We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't except any sleep...”
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Mason
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't except any sleep...”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed here one night the end of July. Unfortunately there was a teenage cheedleader convention going on. They gave us a room right in the middle of them. The ones above us stomped around until 1am. The ones on our floor ran up and down our hall screaming until 2 am. I had to yell at them to quiet down. No parents or guardians to be found... The lodge is starting to show its age. Worn carpet, our room had torn wallpaper. The waterpark and arcade were fun.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjbenmil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,189
    837
    508
    224
    154
See reviews for
2,567
30
3
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canal Winchester, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This was our third visit, however it had been several years since our last visit. My husband and I were visiting with our 9 year old son and 8 year old nephew. We had booked a Wolf Den suite, and it was on the lower level, right across from the glow golf. When we booked our room, we added on the $100 food credit for $75 (so our food was automatically discounted!) and also added the birthday bash for my son. This included a birthday poster on the door, a birthday cake and balloons in the room, a $40 fun credit for the arcade, magicquest, etc., and a $40 dining credit. The rooms were just as we remembered, though they have updated the mattresses and televisions. The room was very clean when we got there. We arrived around 2pm, and our room was ready so they let us check in early. We got settled into our room and went straight to the waterpark. One of the first things I noticed was the lifeguards. They were the best trained and most diligent of any lifeguards I have ever encountered. The level of safety was top-notch. The waterpark itself was very clean, but could use some maintenance. Some of the water sprayers and toys in the playground area were no longer working. Not a huge deal, but something they should be staying on top of. Everything else in the waterpark was in great shape, including the water slides and wave pool. The boys had a blast! For dinner both evenings we had pizza from the pizza shop on the lower level. It was reasonably priced, and very good. Our first morning, we ate at the buffet. The kids' meals were only $4.99, which was reasonable, but the adult price was $12.99. The food was pretty good, but not wonderful, and not worth that price. Our second morning we opted for the breakfast sandwiches in the pizza shop, which were delicious and less than $5.00 each. They also had great coffee! For lunch on our second day, we ate at the snack bar in the waterpark. The food was pretty good, the prices a little high, but the portions were large. We didn't try out the bar and grill on this stay. We also spent a lot of time, and money, in the arcade. They have upgraded and expanded the arcade, and the boys had a great time playing games and winning tickets to cash in. I like the debit card system they are using now instead of tokens. Much easier to manage. The glow golf looked really cool, but we ran out of time and did not get to play it. The only gripe about the room is that the air conditioner vents are not adjustable, so they blew directly on our bed all night long. Every employee we encountered during our stay was helpful and friendly. Overall, we had a great time, no problems with the room or the facilities, and the boys were completely worn out. Hope to return next year!

Room Tip: The lower level (first floor) rooms are definitely the most convenient. The water park, spa, arcade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherron98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hocking Hills, Ohio
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This resort is right next to King's Island just north on Cincinnati. The rooms are about what you'd expect from a family oriented place like this. The hallways are dated and in need of carpet replacement (I don't think any amount of cleaning can get those stain up). The staff was very friendly and there are lots of them roaming around.
The waterpark is nice. Smaller than Kalahari in Sandusky. They have no flowrider but there are the other usual rides. This park is definitely geared towards younger kids.
WE did eat breakfast here at the buffet. AS with all hotel/resorts, it was overpriced but palatable. I thought $2.49 for a cup of coffee was over the top.
All-in-all it was a nice overnight getaway but we were ready to leave and wouldn't need more than one day here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RWW2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
160 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Second time here, this time the kids and grandkids. Stayed on night in one of their 2 BR suites - plenty of room for six. The water park is fun for all ages. Our grandkids are 4 & 6 and had a wonderful time. Clean, safe and well-run. Dinner in the family restaurant was better than I expected - bruschetta appetizer one of the best I've ever had. Very easy to spend extra... you can charge everything to your wristband - and they charge for almost everything extra. Although check-in is not till 4 PM, you can get water park entry @ 1 PM, and you can stay all day the next day (though room check-out is 11 AM).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USMA74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We have been going to this location for several years and the property has definitely gone done in quality. I heard they are under new management and it shows. The 1st room we were given (we booked the kid cabin suite) smelled horribly of the food the previous guests had fried/burnt in the microwave and the room was still dirty with crumbs on the floor and several areas of visible juice spills on the carpet. It didnt even look like housekeeping had vacuumed. The front desk was very nice and did move us to another room which was much better. However, the furniture overall has taken a beating and needs updated, particularly the worn out couch in the room. The suite was spacious with plenty of room for a family of 5 to spread out. Housekeeping definitely need some improvement. When the housekeeper knocked on our door one morning, I told her we would be leaving in 2 min so she could come in and clean. Her response?? "Well, do you need anything?" I was like "what do you mean? Yes, I need our room cleaned and new towels." She said: "well, I can give you towels!!" It was ike she didnt even want to come in and clean the room! After I asked that she clean the room, all she did was take out the trash and put towels in the bathroom. No vacuuming, nothing. Definitely bad service. The other thing is the floors and walls are paper thin and we could not sleep at all the last night because of the unruly people above us who stomped, ran around the room, and shouted until 2 am. It was so loud the light fixture in the kid area of our suite was vibrating and shaking so bad I thought it was going to fall. The front desk took my complaint, but that didnt stop these rude people. The waterpark itself is great fun, however, it was very dirty. All the pools and both hot tubs need drained and cleaned out. My 6 year old even said that he didn't want to sit down in the pool because of the slime he saw! Not sure if we will return which is sad because this has been one of our favorite places to go over the years.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sachgarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbellsburg, Indiana
Level Contributor
69 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

nice rooms staff was very helpful and friendly, over all good stay food some what over priced and not very good I would recommend going out for eats a lot of great restaurants close to lodge.
you can walk from the lodge to Kings Island if going there, the lodge has great water slides and water park plenty to do in the lodge mini bowling, black light golf, big nice arcade kids loved it, water park, pools, kids spa, gift shops, and all the usual hotel items.
Had a problem with air late night crew came up fixed it in minutes very helpful. allot of people staying at the lodge but did not seem crowded will go back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I was surprised how much my 2 and 4 year old could do inside the water park. My 4 year old was allowed on all of the water slides as long as we rode with him. Lots of fun stuff to keep them busy in there!
We felt like everything else besides the water park was just ok. The food was overpriced, rooms needed updated, nightly storytime was nothing exciting, magi quest was WAY overpriced. $380 for one night was a lot of money to walk away not feeling like the total experience was fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacation1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mason hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites - Kings Island
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati-Mason
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Cincinnati - Kings Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Best Western Mason Inn
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mason
4.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cincinnati/Mason
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Property: Great Wolf Lodge
Address: 2501 Great Wolf Dr, Mason, OH 45040-8085
Location: United States > Ohio > Warren County > Mason
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Mason
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 401
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Reservation Counter, Priceline, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Mason
Great Wolf Resort
Great Wolf Lodge Mason, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing