We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great trip in spite of bed bug fear”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Mason
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great trip in spite of bed bug fear”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We purchased a groupon for this hotel as a fun way to break up the winter boredom. As our trip approached I saw an increasing number of complaints about bed bugs. Nothing worries me more about traveling than bed bugs!

I spoke to people who had encountered them and gained as much preventative knowledge as possible. Upon check-in I told the clerk that I was nervous about the issue. She was very kind and took time to talk to me about the issue. She acknowledged there had been problems, she told me what they've been doing to solve it, and then she told me how to check for them. She said to put our bags in the tub while we searched the room and to call the desk immediately if we found anything suspicious.

I was prepared to search. I have a family member in pest control and know where and how to look. I had a flashlight. I tore the beds apart, looked in every nook and cranny of the headboards and other furniture. I didn't see a sign of them before, during or after our stay. Success! We were in room 4098.

Moving on to our experience otherwise....

The resort is huge and the decor is fun. Kids EVERYwhere, running, laughing, shouting. They were in heaven. The hotel has done some nice things to make the stay easier. For example you have a wrist band that is your pass to the water park. It also acts as your room key and your credit card. Reminded me of the ease of cruise travel. Love it. Especially with a little one, it was nice to have less to keep track of every time you leave the room.

The water park was lots of fun for our 2 year old. There were designated "younger" areas that he just loved to be in, and he wasn't overwhelmed by bigger or rough-playing kids. On the other hand, there were no restrictions about where he could go. So when he got brave enough, it was fun to climb the stairs and walk around all the catwalks with the water cannons and sprinklers. I had no idea he would enjoy it this much. I can't wait to take him back.

The only complaint I have is the size of the locker room. More changing areas (and larger ones) are needed ASAP. It was really challenging to change myself and a toddler in a 3x3 stall with a plastic curtain and no hooks to hang bags/clothing on.

We ate dinner at the bar & grill. The food was average. The service was excellent. We had breakfast in the big buffet the next morning. That was my favorite. Lots of options and again VERY friendly staff.

We'll be back for sure. Fingers crossed that the bed bug issue is a thing of the past. The clerk did say the hotel was closed for a "cleaning" period. Hopefully they took care of it for good.

Room Tip: The loft rooms offer separate space but not necessarily privacy. The noise carries between the level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HDasgupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,081
    783
    478
    212
    147
See reviews for
2,371
29
3
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Continues to be one of our favorite quick family getaway spots. Arrived and there was a pretty good line to check in. The line moved pretty quick. The front desk person was very friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and just what we expected. The entire staff at GWL was friendly. We had a great time in the water park area.

Room Tip: This trip we were on the 4th floor to the left. Seemed to be quiet. Didn't hear much noise at a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jguynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Its great, especially if you have kids.

The water park is what is the major pull here. It can be a little overly chlorinated, so take breaks. There is plenty for kids and adults alike. There are tons of slides, most of which you can have multiple people ride, which is great if your kids want you with them, and vice versa. There's a huge kiddy pool area with sprinklers and what not for the smaller tots.

The lazy river is the best part. You can grab an intertube just about anywhere around it and hop in. From some of the slides you can even go right into it and float around.

There are tons of activities going on. A Magicquest for kids, storytime before bed for the wee ones, and an arcade in the basement. And the bakery, has the best breakfast around! If you go in the winter, they also make it snow in the lobby!

The check in process can be a little long sometimes, and as i said, the pool area is way over chlorinated. They also have cabanas to rent but they're expensive.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iagomega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Not at all worth the amount per night. Water park wasn't at all what we expected for the price. Only a few slides and small pools. Bedtime story thing however was very nice. Personally won't ever go again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mclaugh56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

This is nice themed hotel and WaterPark and was a fun getaway. The girl who checked us in was extremely nice and informative about how to get around and hours of operation etc. Check in was easy. We rented a cabana, and while the amenities were nice with it, the location behind the dining area did not make it feel special. I recommend they find a few areas in the park not so difficult to get to, as winding through guests in the dining area was no fun, the private space was nice though. The water coaster and slides were fun for my two teens, and they loved the arcade, which is one of the best ive seen, many new and modern games! We ate at Camp Critter for dinner, the food was good, the service a little slow, it seemed like the servers here were all quite young.. And not experienced with the menu or how to properly provide good service. Our room.. Was huge! We stayed in a loft suite, well appointed with the theme and had all the essentials except we were missing a coffee cup which we didn't realize until it was time to drink it. The mattress are due for replacement, it sunk in the middle on our bed. We had a nice fireplace which was great for the cold day. The TVs are also due for replacement, pretty standard now to see flat screens...they worked ok but the visual isn't as good. Breakfast at the moose lodge .. Worst service found here, slow, we were sat and had to take turns to go up to the line as the server took too long to arrive at our table, and then we were nearly finished eating before she returned with the drinks. Food was fine, but they need to theme the buffet line like the rest of the property, it looked too industrial.

Overall... Great for the kids... It's not cheap but nothing worthwhile ever is.. I would return without hesitation..

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onlymyopinion88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed at Great Wolf Lodge Cincinnati/Mason, OH for our youngest son's 7th birthday. Our boys loved the "Wolf Den" suite and we had a wonderful time in the water park. The first night the park was not very crowed but the next day it was overwhelming how many people were there. Then there was a mishap in the children's pool and it had to be closed. We did not have a coupon or any discounts because we stayed over a weekend. It was quite expensive but when you account for the water park and room features it kind of made up the price. There was no continental breakfast so we had to eat at one of the many restaurants housed in the hotel. Again, a little on the high side but the food was good. The room had a microwave, mini-refridgerator and a coffee pot. The staff was really helpful and overall it was a wonderul time and our 7 year old will remember this birthday for years to come.

Room Tip: This was a large facility and our room was quite a walk to the water park and lobby area, where most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelobaxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
152 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

We were here last Tuesday night and we had a great time. We had a Groupon so we had 6 water park passes and one of their two story rooms for $200.00. Regular rates seemed to be considerably higher and while we had fun, I would recommend paying the regular rate.

Pros: Great water park for all ages, provided you have enough adults to watch the different ages of kids you brings. The older kids had fun on the large slides (as did the adults) and the young toddlers (2-3) really liked their areas as well. The rooms are large and comfy. Appears to be well soundproofed b/c we didn't hear anyone else during our stay. We had a problem with the heat in our room and maintenance was in our room within 10 minutes handling the matter, very prompt and professional attention. The lifeguards are GREAT--as a former lifeguard I can honestly say they know what they are doing and that take their jobs seriously.

Cons: Pricey. The food, the drinks, and the standard rooms prices are a bit much.

Tips: Don't buy their pizza. There is a pizza hut about a mile a way, get there's, it's a lot cheaper. If you live in the Indiana area and your kids are under the age of say 10 I would recommend the water park at French Lick, Indiana instead. Prices are cheaper and it's probably closer. Less slides but since most kids under 10 can't really ride the big rides, it's not that big of a loss.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmulvihi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mason hotels
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati-Mason
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites - Kings Island
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mason Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Cincinnati - Kings Island
4.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cincinnati Mason
4.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cincinnati/Mason
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Property: Great Wolf Lodge
Address: 2501 Great Wolf Dr, Mason, OH 45040-8085
Location: United States > Ohio > Warren County > Mason
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Mason
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 401
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Mason
Great Wolf Resort
Great Wolf Lodge Mason, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing