We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great one night stay”
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Mason
Panama City, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
1,293 reviews
227 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 538 helpful votes
“Great one night stay”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Luckily this is close to our house so just a single night stay was perfect. We used the waterpark for about 4 hours the first night and then 4-5 more hours after checking out the next day. They have shower and changing facilities (plus lockers if needed) so you have a place to change after checking out. We thought this location had more to offer and was in better shape than the Kansas City location. Our room was huge and it was just one of the regular double queen bed rooms. We will definitely return. You can eat in the hotel or the rooms have refrigerators and microwaves if you want to bring things too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rather_Nomadic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,261
    873
    523
    237
    162
See reviews for
2,703
33
3
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Columbus
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Try to avoid weekends during the winter. The lines at the waterpark were crazy, 45 mins for a slide ride. Great for little kids, good for adults too. You can convieneintly pay for adult beverages with your wristband.

They do seem to nickel and dime you with extras when you get there.Rooms seemed clean, no bed bugs were found after a thorough visual inspection.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeBone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield Twp Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Great food. Drinks included in buffet price. Great swimming fun. Rooms were clean. Bathrooms seemed small. Weekend was very busy. Go on a weekday if possible. Towels provided aren't soft! Berth used too many times.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candeeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zionsville, Indiana, United States
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

We got a themed room (Wolf Den) and it was great. The kids (6 & 3) had their own space and tv. The ladder for the top bunk was a little hard to use, so I wouldn't recommend for a kid younger than 5 or 6. The room had a nice refrigerator and microwave with decent counter space and a deep sink. The housekeeping service is good and they even tucked in my kids' stuffed animals. :)

The water park is great for younger kids, but I don't know that pretense would have as much to do. On a holiday weekend, it is busy. The lines for the big slides were long and sometimes it was hard to even find a tube. We spent most of our time in the wave pool, which is zero entry so great for toddlers.

The other activities are nice, but will generally be added costs. The art projects in the Cub Club are cute, but do them early in your visit so the paint has time to dry. The arcade is decent and you are forced to see it every time you go to the water park, so if you don't want to spend the $ for it, prepare your kids for it. The MagiQuest seemed a little dumb to me, but my oldest loved it. You basically get a good workout running up and down stairs to find things so you can ultimately fight the dragon or something. It was cute, but costs another $35 with a wand purchase.

As others have said, the staff is focused on customer service. The free balloon animals in the lobby are awesome and story time at night is really cute. My kids just loved that stuff. If you go at Christmas time, photos with Santa and Mrs Clause are free as well and it will "snow" in the lobby after story time.

We have stayed here 3 times and we will be back. It is just a great place for a long weekend to relax and have fun with your kids.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Allison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pataskala, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My sister and I took my 7 year old niece on a "girls' getaway" just before Christmas and had an amazing time! We splurged and stayed in the Wolfe Den Suite which had a private area with 2 kid-sized (over 4.5 feet tall and you won't be comfy in one) bunk beds and a separate TV for the kids. My niece was in seventh heaven! Her daddy, who was worried about her falling out of the bunk, was not. Luckily GW has nice high side rails AND an additional rail that you can request for added safety. That made everyone happy!

We were in room 1061, on the ground floor and it was PERFECT! This is a big, big hotel complex. Our room ended up being 5 steps from the Cub Club, 10 yards from both the Scoops Kids' Spa (we took our own "spa kit" and saved a bundle of $$) and the Arcade, and 25 yards from the Water park entrance and Bear Paw Eats and Sweets. Up one flight put us in the beautifully decorated (as a Winter Wonderland for Christmas) Grand Lobby with it's clock tower show. Sadly, acoustics in the large, open area are not great when coupled with 100+ excited bodies and pre-recorded music so the clock tower show was kind of a wash, however the indoor snowing (soap suds) was pretty awesome. Of course Santa came to visit but people were lining up to get pics with him almost 2 hours before his arrival so we opted to skip the free (and nicely done, we saw several on the counter when we went to check out) photo op. We did snitch some of the watery hot cocoa and dry free cookies though!

The room itself was comfortably spacious with one queen bed and a separate couch area as well as a table and (only 2 in a family suite?) chairs. The sofa would have folded out into a bed, but seemed more cushy (albeit a bit short) when left intact. The couch was worn, but as the second bed in the suite it gets some use. My sister is a bit of a fanatic (you can probably still smell the can of Lysol she doused the room with when we arrived) about cleanliness and GW met her very high standards. No worries about bed bugs either--we had to completely tear all the beds and the sofa apart before she dared let us sit on them to check for bugs and their "debris." I am happy to report-NO BUGS! One unexpected and wonderful room feature was the retractable clothesline over the tub to allow wet suits to dry overnight! The other boon was a fridge and microwave in the room so we could bring drinks and snacks and save $$ on the food bill. Several people had mentioned noise in their reviews but even with our choice central location noise was not an issue for us. Most things close down by 11pm and "Hibernation hours" seemed to be well enforced.

The dining options at GW are very kid-friendly while still offering some grown-up palate fare, but they are pricey. With our packed drinks and snacks and a Chipotle (and several other restaurants) 2 blocks away we did fine! Be aware that outside foods, drinks, and containers (like water cups) are NOT allowed in the water park. That means you have to traipse back to your room for a slug of water or risk germs on the well hidden drinking fountains or pay $3 for a 16.9 oz bottle for water.

When we checked in (we were unable to get the online check-in system to work for us) the process took a while (~15 minutes) but I was easily able to entertain my niece by exploring the lobby while sis checked us in. GW also has nice shopping cart type buggies to help you roll all of your luggage (as if anyone traveling with children packs light) to your room. We took advantage of getting a Paw Pass when we booked our room. If you are going to be there at least 2 nights/3 days, I recommend you do too! Just staying a single night we were rushed to be able to cash in on all the amenities of the pass...but we felt decadent in trying! We did have a wonderful time running around using the MagiQuest game and wand and, like other reviewers, we highly recommend it. Several strangers stopped to help us or to ask for tips so there was a sense of camaraderie in the play, not to mention no guilt over skipping your cardio workout since you will definitely be taking the stairs! Be aware that you do not have to buy a special wand topper, the wand comes with a basic one. You can save buying the extra topper for a future visit. Also, our wand did stop working twice during the game. The first time the person in the shop "fixed" it. The second time we insisted on a new wand. They were very customer-oriented and courteous and changed all of our saved play to the new baton without a fuss.

The water park area was clean and the water in all areas looked very clear and sanitary, all without having the burning chlorine smell that is common in indoor pool areas. I was comforted that the lifeguards were plentiful and very alert/active in their scanning. They also did a great job of balancing enforcing the rules with just letting kids have fun. It is a good thing you spent all that time on the stairs with MagiQuest because you need some serious endurance (OK, I'm a Midwest couch potato, your average 3x a week exerciser would be fine, but those of you who, like me, only recognize the term cardio because you saw it on a late night infomercial may find yourselves huffing and puffing and pretending to "admire the scenery" as a excuse to stop on landings) as you climb stairs to the water slides. Once you get to the top though, the rides are all FANTASTIC! Plus, the "lazy river" moves at a decent pace, and kids are allowed to swim in it with the current so most kids won't mind alternating the climb with some float time.

Unlike other water parks I have visited, GW only lets hotel guests use the water park facility. That helps keep crowds down. We also found that the water park is busiest right after the new day's guests check in (~1-4 pm) so earmarking later evening time ~6-9pm and earlier morning time ~9-11 am as swim time meant shorter lines for rides and more available loungers and tables at poolside.

A note about size: If you carry an extra spare tire or if you are on the small side, or if you are taking smaller children DO make use of the GW website to check for height and weight restrictions on all the rides before going to avoid disappointment or embarrassment at the last moment. One lifeguard who correctly guessed our raft was loaded near the top limit of the weight range politely and discreetly asked if I had read all the safety rules prior to boarding. I assured her that I was aware of the weight range and she happily sent us on our way. Also, for those larger guests--never fear. This is a family venue. You will not be surrounded by throngs of teens in teeny tiny bikinis who push all your body image buttons. I saw all shapes and sizes of people in modest suits having a good time and not focusing on flaunting their assets.

A budget tip: Don't waste time scouring the web for good deals/coupon code to these properties. GW very tightly controls their promos and, despite some savvy searching, we were never able to find a deal even a little better than those on the property's own website.

Room Tip: 1061 is near everything!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank virtvacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This was our first stay at Great Wolf Lodge and my boys loved it. The only complaint we had is the noise. We stayed on the 3rd floor and heard jumping and running until about 1:30am. So our next stay we will request the 4th floor.
The water park was good the water was a little cold but the kids didn't seem to mind. We only stayed 1 night this stay and probably could have stayed for 2 there are so many things for the kids to do we didn't have enough time. All in all this was a great stay and we will be back for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for the 4th floor to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed for three nights in February, 2013. Overall we were pleased and will probably return. Although there were a few issues, we still had a great time.

We stayed in the Grizzly Bear Suite, the largest room type in the resort. It was nice having two separate bedrooms (with doors) for naps and at bedtime while the rest of the family was awake. The room also had a fireplace which we used more than anticipated just because it was cozy and added nice ambiance. As for the room itself, I'd say it's time for a renovation. Although clean, there were signs that things were getting worn out: tattered carpet at the thresholds and various spots throughout the suite, drapes that were falling off the tracks, uncomfortable living room furniture that looked dingy, and beds that were very uncomfortable. In fact, we found one bed so uncomfortable that we flipped it over to investigate and found that the wood frame of the foundation (box spring) was broken. To the resort's credit, when we called about it they took care of the issue immediately (along with a broken coffee pot) however when we were checking out and found another bed in the suite that also had a broken foundation it further emphasized to us that things are getting worn out.

There are plenty of food options and although some may consider them expensive we found most items reasonable. For example, a comprehensive buffet with great variety was $13.95 for adults and $7.95 for children. Children three and under were free. The dinner buffet was equally as nice and included two types of steaks, crab legs and shrimp. It was $17.95 for adults and just like the breakfast it was all you can eat. There's also a bar and grill poolside that had cheeseburger meals (served with drinks and fries) for $7.99 and draft beer for $4.75. There were a few more dining and snack options that we didn't have time to check out but the menus looked good. The nice thing about the resort is that your wrist bracelet functions as your room key, admission to the water park, and charge card for any purchases you want to make. Mom and Dad had the purchasing privileges in our group, however you can set it up for whomever you wish. This was very convenient as we left our wallets and purses back in the room safe.

The water park itself was a lot of fun and had something for everyone. This was the main attraction and the reason you pay more for a room at the Great Wolf Lodge. Our favorite rides were the lazy river and the water coaster. When we arrived on the Wednesday, the park felt about half full with plenty of room to spread out. By the time Friday and Saturday came along, it was wall-to-wall people and nearly impossible to find a chair or table to set our things down. Perhaps this was due to the President's birthday Holiday but we found it to be too crowded not only in the water park but all the common areas.

Finally, we must acknowledge the staff. Not once did we encounter an employee who wasn't friendly and they all seemed to have the goal of making our visit as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. We were really impressed.

We will probably visit again and look forward to it.

Room Tip: If you have a large family, the Grizzly Bear Suite is the biggest room type and is about double the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fdwt994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mason hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites - Kings Island
4.6 mi away
Best Western Mason Inn
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati-Mason
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mason
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Cincinnati - Kings Island
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Mason
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Property: Great Wolf Lodge
Address: 2501 Great Wolf Dr, Mason, OH 45040-8085
Location: United States > Ohio > Warren County > Mason
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Mason
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 401
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Mason
Great Wolf Resort
Great Wolf Lodge Mason, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing