We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEWARE Bed Bugs”
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Mason
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This winter is the third year my family has travelled to this location. The past two trips we have had wonderful times and I would give those 5 star reviews.

However this year we discovered bed bugs in our room the morning we were leaving. An inspector verified the room was infected, and the manager refunded our room fee and gave tips for preventing the spread to our home. With a family of 5, this 'prevention' is a lot of extra work, items will need to be replaced and that's still no guaruntee that we won't get them at home...

Very disappointed that this happened.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank MomandTravelfromOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWL_Management, General Manager at Great Wolf Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

I am sorry to hear about the issues you had during your latest stay. We do have a strong bed bug prevention program and we consult regularly with a leading pest control service to ensure we are staying current with the latest prevention methods. On the rare occasion that there is a report or incident, we take immediate action bringing in professionals from our pest control service to investigate all reports. I'm glad we were able to refund your room fee. If you have further questions, please reach out to us at the lodge.

Sincerely,

Terrie Zajo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,225)
There are newer reviews for Great Wolf Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,761 - 2,767 of 3,225 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013

We spent two nights here (12/28, 12/29 2012) as a Christmas present for our boys (9,9,6) and statyed in the 'Kid Cabin'. Overall we had a great experience. Grandparents purchased the Paw Pass for them and we actually had to 'cram' some things in, lots to do. The older boys truly enjoyed MagiQuest. My only complaint is that one of the wands was not working correctly and the attendants in the shop seemed unenthused to help. They tried 'resetting' it several times, told us to unscrew the top, press the reset button ... all to no avail. After numerous trips to the shop, an incredibly upset 6 year old and a beyond annoyed father they replaced the wand. That should have happened during the 2nd trip to the shop with complaints. In my opinion, this needs to be addressed in some way so it doesn't happen to others. My suggestion, if you are having issues with your wand, press for a replacment sooner rather than later. This is definitely a theme park place; don't expect 5 star food or pristine surroundings. That said, as a one-tank-getaway it was fabulous, the kids loved EVERYTHING about it and this trip was truly 'about the kids'.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This place is pricey per night, but the rooms are nice. The problem is that there's almost TOO much to do. You're tempted to just rent a night or two, but then you get there and see how much you're missing by not staying longer and you realize that the full experience is cost prohibitive for most people. We enjoyed the jacuzzi suite which is nice, but the tub is REALLY loud and dims the lights when you turn the jets on. Our 4-year-old loved the water park and we had fun doing MagiQuest (which is expensive!) as a family. There is an arcade and a salon and a little crafts club. Lots to do for kids and the kids in the 10-12 range in the hotel seemed to be getting the most out of it.

The restaurants are reasonable, the breakfast at the buffet is incredible and the food is fresh, and the facilities are very well kept. If there's a real problem with this hotel, it's the unbelievable noise in the hotel portion. We were with a 9-month-old and a 4-year-old and that afternoon nap is crucial for happy kids. While they were napping, it sounded like there was construction going on upstairs. That's how bad the stomping, running and jumping noises were. I know footsteps are loud, but I've lived in apartments with small children upstairs and didn't have this kind of noise. It went on until late into the evening, at least until the posted "hibernation" hours. I would request a higher floor, if possible, next time.

We had a really good time and wish it had been possible to stay longer. Also, we figured out too late that the Paw Pass is worth it if you just travel with a couple of kids. Makes a thorough experience for the kids and won't certainly won't miss out of anything. We had a fantastic time but those prices will make this a very once in a while trip for us.

Room Tip: Asking for a higher floor. The rooms on the lower floors suffer from loud upstairs footsteps. Also...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Just returned from an overnight here with three kids (9, 6, and 4). Although we were sad to leave and look forward to returning, overnight was long enough to do everything. If you want a 'Disney-type' escape close to home and just overnight, this is a good pick. It's small enough to be manageable and most of the slides are fairly gentle. I don't think any of the pools are more than a couple feet deep, and there are life jackets for kids that don't swim well yet.
Overall, I was pleasantly surprised, and we had a great time, but this is definitely a splurge. We've been to other waterparks, some world-class and others just plain gross (all outdoor though), and this was up there with the best of them. You'll still encounter 'body art' and less than considerate other guests, but I think the price of admission helps with that. Pricey but overall more good than bad.

The Good:
-Waterpark is lots of fun, even for small kids. Watch out for the current in the lazy river though. Sometimes it's more like a mosh pit.
-Has a real resort feel. It's very family friendly, and most people are 30- 50 w/ school-aged children.
-Staff members are excellent. Our 4 year-old got sick, and a young woman named Cat came to our room at midnight and re-did all the bedclothes and helped gather up all the soiled towels and sheets. I think most places would have just left some fresh sheets outside the door. I wouldn't want to be in a room where someone else's kid just got sick.
-You're allowed to use the water park prior to check-in and after check-out. Locker rooms are provided (although at a cost: $10).
-There are activities besides the waterpark (crafts, storytime, etc.) Expect to pay for some of those, too.
-Location. There are lots of restaurants within just a couple minutes drive, so you're not stuck eating there.
-Safety. Waterpark attendants and lifeguards are everywhere. Maintenance was in clear view at the end of the day checking everything.
-Cleanliness. No Bandaids or tufts of hair lying about.
-It doesn't feel like you're jam-packed in with lots of other guests. In fact, other than Saturday afternoon, it didn't even seem crowded.
-Beds are VERY comfortable (Simmons Beautyrest w/ pillowtop).

The Bad:
-Price. We wanted to go over New Year's, but it would have cost nearly $500 for the cheapest room. As-is, we paid nearly $400 for an overnight in the cheapest room, so it is FAR from a good deal. If you look at the calendar, you'll notice they jack up the price $100/ night on the weekends and any other day a working mom or dad would have off (MLK Day, President's Day, etc.) Restaurants are similar. Expect to pay $8 for a kid's meal that is comparable to any theme park food. They have two restaurants, one offering an $18/ adult buffet, the other I didn't check out, but my wife said was overpriced. I think lots of people bring coolers or just go to one of the restaurants up the street. Seems like lots of nickel-and-dime opportunities for other things if you don't keep your kids in-check (Build-a-Bear, kids spa, ice cream shop, arcade, etc.)
-Noise. I can't imagine going here if you don't have kids. Expect to hear running up and down the halls and squealing, laughing until the late hours.

Room Tip: Request to be away from the lobby.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cbarnett808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We go to a Great Wolf Lodge every 2 years. We LOVE the indoor water park- the life guards are great, the pools and slides are great. The kids are safe to have some freedom and the water temp is good. It's a lot of fun! This was our first time to the one in Mason, Ohio and the fees and taxes added $50 a night. Ouch! Sleeping on the 1st (or lower floor) was awful- you listen to running, jumping, loud kids until 11pm when it is, thank God, hibernation time. Too late for us after a full day of playing in the water park. The day we were leaving, our daughter woke up at 3:30am vomiting, and our son started about 5:30am. When my husband mentioned it at the spa, they said that it was going around the lodge. GREAT. The spa was very nice and the on site Starbucks was a plus. Not sure if we will return or not....

Room Tip: Sleep on the top floor, they are much quieter
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brenna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Friday night and Saturday stay, we had a great time! If you have kids and haven't been there, what are you waiting for? It's a combo hotel and water park indoors, with an outdoor water portion also. We've never stayed there during the summer (always get passes to Kings Island which is next door), so can't comment there. It's a destination vacation (and was intended to be for families with kids), so you can easily soak up 2 days playing. Everything from the water park to Magic Quest, to the arcade, spa (even for kids) and the Cubs Club (kids activity room), You might even fill 3 days (2 night stay since the water park passes are good day you arrive and day you leave). It's not cheap, but if you figure in 2 days of water park admission and the hotel it's fair.
The guards are attentive, the common areas clean. Some have complained about the towels being left lying around- the staff keeps these picked up but they can't be everywhere and unfortunately, there are many inconsiderate people in the world today. I had no problems with the water park, the hotel, or the facility- We had a blast.
We visited in December, so we got to see the indoor snow and show- pretty neat. Once.
Rooms were clean, beds slept well, and had a great time. Only drag was checkout at 11AM, and staying the rest of the day at the waterpark--- but the car is pretty close, so just move bags to car.

TIPS- try to stay on a non-Fri or Sat night. If you have you choose, pick Fri over Sat.
-No room is too far, but if privacy/less noise is desired (there are always kids running up and down the hall), chose an end of hall room.
-If the kids are Magic Questing, show them the stairs at the end of each hall to use instead of the elevator.
-If you want to do everything, check out the Paws Pass. If you will do almost or all of the things, it's a great value.
-the buffet (Loose Moose restaurant) you can get when you book is a good deal-- it s a buffet ran by local culinary students that is pretty tasty. For $10 a head, it is almost as cheap as a trip to McDonalds, and you don't even have to leave the lodge.
-check out the nightly story time. If you haven't seen it once, do so. If you've seen it once, that's enough.
- grab a table in the waterpark early if it's busy.... it can get jammed and with people laying towels on the chairs, it can be very hard to tell which tables are in active use.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Everett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We took our now 8 year old to Great Wolf for her birthday. I expected three things - for it to be safe, clean and comfortable. The park is safe - the lifeguards generally take it very seriously. It is not clean. The changing rooms have no receptacl for dirty towels so they pile up all over the floors and in the corners - for hours at a time. The handrails paint is peeling leaving rusty handrails for small hands to grab. It is also not comfortable. The pool is cold, the family "hot" tub is lukewarm and the pillows in the room are like sleeping on concrete. NOT worth the $300 per night we spent. We won't be back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mason hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites - Kings Island
4.6 mi away
Best Western Mason Inn
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati-Mason
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Cincinnati - Kings Island
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mason
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Mason
Super 8 Mason
#16 of 18 in Mason
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Address: 2501 Great Wolf Dr, Mason, OH 45040-8085
Location: United States > Ohio > Warren County > Mason
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Mason
Price Range: $228 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 401
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Mason
Great Wolf Resort
Great Wolf Lodge Mason, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing