We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding stay in historic property”
Review of The Lafayette

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lafayette
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Marietta
Certificate of Excellence
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding stay in historic property”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We recently had the pleasure of staying 3 nights in this lovely historic riverfront property. From the time we checked into the hotel to our departure, we were very impressed both with the property and the professional and competent staff. The hotel has been well maintained without sacrificing the character expected of historic properties. Our room was very comfortable and we were graciously given an upgrade which included a balcony overlooking the Ohio river. The location was ideal with many shops, restaurants and antique stores within easy walking distance as well as a walking path along the river. Breakfast each morning was outstanding as were the dinners we enjoyed in the bar area. We highly recommend this hotel and hope to return when again in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dandrde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    113
    15
    15
    28
See reviews for
36
108
15
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Piracicaba, SP
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

The Lafayette could be a quaint hotel with great location and fun ghost stories. However, the horror stories with invisible beings I have to tell about this hotel have nothing to do with ghosts, but with bedbugs. I stayed there with a group of students in 2010 and one of the rooms where two of girls in the group were staying was full of bedbugs. One of them was extremely allergic and the site of her body was terrible. The other one was also bitten, but was lucky not to have such reaction, which makes no excuse, of course. This July, 2012, I was there again with another group, trusting they took care of the problem. No such luck. This time they were in my bedroom. I woke up one morning and found one in my arm. When I got out of bed and pulled the sheets, found two others, I killed them and took them down to the reception desk. I was badly bitten, asked them to move me to another room, which they did. I was only surprised to see that they immediately had another guest stay in that room. Certainly, that was my last time at the Laffayette. They have no respect for guests or their health.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Renata C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Lovely older hotel filled with antiques and history. Clean room at a good price. Our corner room with river view was not cramped in the least. Excellent breakfast included. Walking distance to many points of interest in Marietta.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruin, PA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

If you like to visit historical places, this stop should suit you. The place is keeping with the history and nostalgic look. We stayed here while restoring power in the area, parking is not suited for bigger vehicles. The room was clean, and the AC worked well. Again, if you value history, you might like this place. If historical value is not high on your list, somewhere else might be better for you.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank japrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claymont, delaware
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Lafayette on June 18. She is originally from Marietta and we stayed in a room with a queen bed. The headboard, desk, mirror and nightstand all appeared to be antiques, or at least made to look like them. The room was confortable enough, although small by most hotel standards. The bathroom was OK, but nothing special.
The main problem was it was on the street side of the hotel and 90 per cent of the people in Marietta must have bad mufflers! Loud.
The lobby of the hotel is beautiful and the restaurant, the Gun Room, where we had breakfast, was interesting. Breakfast was good.
We had a chance to look at the Muskingum River Suite, which was unoccupied. Beautiful suite overlooking the two rivers. If I had $190 for the night I would have stayed there! Overall, just the ambience of the place makes it worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biggity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Yes, it's an old building and the bathrooms are tight, but they keep the place in great shape and it is so convenient for downtown. The lounge area is a nice throwback with a really cool looking old wooden bar and it seems that lots of "locals" enjoy it for happy hour. The staff is friendly and prompt. My wife and I stumbled upon this place a bunch of years ago and have been coming back once a summer for the downtown Merchants and Artists walk which is the second Friday of the month in the summer. It seems that every room is different so you never know what little gem you'll end up with. They had a "Rooftop" bar last summer which sounded interesting but was was literally on the rooftop with a few tables spread around and no food service.

Room Tip: Opt for a "parlor" room if you need some space. Some of the rooms really are pretty tiny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drodawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
139 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We did not stay at the hotel, since we did not know about it, but plan on doing so next visit. We did walk through the lobby and learn the history of the hotel from very friendy, informed staff. We also had dinner in the bar. Since we are vegan, the kitchen made adjustment to accomodate our needs. The bar person is very friendly and helpful. Will definelty plan to return to this beautiful, friendly area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asti439797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marietta
2.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Marietta
Comfort Suites Marietta
#3 of 11 in Marietta
179 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Blennerhassett Hotel
The Blennerhassett Hotel
#2 of 11 in Parkersburg
575 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Marietta
Hampton Inn Marietta
#1 of 11 in Marietta
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Marietta Hotel
2.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Marietta
1.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Marietta
Red Roof Inn Marietta
#8 of 11 in Marietta
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lafayette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lafayette

Property: The Lafayette
Address: 101 Front St, Marietta, OH 45750-3124
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Marietta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Marietta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lafayette 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lafayette Hotel offers a delicate blend of the past and present. Decorated in exquisite Victorian riverboat era furnishing. Enjoy a great meal in the legendary Gunroom Restaurant or in the Riverview Lounge. Just outside awaits beautiful Marietta and all it's Museums & Downtown shops. A stay at the Lafayette is one of the surest ways to travel back in time, to an era when riverboats ruled the waterways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your The Lafayette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lafayette Hotel Marietta
Lafayette Hotel Marietta
The Lafayette Marietta, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing