We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice family water park resort.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Mason
Athens, Alabama
Level Contributor
393 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 920 helpful votes
“Nice family water park resort.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had stayed at other Great Wolf properties so we knew what to expect. We had a Majestic Bear Suite which was spacious, well appointed and clean (except for a bit of mold starting to grow around the rim of the bath tub). The water park amenities are great for an indoor park with plenty to do for every age. We especially like the adults only hot tub area. In general the water park complex is clean and well maintained though the restrooms could use a little more attention and maybe a good bleaching of the floor as one of the men's restrooms smelled a bit (little boys often miss their target). We decided to stay here as a alternative to King's Island on a rainy day. Prices for food and drinks are typical of amusement park prices so don't expect any bargains. For lunch we ordered a whole pizza from Hungry As A Wolf just outside of the water park entry and it was hot, fresh cooked, decently topped reasonably tasty. For supper we dined at Camp Critter Bar and Grille where service was good, food was average and prices were high as expected for the convenience. Our room had a refrigerator and microwave which allowed us to have our own milk and do breakfast in the room and save $18 plus per person by not going to the breakfast buffet. Our overall experience was good we would definitely be willing to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coastermeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,005
    745
    457
    205
    141
See reviews for
2,231
29
3
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, OH
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Waterpark - Dirty! (Hey Great Wolf, do some power washing - grimey black mold in grout, eww! also on ALL of the indoor pool bottoms, craziness!) Bathrooms were plentiful in the waterpark area, but, again, WHY can the floors not be cleaned with a power washer and painted? Secondly, everybody's paying a premium to stay here, you would think they could upgrade the dingy little rough complimentary towels in the waterpark! $10 to rent a locker, really? Do take your own snacks - food quality, service and quantity do not live up to the price.

Tip: if it is nice outside, get stationed out there; the pool and outside deck were clean, fun and kinda peaceful actually!

Your kids will not notice that the place is filthy and they will LOVE the water park; great slides. For little ones ... the water is cold. (I agree with most others .. it's really too chilly).

Rooms: Fine.
Balconies: crappy, literally! Unacceptable Great Wolf. Again, power-wash the bird crap off of my $300/nt balcony and off of the balcony furniture. Staff: The lifeguards do look miserable; the guy in the Magic Quest store is a total jerk; the front desk was fine, the maids were fine.

Overall the ambiance was super cute. Just for the record, I am not a hard to please picky person; the place needs a scrubbin'! And for the base price and all the add-ons.... you'd think they could deliver!

We had a good time, but felt a little ripped off as far as the value, but were it sparkling clean, could kinda understand the prices.

Room Tip: Special request that your balcony and balcony furniture be bird poop free before you are told your r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Kentucky
Level Contributor
83 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We enjoyed our stay just prior to new years eve. It's expensive for a hotel room, but you have to remember that it's more than a hotel room. You're paying for the water park. The water park was good, if not a bit crowded at times. The thing I hated was the nightly story time. It's animatronic creatures doing the SAME thing every single night. Considering people stay multiple nights, there could be some variety added here. We only ate breakfast on property and went out other times. Food was good, but overpriced.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

What a great trip for the kids. They ran the lobby with wands unlocking magic at every corner. We had a free breakfast due to some complications with check in and am glad it was free because it was not worth what they charge. The pizza is also horrible. I actually would not eat anything there again. The arcade is pricey and so is the wand thing, if you can avoid the extras and just do the water park it is great! The concern however is the inner tubes in the wave pool. That is so tough because as the waves are going tubes were running over my child because the people in the tubes could not control them. That part is so stressful as you are trying to enjoy applet keep your kids heads above water.

Room Tip: We have been twice and stayed in the theme rooms and both were completely cute.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Kentucky, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We checked in on May 31st and stayed one night. Our youngest son slept on the pull-out sofa bed and woke up with what appears to be bug bights all along the his side that he slept on. Nobody else in the room experienced any bites, but we all slept in the beds. This was room 3006, and I did send an e-mail to the lodge to let them know they should check the sofa. The only other problem we encountered was a lot of noise late at night from what sounded like someone running around late at night. Other than that, everything else seemed clean and we enjoyed the water park.

Room Tip: I would check the beds and sofa for any signs of bed bugs before sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We went with our children as a birthday celebration for our oldest. This was our third trip to this Great Wolf, and it is the first time I've left somewhat unsatisfied.

We were upgraded for a moderate fee to the loft suite, which was fantastic in its layout. It felt rather warm in the room when we arrived, but I adjusted the thermostat and we went about our day - waterpark, MagicQuest, etc. When we arrived back in the room at 10pm, I realized that it was still quite hot - 81*. So we called the front desk and they said someone would come check. It was fixed at 11:30pm, and we finally got all the kids to sleep. When we woke up the next morning, it was 78* in the room - the fix didn't hold. It was certainly not a comfortable night's sleep. The desk staff were not particularly sympathetic when I informed them of this the next morning. For a $450 room, we should be able to sleep comfortably.

The room was mostly clean, although I did find an old food wrapper behind a tv stand when hunting for the remote, which we never found. There was one remote in our room, but 3 tv's. And the remote didn't operate well, so watching tv was not even easy.

These are issues we've never had before in our stays at Great Wolf. And aside from the room issues, we had a good time. The waterpark was fun, clean, and not too crowded. I do agree that the water is quite chilly, but my kids don't care so I don't really let that bother me. The lifeguards are generally friendly - a few seemed miserable - and they are all very attentive. Food is expensive there, but we knew that and were prepared with our own breakfasts and snacks. The pizza place isn't too pricey, but the drinks sure are!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

First the good: this resort is a great place to take the kids, it is safe and inviting. The park attractions are many, varied and fun for the kids. The lifeguards are very attentive. The towels provided in the park were good and plentiful. The suites were very nice and the grizzly suite was a good fit for 2 families of four. The food was good as well and was inexpensive, but don't expect anything fancy, hot dogs, hamburgers and pizza mostly. The Arcade was an expensive but very big hit with the kids, lots of games and stuff to play with. My one year old loved wandering in the gift shop.

now the not so good: Resort staff service was not all that great, the housekeeping staff was not very aggressive and in our 2 nights there we did not receive housekeeping service so our trash was overflowing, and our room was in need of a freshening up after that first night. We called to order pizza and it took me some time to get someone in the pizzeria to pick up the phone to take the order.

All and All this is a good resort, I am assuming that it is early in the season so they are still breaking in some new staff. The Buffet was good.

It was a good place to take my family and not really have to leave or worry about anything for a couple of days.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mason hotels
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mason Inn
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati-Mason
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites - Kings Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Cincinnati - Kings Island
4.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cincinnati/Mason
4.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cincinnati Mason
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Property: Great Wolf Lodge
Address: 2501 Great Wolf Dr, Mason, OH 45040-8085
Location: United States > Ohio > Warren County > Mason
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Mason
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 401
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Mason
Great Wolf Resort
Great Wolf Lodge Mason, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing