We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Roadside Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Marion
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Marion
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
146 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Typical Roadside Hotel”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed at this hotel while visiting family in the area. It was your typical roadside motel, not much of a view, standard accommodations.

Our room was nice, a "suite" which was a King bed and a small sitting area. There wasn't much of a view. We were given a choice of a second story room, which ended up being over the pool. A girls high school volleyball team was staying in the hotel, and had rooms booked on each side of ours & were in & out of the pool all night, which was very loud, and made the floors in the elevator & 1st floor walkways very slippery.

The biggest complaint I have about our room is that the toilet didn't drain properly so we would have to sit & watch it for a minute or two to make it flush. Also, the free breakfast was standard, but unremarkable no scrambled eggs or breakfast meat like some hotels in the same price range stock.

The most positive things were the television set that had a number of channels to choose from, and a couch that was actually more comfortable than the bed. The staff all seemed pleasant too.

I would consider staying in this hotel while visiting again, but not without going to the Comfort Inn across the street first.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms face storage sheds behind building. Hotel only has parking front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noxiousburrito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    34
    14
    6
    5
See reviews for
43
15
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leetonia, Ohio
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

I have stayed here many times in the past few years for business. It is usually very quiet, breakfast is good, and the rooms are clean.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

I spent only one night but the place was very clean, comfortable and in a good location. You can walk to many restaurants and stores. There is a large pool. The breakfast are is somewhat small but not crowded when I was there.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeliacTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new london ohio
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

We stayed three days, Everything was clean, the room, the pool, the breakfast area. Probably the most friendly staff I have encountered in a very long time. If I had a hotel this is exactly the staff I would want. They made everything easy. Marriott can be proud of this location.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor, with the air conditioning running we did not hear any outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrskathyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenexa, Kansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2010

I stayed at the Marriott property December 11, 2010. I am an elite member......no mention for the second time (others received recognition). The front desk was basically empty, every once in a while someone would appear from the back room. I was awakened at 3:20 am by a car alarm from the room above me, two hours later and for the rest of the morning there was a LOT of movement from the room above. As for complaining...........what and where would I be going at that time of the morning. When I went to the continental breakfast.....no one was to be seen........and a minimal breakfast.
The room was clean but very disappointed in this visit, I have been there several times, but THIS IS THE LAST TIME FOR ME!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cancan46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Frankly this is the worst expereince I have had at a Fairfield Inn---it was not terrible, but the room we were in (2nd floor) experienced a lot of noice from the hallway, other rooms (side to side, and above us), and from the outside (traffic/construction). I expect that sound proofing in a hotel will not be 100%, but this place was ridiculous---people making excesive noise in hallway late at night, the room above us had guestswho stomped more than walked, and we could haer the tv and convesations going on in the room next to us--all of this from 10PM till 2AM. Once that noise stoppe, I was awakened by some kind of truck traffic from the hotel parking lot at 5:30AM. Room itself was adequate, standard Fairfield Inn breakfast the next day---but too noisy to recommend to others as a place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveler43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2010

The positives: 1) It's very conveniently located on a main drag in Marion. Easy walk to many restaurants. 2) It's clean.

The negatives: 1) The staff is not particularly helpful (at best), and in some cases outright rude. One desk clerk make an unfriendly comment to a member of my traveling party when she asked for an extra room key. They're rarely at the front desk at all, and they didn't answer the telephone more often than not.
2) The morning breakfast is pretty bad. You're much better off walking to one of the nearby restaurants.
3) The biggie for me: the bed was HORRIBLE. I woke up with neck and back trouble each day, and this is unusual for me. I see now that others have had this same experience.
4) The walls are paper thin. You'll hear loud stomps from above you, and any conversation in the halls or outside the building.
I didn't expect much for the price. It's an average hotel, but I think you can do better. This place would improve considerably with additional effort in the customer service department.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuitarKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marion
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marion
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion
0.1 mi away
Marion Comfort Inn
Marion Comfort Inn
#2 of 7 in Marion
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Royalton Inn & Suites
Royalton Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Upper Sandusky
93 reviews
19.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Galion, OH
21.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Delaware
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn Marion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Marion

Property: Fairfield Inn Marion
Address: 227 Jamesway, Marion, OH 43302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Marion
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Marion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Marion 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Fairfield Inn Marion, a prime choice for hotels in Marion, OH. Fairfield Inn Marion features 56 non-smoking guest rooms conveniently located off US Hwy 23 and Route 95. Business guests enjoy a convenient location near Ohio State University Marion, Marion Technical College, Whirlpool Corporation, Wyandot Inc., Frontier, Sika Corporation, Marion General Hospital and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Fairfield Inn Marion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Marion
Marion Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn Marion Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing