dirty it is obvious there housekeeping dept is horrible. Upon exploring the resort I found trash all over the place my final opinion is this place was a dump that I would never come back to.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timls3674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWL_Management, Guest Relations Manager at Great Wolf Lodge, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for staying at Great Wolf Lodge – Mason and for providing us with your detailed feedback! We are always looking for ways to improve and enhance the guest experience. I will share your concerns with our team in Mason and they will follow up with our Housekeeping staff on possible opportunities for improvement.

Thank you for choosing Great Wolf.

Jason
Great Wolf Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Our recent stay at the Mason, OH resort was less than satisfying. The waterpark was awesome and fun. Although the resort promises "Hibernation Hours" from 11-7, guests can be found playing sports in the halls long after those hours. Don't plan on sleeping if you go! For the $400 + we paid, I expected much better customer service. Also, everything there is additional money, including magi quest and mini golf - only the waterpark is included. I do not plan on returning to any of these resorts! For the money, there are much cooler choices!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWL_Management, Guest Relations Manager at Great Wolf Lodge, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for staying at Great Wolf Lodge – Mason! I am glad your family took advantage of all our waterpark has to offer.

We do have posted Hibernation Hours from 11pm to 7am, and if you find anyone not in compliance with this, please reach out to Guest Services so we can work to rectify the situation. It is important for our guests to feel at home while they stay with us and a sound night’s sleep plays a key part.

If you want to include additional activities, such as MagiQuest and mini golf, then you would want to look into adding one of our bundled add-on packages. The Paw or Wolf Pass would offer the most extra activities at a discounted price.

I hope you will stay with us again soon!

Jason
Great Wolf Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincy
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Check in was smooth. I like the RFID wristbands so you don't have to worry about a room key/credit card.
Room was large and it's nice they have a fridge/microwave in each room. Cleanliness is questionable. There was a pop bottle cap under a side table and a washcloth hanging from the clothesline in the shower.
We tried the pizza near the pool, the buffet, and the sit down restaurant. Service at all three was incredibly slow.
Pool area was big and we went on a Thursday night/Friday morning and didn't have an issue with crowds. It was nice that they provided a variety of life jackets.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWL_Management, Guest Relations Manager at Great Wolf Lodge, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for visiting Great Wolf Lodge – Mason and for sharing your feedback! We greatly appreciate it and I will share it with our team in Mason for them to review.

I hope you will return to stay with us again soon!

Jason
Great Wolf Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford City, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

This was our second visit to GWL-Mason and once again we were very pleased with our stay. ROOM: Our 5-year old daughter LOVES having her own bunk bed and TV in the Wolf Den Suite. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. I appreciated the number of outlets in the room as well. We typically bring a noise machine, night light, laptop, two cell phone chargers, etc. and we always have plenty of places to plug them in. I would have appreciated maybe one or two additional hooks in the room for hanging damp/wet suits and towels.

FOOD: The food at the breakfast/dinner buffets (Loose Moose) was decent. For the price, we always came away full so I can't complain about that. :) I want to give special mention to Richard, our waiter both times. He was probably the best server I've ever had at any restaurant. He was kind and attentive and so friendly with my daughter. He even brought us full to-go coffee cups without us asking for them. GWL, do not lose Richard! He is an absolute GEM! :)

ACTIVITIES: We got a Pup Pass this time around, but I'm honestly still undecided about whether that was actually a good value or not. We probably won't do that again next time. (How many wolf stuffed animals does one child require??) :)

The arcade was fun, and my daughter enjoyed the glow-in-the-dark mini-golf, which was never crowded. I was a little disappointed in Cub Club...it had its own room last year with more activities...this time it was in the middle of a noisy busy area off the lobby and with less things to make/paint, etc. The 8 PM story time was still fun for my daughter, but I felt the animatronics show could use some work (one of the critters didn't come up as he should and the trees are showing some wear and tear).

WATERPARK: Fantastic, as always! The activities/slides were great. The lifeguards were very nice and attentive. We actually witnessed a "Timmy Test" in the wave pool while we were there. It was interesting to watch and I was pleased that the lifeguards were really on their game. Everything was very clean, except for one area of Fort Mackenzie that overlooked the pool chairs....when you looked down, there were several towels that had clearly been sitting there, wet, for so long that they were actually looking rusty. That part hadn't been cleaned in a LONG time.

CHECK-IN/OUT: We made our reservations online, but discovered that you can't apply gift cards toward online reservations. I would like to request this option please, as it would have made the already frustrating hour-long check in process at the desk much smoother. If you get there in the afternoon on a Sunday, expect the line to be out the door to check-in. UGH. Check-out was much better, and everything on our bill was correct and our gift card applied properly.

Other than the frustrations with check-in, my other "complaints" should be taken more like suggestions, as we really LOVE GWL and definitely plan to be back. The place takes great care of its guests, particularly the smaller ones, which is so appreciated. My 5 -year old is already asking to go back...which is, I suppose, the best compliment you can get!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerbear737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

WOW! My husband and myself were very impressed with the lodge and waterpark! We have never stayed at a Great Wolf Lodge before. Our child is not quite two yet but still had a ball. First, the room was spacious and clean. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was a bigger size than your normal hotel room. We had the balcony but there was really no view. That is okay.. you can't have it all. It was pretty loud even at 10 o'clock at night and when you are trying to get your toddler asleep no bueno. The staff was very friendly throughout. We thought the food was good. We ate at the grill for dinner and had the buffet for breakfast. Last but definitely not least was the waterpark! It was a perk with it not being too crowded. We lucked out for sure. The staff was friendly. Several lifeguards kept asking if you are enjoying yourself, so that was nice! There was a lot to do for kids of all ages AND adults. The adult slides were excellent!! We love waterparks and this one is high up on our list! I will say the price for the room is rather high even though it does include the waterpark! Overall...great experience and hope to be back!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mason hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites - Kings Island
4.6 mi away
Best Western Mason Inn
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati-Mason
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Cincinnati - Kings Island
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Mason
Super 8 Mason
#16 of 18 in Mason
984 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mason
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Property: Great Wolf Lodge
Address: 2501 Great Wolf Dr, Mason, OH 45040-8085
Location: United States > Ohio > Warren County > Mason
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Mason
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 401
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Mason
Great Wolf Resort
Great Wolf Lodge Mason, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing