We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fair experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites - Kings Island
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Mason
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
278 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 658 helpful votes
“Fair experience”
Reviewed March 24, 2007

We stayed one night here because of a function in neighboring Mason. This would be a good spot for King's Island visitors. However, if you had a group of kids, be aware that the indoor pool is very small.

Our room on the second floor had a very large crack in the glass- it spanned the entire length of the window. The staff were aware of it and said that it was slated for repair in the near future. Other than that, the room was okay and clean. It had a hair dryer, ironing board, safe, mini frig/microwave and a small coffee pot. A limited continental breakfast is available in the lobby. I though the bed and linens were not very comfortable. However, my sleep was interrupted often times by traffic noise and slamming of doors, people moving around. The insulation is pretty bad.

On a positive note, the staff was very polite and helpful. I had to kill a few hours and they pointed me toward a walking path to the movie theatre and checked my bag for free. There are several restaurants within walking distance, including Ruby Tuesday, Outback Steakhouse, Bob Evans and Taco Bell.

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — noisy room
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LLindaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    69
    30
    7
    17
See reviews for
109
25
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2006

We spent two nights in this hotel. The room was large and comfortable, and the staff was nice. Unfortunately, the staff was perhaps too nice. The noise level was intorable. The hotel was accomodating a bus full of young girls who were allowed to run wild and misbehave. When other hotel gues complained (we were not the only ones), the staff just asked that we wait a few minutes because they would settle down after awhile. We waited 45 minutes for them to settle down before complaining again. It sounded like the kids in the room above us were going to come through the ceiling. We witnessed the poor manners and lack of control by chaperones the next morning at breakfast. We felt sorry for the staff, but felt that they should have put their foot down regarding some of the behavior.

The only other complaint I have about the hotel was that the pool was very, very small. Pictures of the pool that we saw were very deceptive.

We spent $104 plus to not sleep for two nights. I don't know if I will return. If I do, I will ask the desk before I check in whether they are accomodating kids on a school/church function. Beware of noise levels if you need a good nights sleep.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank Reviewer-IN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2005

As with most hotels, this one was a mixed bag. This hotel is very convenient if you are going to King’s Island – as it is only just down the street. This is not a bad place for those with families who want to visit the theme park. We found the rooms comfortable and clean. Big bathrooms, decent sized beds, good access to the internet. There is a Ruby Tuesdays and Taco Bell within walking distance, and it is close enough to the freeway as to be very easy to find.

Some problems: in setting up to put our boys to bed we were unable to open the sleeper-couch, and one side appeared to be broken – creating a slanted surface that had to be compensated for. And both of them complained that the indoor pool was ‘too cold’, and quite small.

Also – most of the employees are very friendly, with the exception of one male desk-clerk; however you might have trouble communicating with some of the maids. While efficient and friendly, I believe English is a second language for most of them.

Business travelers note: you might find this a difficult place to sleep at night due to the noise level. The walls of this hotel make very poor sound barriers.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RavenHarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cazenovia, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2005

Nothing wrong with my stay. It is a good place for an overnight stay. Room was clean and quiet. A bit on the high side for cost of the room. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmistur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, AL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2005

We stayed here the night of July 15. It was the worst night we have ever had in a motel. The carpet in the room was wet from an air conditioning leak. This caused the room to have a very damp & sour smell. Plus, even though it was a non-smoking room it reeked of stale cigarette smoke (burn marks were on the night stand). When we complained to the front desk we were given a bottle of Febreeze to spray in the room. The smell was even in the linens, so it was next to impossible to sleep. We almost left at 1:00 a.m. but had an 8-hour drive ahead of us so we tossed and turned until 4:00 a.m.. We kept out suitcases closed the entire time to try and keep the smell out. When we left we complained once again about the smell and wet carpet plus told them that it was impossible to sleep in that room. Their reply was "Thanks for bringing it to our attention." When I contacted Choice Hotels International they basically said the same thing - thanks for bringing it to our attention. They also said somone from the hotel would contact me within 10 business days. That was 3 week ago and no one as contacted me. So much for their 100% satisfaction guarantee. Oh - and the price for that sleepless night: $138.75.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aRunningGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 15, 2005

Very convenient to the Kings Island amusement park (minutes away). Easy access to the highway, restaurants, local grocery, etc. The rooms were clean, free internet access, and continental breakfast was a nice variety of cold and hot items. The rates were a little on the high side, even with a senior discount. Would stay there again, especially if the visiting the amusement park.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2005

We stayed at this Comfort Suites on Thursday night, 6/30 while visiting Paramount's King's Island. While it is nothing fancy, it is quite conveniently located to the park (within minutes!), and it is sandwiched between a Ruby Tuesday's and Outback Steakhouse that are an easy walk for dinner. The suite is really just an oversized room, but it is quite large. The beds are comfortable, and the a/c works fantastic. The bathroom was also oversized, and the entire suite was quite clean. All of the employees we dealt with were friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast served in the morning was OK...not a huge selection, but enough to get you going in the morning. Discount tickets for King's Island are available at the front desk. There is a pool, but we didn't use it. We had a good rate for the one night (about $80), and I would definitely stay there again when visiting the amusement park.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pjmcjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mason hotels
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati-Mason
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Cincinnati - Kings Island
5.0 mi away
Best Western Mason Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mason
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Mason
5.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cincinnati Mason
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites - Kings Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites - Kings Island

Property: Comfort Suites - Kings Island
Address: 5457 Kings Center Way, Mason, OH 45040-2375
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Warren County > Mason
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Mason
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Suites - Kings Island 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently renovated Comfort Suites Kings Island features full suites complete with refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards, sofa sleepers, 32-inch high definition televisions, and working and living areas. It offers the perfect location and provides convenient access to area attractions and is surrounded by three major restaurants that make the Comfort Suites hotel a great place for business and leisure travelers in the Mason area. Make a reservation with us today and enjoy all we have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites - Kings Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites- Kings Island Hotel Mason
Comfort Suites Mason
Mason Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites - Kings Island Mason, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing